We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bethesda Hyatt is a PERFECT choice for DC Sightseers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Westerville, OH
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Bethesda Hyatt is a PERFECT choice for DC Sightseers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at this Hyatt for three nights December 27- 30th. We booked a special AAA rate that included a full breakfast at the Daily Grill.

The service at this hotel was TOP NOTCH. Although there were some snafus on check-in, the day manager, Malia, was quick to remedy them-- even with upgrades. She was a class act. She knew my name within an hour of our being there. The soda machine gave us a regular instead of diet Pepsi-- the Night manager, Amy, had replacement drinks to our room within 10 minutes.

The hotel itself resembles the classic Embassy Suites open design. The pool and fitness room are on the top floor and looked very nice. We did not use them. The room was a bit dated, but FINE. Everything worked and there were no omissions. We overlooked the Metro Plaza. Request the view -- we were on the 10th floor and it was very nice. Amenities included two types of soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion and toothpaste. (nice touch.)

The reason I took a point off from cleanliness? The same wine glass that was on a table when we left for a day of sightseeing was still there when we returned that night. The room, however, was as clean as one would expect from any nice hotel.

The location is STUPENDOUS. At the end of a day of sightseeing it is nice knowing that you do not have to walk from the Metro blocks to a hotel. (I also have stayed at the Club Quarters at Farragut Sq and LOVE that convenience.) Parking (without in and out privileges) is only $10/ day-- a bargain even if you choose to stay somewhere else. ($15 with in and out) Since the parking lot is on the metro, you could use it if you are staying at any of the downtown hotels which charge $30+ for parking.

The hotel is within walking distance of 180 restaurants. AMAZING. We will definitely checks rates to stay here again on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    169
    159
    75
    22
See reviews for
114
69
43
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grand rapids
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

While the room we had was somewhat small, it was clean and very nice. Maid service was good . We had a special pay in advance rate which made the hotel one of the best values we have ever had in this area. Location is very good, as well and even convenient to go to downtown D.C. Hotel even gave us complimentary continental breakfasts, although that was nothing to write home about. Also space for that was somewhat limited. Maybe rate was lower because of Thanksgiving holidays, but it was less than other similar hotels in area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

The location is great. It is sitting above the subway red line, which bring you to downtown within 30 minutes. Everything in the room is ok, not new or old. No mini fridge. The bed is good to me but a little bit soft for my parents. We lived in the 2nd floor and far from the elevators. So it is still quiet and no view at all. The staff is professional and polite, although she didn't find a room in high level as I requested. Maybe it is because this is a priceline room. Anyway, it is ok overall since the priceline price is 60 including tax. Will consider future stay. ps. There is Nation Health Institute and many other research centers here. Therefore, a lot of conferences are held in this hotel and nearby. Sometimes the hotel will be very busy even not in the tourism season. No free internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I am student who stayed at this hotel for a conference. The front desk was always busy which did not allow the staff to give the costumers any additional attention. Due to the fact that it is an older hotel there are only three elevators for the all the floors and rooms in the hotel which was also frustrating at times. The architecture of the building causes the building to echo which is also very annoying late at night; the building doesn't seem to get truly quite until around 10:30pm. The rooms were average. Hair dyer was provides. The rooms were cleaned during the day. I think the biggest downfall for me was that it lacked free internet connection which was frustrating. It costs something like 10 dollars (maybe even more) a day for internet... not acceptable. At one point my group asked the help desk where a good restaurant would be to eat at, he told us, but when we got there it was closed, basically no help.
One up side to this hotel is the location because it is right next to the subway, although it takes about 30 minutes to get to DC from this location. However, there are several hotels close to this station, I would stay at one of those.
All in all... you should prob. stay somewhere different.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed here in October of 2009 for two nights and were really happy with our stay. The hotel is a modern bulding with nice elevators and clean rooms. The location is also very convenient - only 15-20 minutes from downtown Washington (Georgetown is even closer - straight on Wisconsin Ave). The parking in the garage was $10 for overnight parking which was quite reasonable.
Overall, I would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We pricelined this hotel and had a nice October weekend at this Hyatt in Bethesda. It’s a business persons hotel with all the good and bad that goes with that. The room was clean and spacious. TV had HBO. The lobby was huge. A concierge was on duty at all times. But internet was extra ($11/day), no coffee in the room, and no free breakfast like at a Fairfield Inn for example.
The Metro stop that we used to get into DC is in the basement of the hotel. How convenient is that! We also enjoyed the Capital Crescent rail trail nearby and the vibrant Bethesda restaurant & shopping scene. I refused to pay Hyatt for internet and instead dragged my laptop over to Barnes and Noble for their free wi-fi. A Starbucks is nearby too.
The bottomline is that you get a lot of value by staying in Bethesda. The Hyatt was fine for us, though why they don’t include internet in the price is beyond me.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Sad but the hotel is in need of upgrading and the chain seems ot be ignoring it. The staff are wonderful but with little to work with. For the high prices I would expect more. Yet it is always busy with business travelers. The weekend rates are justified but week day rates are outrageous for the quality of the room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.