We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Scent of Average... wait that's mold!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Free WiFi
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Scent of Average... wait that's mold!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We use Marriott all the time and are staying at this location just the one night before my fiance's surgery. The hotel does not look busy at all, as a result we were checked in right away and the man was very nice.
Our room is on the 15th floor.. it is supposed to be a concierge level (we'll see right?),

The rooms are small and bathrooms teeny tiny. The beds are really comfortable, so if you are looking for a good nights sleep this is the bed for sure. Our room has a moldy smell to it. So I don't know if a tub overflowed or a window leaked or?? but it just had this low level mold stank that was pretty gross.

There is a little nickle and dime atmosphere here. Extra charges for parking and internet (unless you are Gold or above member) If you are a Gold or above member you get the "Standard package" for internet. Probably much less bandwidth than the business package.
I would however expect extra charges for parking if we were in the middle of DC or downtown or?? This is more of a residential area and I don't see the need for the extra charge.

There is room service available, but the prices seem a little high to me. If we were going to be here after 6am I'd give it a bash and order but alas we have to be at the hospital at 5am! ugh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    91
    71
    25
    13
See reviews for
55
31
30
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this property because we were attending a wedding that had the reception on the property. We encountered several problems. First, when we were checking in, the front desk personnel said that they couldn't find our reservation. I had to unpack some of our luggage to find the print-out that I had made (thank goodness!). Even after I produced the print-out the front desk personnel said that they could not honor the price, even though the print out clearly stated the price was confirmed. After a bit of haggling with the front desk personnel, we finally got checked in.

Our other complaint was the hours the indoor/pool were open. There is a law in Maryland that requires properties to have a life guard on duty whenever the pool is open. We looked at the hotel guide from our room and it said that the pool hours were 6 am. - 10 pm. When we got down to the pool area in the early afternoon, it was locked. We asked about the pool hours and were told about the lifeguard law. We were all ready for a relaxing afternoon in the pool/whirlpool and ended up back in our room.

The room was clean and housekeeping was very flexible to get the room serviced because of our wedding activity schedule.

Room Tip: Be sure to check with the hotel for the hours the pool is open so you can actually use it during you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip and therefore spent little time in the hotel room itself. On that matter, it's standard fare and I will more than likely stay here again if I end up coming back to pay a visit at the Walter Reed Hospital. From that standpoint, the location was perfect and made it easy to get over to the hospital.

I ate dinner in the restaurant that night with other members of my party, and it was a delightful surprise. The food for a "chain" was very good although as hotels usually go, a little pricey. Still I would have been hard-pressed to get that good a steak steak outside the hotel for any less and in bad weather.

The room was decent. If I were staying in the area for pleasure I probably would have selected something more upscale however, for what I needed it was a great night sleep, in the ideal location for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Neck, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Good location, clean hotel, friendly staff...typical Marriot experience...a couple of gripes, however. First of all, rooms and especially bathrooms are very small....bathroom ceiling is very low, almost claustrophobic....I am 6'4 and I barely fit in the shower...secondly, they charge you $14 per night to park your car...thirdly, they charge you $13 per day for internet/wi-fi if you aren't a marriot rewards elite or gold member...not cool, man.....restaurant in the lobby looks nice...didn't check it out though...the area around the hotel is residential, so there aren't any shops or places to grab a bite...hotel has room service, but is overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luvtravels33
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel gets three stars because I do not have much to say about it - either good or bad. It was clean, the room was comfortable enough, and I had everything I needed for a one-night stay. The one noteworthy problem I had was the small bathroom - too small for two people, in my opinion. It was difficult for two people to get ready at the same time. The highlight of the night was supper in the ballroom - we had an excellent vegetarian tart that was to be commended. In sum, if I was at this hotel for business travel, I would probably be okay with it. If I were on vacation, however, I would be looking for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've stayed at this property for some time, for an annual meeting held nearby. This year was problematic - I arrived just as 4 giant motorcoaches full of high school students from NY were pulling up. The desk staff was clearly overwhelmed, and the person who checked me in was rude and short-tempered. It was impossible to get an elevator (or even move much), so I lugged my bag up the staircase. Plenty of hall and ceiling noise throughout my stay. The rooms are also getting tired, with chipped paint and kind of worn furnishings. No perks for Marriott Rewards members; at check-in, the staff member acted annoyed that he had to enter my number. Breakfast in the restaurant was tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel itself is fine - old and not really updated; some of the rooms are pretty far from the conference center. There was no WiFi in the conference center (we were told there would be - but later told not). The food was average at the conference. There is nothing within walking distance outside the hotel but it is close to the highway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where spacious guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., The list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, White Flint Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.