We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed for only 1 night, it was a nice place though. Good location, got a GREAT price on Priceline, the beds were probably the most comfortable i've ever had in a hotel.

The wifi isn't free and the parking was expensive.., but those are my only complaints. 24 hour gym, nice pool, helpful concierge..... i would stay again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    239
    201
    93
    32
See reviews for
167
88
50
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed 3 nights for a conference. Room was a little dated but room was clean and beds were great. Hotel is right on top of a Metro stop. Most of our meals were included with the conference. So, I can't comment on the value or the quality. I would say standard hotel fare. If you are not in this situation, better to go out the front door, turn right and walk 2 blocks to Elm St. Turn right and go 2 more blocks to "downtown" Bethesda which is full of nice restaurants of every price range. Bring your own computer to this hotel. While WiFi is free, the use of the hotel internet in the Business Center (with the exception of printing a boarding pass) is $5 for 10 minutes!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

I attended a conference here In early July. This hotel has many things going for it: (a) everything is in one location, just on different levels; (b) staff [from bell to housekeeping to concierge to front desk] courteous and helpful to a fault; (c) in a neighborhood dense with excellent restaurants and ships, including a huge Barnes & Noble with a rest room on the ground floor; (d) an onsite restaurant that’s part of a chain called Daily Grill--fabulous food and can be reserved online at OpenTable.com; (e) Metro Stop right at hotel, which makes anything in greater DC area accessible within minutes; (f) excellent bedding and quiet, firm pillows; (g) a lovely indoor swimming pool; (h) excellent wifi in rooms, though it’s always an irritation to pay $10 for this and a bigger irritation when it does not work or is a struggle. If you are a Hyatt Gold Member, you can check in and out online. The hotel has no coin laundry, but does have a cooperative relationship with Marriott Residence Inn, across the street, that allows Hyatt guests to use the Marriott laundry. Very easy to get cabs. Safe, walkable neighborhood. PROBLEMS, mostly minor: (a) an internet charge, promised to be reversed because of a service failure, was not reversed; (b) staff unaware of telephone charges, which are not posted anywhere in room or guest services directory; (c) the three room elevators are slow, which can be a problem if you are in a hurry.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

The location is perfect. Bethesda metro station is in lower level of the hotel and it takes around 20 minutes to get to the main attractions.
The check-in was fast and the front desk was very helpful and polite. We had a king bedroom and I liked everything. Although the furniture were dated, but they were clean. The bed was comfortable and smelled clean.
We had a continental breakfast in the lobby one day which was good and worth $10.
I will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Staff experience was outstanding - front desk, concierge, bellman. Management: please do us all a favor and invest in some updates. No flat screens? Rooms are dated, but beds were very comfortable. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Downtown Washington DC was jammed so I decided to stay at the Bethesda Hyatt because it was at a Metro stop and near a friend. I was surprised to find this small, tired, hotel with a Hyatt flag on it. As others have mentioned the rooms are small. But I found the size adequate. It had a slightly dank smell. There were effectively no accessible electrical plugs in the room except in the bathroom. It made plugging in a computer and recharging a cell phone unnecessarily hard. The amenities are pretty basic. The $5.00 no name bottle of water was outrageously priced and there is no frig or minibar. The restaurant had decent food and the staff were friendly. I suppose for $200 I would have been happy. But $400 I definitely was not. Stay here as a last resort or if the prices are very low.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Hyatt used to be a top notch hotel. This hotel is not. Rooms are small. No sitting areas. No amenities in room. Beds are double and not queen. Nice bedding. Swimming pool indoor and tiny. We were told we would have a sitting area in room, free internet access and refrigerator. We do not. We arrived early and yet, when we tried to upgrade to a room with the amenities we expected, we were not accommodated. Free internet only in lobby. Big rooms only for larger parties they said (we have 3 people in our room as do our friends who got the bigger room). We have a Hyatt Gold Card which meant nothing. Find another hotel. Not worth the aggravation.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.