We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but a long way from attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great place but a long way from attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is a very good Marriott with great staff, but it is a bit isolated if you like to walk or take the Metro.

Room Tip: Take a room on the west side (back side). The front faces the Metro where it goes above ground and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    99
    75
    30
    15
See reviews for
59
33
32
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The beds are soo comfy...lots of pillows and soft sheets. I always get a good night sleep at a Marriot.

Room Tip: If you have a room next to the elevators...you will hear the people talking outside your room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

On our first night we tried to rent a movie but it kept telling us it was "restricted" Call front desk and they said they would fix it and call us back. Called back and said they could not fix it. Oh well no big deal. On our second night we returned to our room at 10:30pm after a full day in DC. The room had been made up but there was no toilet paper. Stuff happens...called the desk and said they would send some right up. 45 minutes later called the desk again, Finally got some 15 minutes later. On our third night we returned to the hotel around 7:30pm. We were shocked to find the room had not been made up. Went to to the front desk to talk to the manager. Explained to her all the things gone wrong so far. She was very nice and comped us for the breakfast we had on our first morning and sent housekeeping up to clean room. when we got back in the room it was cold so we turned on the heater. 15 minutes later it was still blowing cold air. Had to get engineering to fix that, He also tried to fix the movie rental problem...finally got it fixed after about 5 tries. Marriott is normally a hotel that can be counted on to NOT have these sort of compounded problems. One more night to go...I wonder what that will hold.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for meeting in Bethesda. It's really inconveniently located for access to anything in downtown Bethesda. You have to use their shuttle to go anywhere, nothing is around walking distance.

Check in was uneventful. Room was on the small side. Bed was ok. TV was great. Bathroom was exceptionally skimpy and small in size. Check out was also smooth and uneventful.

They have a small shop that does coffee and small items-prices par with hotel shops. Did not use restaurant.

The shuttle service could run more often but I will commend the driver as he did go out of his way for pickup.

All in all, not bad but nothing spectacular either.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I live in Delaware and travel to Maryland on business regularlly and I have found the perfect hotel for my visits. Situated right off the Washington Beltway and Rockville Pike, it allows for easy travel and access to a multitude of dinning and shopping choices. The rooms, bed, linens are all clean and comfortable. Staff very responsive and pleasant. They have a great snack shop serving Starbucks.
My recent trip happened to fall on my birthday which was noted on checking in. I was unpacking and settling in when room service arrived with a complmentary tray of goodies.....fruit platter and chocolate tort! A very pleasant surprise for a weary traveler.
You do have to pay to park, but parking is very convenient. They also have a free shuttle to the Subway and NIH which has proved very helpful. I will continue to book this hotel for my future visits.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I only stayed one night and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The property is super clean and the staff are very courteous and professional. Well maintained property, great service, and convenient location. I'll be booking there again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here on the 19th and 20th of October. We arrived exhausted at 2:00am in the morning after a delayed flight and were grateful to be upgraded to a very comfortable and spacious suite on the 3rd floor. The room was very quiet although there was a bit of noise through the wall that divided our suite with a connecting room when we had a group of lively school kids in the room next door! The guy on the concierge desk at the front of the hotel went out of his way to be helpful and friendly. Things like this leave you with a very good impression of a place. The free shuttle to the Medical Center Metro is useful. Buses go from there to Montgomery Mall which is good for shopping. Starbucks in the hotel foyer was also useful. New laundry facilities have just been installed which are free to use, at least for now.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the comforts of the distinctive Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where spacious guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., The list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, White Flint Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.