We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

GREAT location! Stayed here for a family event. The metro red line is right under the hotel, so getting into the city is so easy. The walk to really good restaurants, shopping and downtown Bethesda is minutes.
the hotel is 80's style, but all the rooms have been redone with lots of creature comforts. We had a really good group rate.
The staff is good- not great. They were managing multiple events in the hotel this Labor Day weekend, so they were running.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing Wisconsin Avenue.
See more room tips
Green Features: I saw no indication of environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    190
    176
    84
    24
See reviews for
127
74
44
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Get the idea?

It is the heart of both old and new Bethesda. All within two-blocks are, AVEDA Salon, 30-film screens including an art-house, breakfast-dinner a-z, great bookstore(s) and did I mentioned the world famous METRO station just feet away?! 40 minutes to Capitol Hill, 30 to that big White House on PA Ave and 35 to some of the world's best museums.

The property has on-site parking (a must). Good access for those of us that are disabled and very good disability ADA rooms.

Dine elsewhere it is better and cheaper but breakfast was great.

SPECIAL TIP: My Sis checked with the concierge and got a bike rental and trail within a block of hotel and she peddled all the way to Georgetown and the C&O Canal (all on the same path)--she ads that is very safe an loads of fun!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room high-floor and OFF of Wisconsin Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We attended a wedding party nearby and stayed at this hotel over three nights.
The front desk and concierge people are very helpful to provide essential information's. Rooms are clean and decorated in an five start manner. In our case, the breakfast were included and its
consisted of yogurt, bagel, fruit plate, donuts, all kind of bread and with breakfast sandwiches
( Ham and Egg, Sausage and Eggs etc) At least three different kind of coffees. We love it.
There are many restaurants, bistros and Beer joints in five minutes walking distance.
We had a blast in this great hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms are well insulated against street noices. Room face Wisconsin will have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Greetings JohnT641,

I am so happy to hear you had an amazing stay with us at Hyatt Regency Bethesda. We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write a review about this great experience and thrilled you enjoyed our location, guestrooms, and delicious breakfast option. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel is really old and the rooms in need of a total makeover. The tacky plush tufted armchair was ugly. There were not enough accessible plug outlets near the desk and the carpet was thread bare and worn along with stains. We had lumps and bumps under the carpet. Wonder what they were? The bathroom grout was stained as was the tub and it just felt like we were in a second rate hotel and not a Hyatt. The concierge seemed bored and certainly not interested in being helpful. He reluctantly gave us directions. We had to ask for a city map because he never offered us one. The lobby decor was tacky and red glitter and marbles in what appeared to be some kind of center pieces were dreadful. The room coffee maker was grim and when I went to make coffee the paper cup had remnants of the previous guest's beverage. Don't head to the lobby for coffee as it will cost you $2 per cup! You will do better leaving the hotel and going to Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks or Panera.
We were disappointed with the old rooftop pool which looked outdated and well worn surrounded with dirty windows and skylights. The whirlpool was not hot and the tiles were cracked and not at all attractive. Don't be fooled by the photos. The service in the lobby bar was slow and we waited and waited for our appetizer to arrive --finally it came after our second cocktail. The Daily Grill which runs the bar and restaurant has average food for the most part and don't go there unless you are prepared to spend at least 2 hours waiting for dinner. Once you place your order for food you may not see your server again...
The best part of the Hyatt is it's location! The proximity to the Bethesda Metro is terrific but still you can do better at another nearby hotel. This an overpriced, old, outdated hotel and we will not be staying there again. Stay somewhere else.

Green Features: There is little evidence of environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good Evening CarnivalGatti,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I am so sorry to hear about the many inconveniences that you faced during this stay. We really would like to speak with you regarding these incidents, so please feel free to contact our Guest Relations department. We look forward to hearing from you and making your next stay a better visit. Thanks again for your concerns and suggestions, I have also forwarded them to our executive management team to get resolved as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I had stayed previously for work and returned two years later for a vacation. Reading some of the comments I thought had I made a mistake coming back! Well the answer is no....... Quick check in and very polite, room on the 5th floor had everything we needed, clean and tidy. Maybe you are just lucky with the room you are given! Service at the bar in the lobby was great. The day of checking out we were able to extend our stay by a few hours due to evening flight, concierge very helpful,assisted with printing boarding passes and arranged for taxi back to the airport. Overall experience very good. Would I come back again? Yes!

Green Features: Very aware of the hotel environment friendly practices. Hotel trying hard
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My clients loved everything about this hotel. 125+ Doctors. The ballroom in the lower level was quiet, when they need it and large enough for the group, and had a great registration area.
AV staff was very attentive and responded immediately. AV equipment was very good. Acoustics in the room were very good.
Pre-meeting communication was excellent from the sales staff and the event coordinator.
The location was perfect; right on top of the Metro station and convenient to many restaurants in the area.
Gift shop was well stocked.
Front desk was very nice.
Common areas were well placed and comfortable.
I would book this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good Evening StacyEdwards,

We appreciate you giving our guest's an idea of what to expect when visiting Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I am so thrilled you and 125+ doctors had an amazing visit and we hope to welcome you back soon. I really do appreciate all your kind words and have forwarded them to management so we can recognize our amazing team. Hope to see you soon back in Bethesda.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Not worth the money, very old and out dated (however clean). Hotel pool is very dirty and needs a vacuum. Hotel entrance has a foul smell inside. Front desk seems very unorganized. Statues here 5 nights and paid for a balcony room with a king bed, checked in and received a room on the 2nd floor with no balcony. Metro location is key, however I recommend staying elsewhere for your money.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello there Jardhead1988,

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback on your most recent visit to Hyatt Regency Bethesda. Very disheartening to hear about the condition of the hotel and the lack of service you received during this stay. I understand your frustration and your unwillingness to return. We really hope this is not the case and we would like to speak with your further on this matter. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations department for any additional assistance. Look forward to speaking with you.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.