We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay, no free internet or parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay, no free internet or parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

The best thing about the Hyatt was its location, right in the middle of Bethesda. Anything you want from food to shopping are within walking distance. Excellent fitness center on the top floor. Starbucks 2 blocks away. What else do you need?

Have to pay for internet, ugh! Do these places not charge enough already? Also, have to pay for parking, $10/day

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cthoemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Clearly a hotel mostly for travelers to government and government affiliated conferences (at least during the week). Very courteous staff, but the physical plant is way run down. One of my colleagues from the meeting I attended had no heat (and a missing closet door). When she reported the lack of heat, they didn't seem that surprised and offered to move her. The meeting rooms were comfortable. It's convenient to the metro with the Bethesda stop right outside the front door. There are plenty of restaurants within an easy walking distance. The pool was very nice, but I got a rash from the hot tub and there was no locker room to change in.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This hotel shows its age and lack of maintenance through the years. Wallpaper is peeling off the walls, the bathroom fixtures are old and haven't been updated. Housekeeping (for my room, at least) sucked. The hot water seemed as if it was heated down in the subway station below (it took forever to get hot water to the 9th floor). Internet is $10/day. I had a package deal that gave me free breakfast - the same breakfast that many hotels would give for free. The only good things about the hotel were the front desk staff was nice and it was extremely convenient to the subway.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rohneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

nice hotel overall, sure. but no free wifi, no complimentary breakfast? given what you're paying for the room, i expect those basics to be included. here, they're not.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turningviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at this Hyatt for three nights December 27- 30th. We booked a special AAA rate that included a full breakfast at the Daily Grill.

The service at this hotel was TOP NOTCH. Although there were some snafus on check-in, the day manager, Malia, was quick to remedy them-- even with upgrades. She was a class act. She knew my name within an hour of our being there. The soda machine gave us a regular instead of diet Pepsi-- the Night manager, Amy, had replacement drinks to our room within 10 minutes.

The hotel itself resembles the classic Embassy Suites open design. The pool and fitness room are on the top floor and looked very nice. We did not use them. The room was a bit dated, but FINE. Everything worked and there were no omissions. We overlooked the Metro Plaza. Request the view -- we were on the 10th floor and it was very nice. Amenities included two types of soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion and toothpaste. (nice touch.)

The reason I took a point off from cleanliness? The same wine glass that was on a table when we left for a day of sightseeing was still there when we returned that night. The room, however, was as clean as one would expect from any nice hotel.

The location is STUPENDOUS. At the end of a day of sightseeing it is nice knowing that you do not have to walk from the Metro blocks to a hotel. (I also have stayed at the Club Quarters at Farragut Sq and LOVE that convenience.) Parking (without in and out privileges) is only $10/ day-- a bargain even if you choose to stay somewhere else. ($15 with in and out) Since the parking lot is on the metro, you could use it if you are staying at any of the downtown hotels which charge $30+ for parking.

The hotel is within walking distance of 180 restaurants. AMAZING. We will definitely checks rates to stay here again on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloesMomBetsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

While the room we had was somewhat small, it was clean and very nice. Maid service was good . We had a special pay in advance rate which made the hotel one of the best values we have ever had in this area. Location is very good, as well and even convenient to go to downtown D.C. Hotel even gave us complimentary continental breakfasts, although that was nothing to write home about. Also space for that was somewhat limited. Maybe rate was lower because of Thanksgiving holidays, but it was less than other similar hotels in area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

The location is great. It is sitting above the subway red line, which bring you to downtown within 30 minutes. Everything in the room is ok, not new or old. No mini fridge. The bed is good to me but a little bit soft for my parents. We lived in the 2nd floor and far from the elevators. So it is still quiet and no view at all. The staff is professional and polite, although she didn't find a room in high level as I requested. Maybe it is because this is a priceline room. Anyway, it is ok overall since the priceline price is 60 including tax. Will consider future stay. ps. There is Nation Health Institute and many other research centers here. Therefore, a lot of conferences are held in this hotel and nearby. Sometimes the hotel will be very busy even not in the tourism season. No free internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macrocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Low Cost Holidays and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing