We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Hard review to write.

The facility is great. Very inviting. Rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. Rooms service was dependable and the breakfast was delicious.

The hard part of the review and an inner debate on how to rate is over their wi-fi and business center policies. Their rooms are expensive but not out of line. Why do they feel the need to charge $11.00 per 24 hours for internet access. Is that for device or for room? Most hotels including much less expensive properties include wi-fi in their base rates. In addition a need to print conference schedule so went to business center. Was shocked to discover could not access until I entered a payment method.

Would have liked to give a higher rating but do not appreciate the price gouging on internet access. Access which is so cheap to provide.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    282
    217
    100
    35
See reviews for
201
94
53
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The facilities are a little old but the house keeping does an excellent job in keeping up the rooms. The location is not far from DC attractions . Overall a nice pleasant stay for 3 nights. We had to book 2 rooms and so we were looking for an economy hotel. This is perfect for the price and the stay . Rooms were a little big too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel has one thing going for it - One Bethesda Metro Station. It is also a very short walk from the center of town, which is full of restaurants and shops, and is also an easy bike ride from the hiking/biking path that leads into D.C. and down to the Mall. Rooms are run down, with peeling wallpaper, chipped paint, etc. Pretty shabby. It has an 80's-90's feel overall. Staff were nice, and tried to be helpful. There's a bike stand just outside the entry, so it's easy to get a bike and take off, paying by the hour, half-day or day. We had a weekend family event and this was the selected hotel because of its location. Having stayed here four or so times over the past decade and a half, it has seen better days.

Green Features: Unimpressed. This is not a substitute for refreshing a hotel.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Greetings Lisa B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your most recent experience at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda! We really appreciate you pointing our great location and exceptional service you received during this trip. I am very sorry to hear about the challenges that you had with your guest room and the hotel's amenities. We will be forwarding these concerns to our executive management team to ensure these issues get resolved quickly. If you would like to talk about this situation further, please feel free to reach out to our Guest Relations department. We look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

As a Hyatt Gold Passport Diamond member, I stay at Hyatt’s regularly all over the world and most maintain the same Hyatt “high standard” in terms of style, service and comfort. The Bethesda Hyatt Regency misses the mark in every category.

The hotel itself looks like a throwback to the late 1970’s. Atrium lobby complete with glass elevators and plastic plants, brass and wood accents and skylights that are so stained and brown that the light can hardly get through.

Other than a flat screen TV, guest rooms are lacking in technological conveniences (like AV connectors or at the very least, outlets), and are shabbily decorated with furniture found in rooms from 20 years ago. The room had I, 904, had a power strip sticking out from behind the TV (only place to plug in my phone except for the bathroom) and wallpapering peeling off the wall (and this is a Hyatt Regency?)

Normally a benefit of being a Diamond member is access to the hotels Regency Club. While not all Hyatt’s have clubs (like the Bethesda Hyatt Regency), when they don’t, you’re offered a full breakfast or breakfast buffet at the hotel’s restaurant. This was the only Hyatt I’ve ever stayed at where the complimentary breakfast was served out of a closet in the lobby and consisted of nothing more than some stale bread/bagels, choice of 3 microwave breakfast sandwiches and come cereal. Really?

The only positive about my stay was that it was only for one night. Until this hotel goes through a complete renovation, I’d strongly suggest staying elsewhere, even if you’re part of the Hyatt Gold Passport program and especially if you have Platinum or Diamond status and are used to a higher standard that Hyatt normally delivers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello HeyMan76,

Thank you for going out of your way to share your challenges at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I am truly sorry for the quality of service and amenities at this location. We have forwarded your concerns to our executive management team to ensure this get addressed immediately. We want to thank you for letting us know about these conditions and we are more than happy to assist you in this matter. Please feel free to reach out to our Guest Relations department if you would like to speak about this matter further. We hope this does not deter you from staying with Hyatt hotels in the future.

Sincerest apologies,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I had planned this as a surprise for my husband's birthday for a group of 15 people. The organizer- Curt was very helpful in making all the reservations and arrangements for the large group. And the artists were really worth the trip. All in all we were all impressed and had a fun time at this place; I really liked the proximity of the location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

They lost my reservation and then treated me rudely--never apologized or offered a reason why I had to wait 45 minutes on a bench. Girl at desk thru key cards on the counter and said "elevators are over there". I had just spent a stressful day at NIH with my terminally ill granddaughter and did not need this additional stress. My room had such a filthy bathroom I spread towels on the floor before I would walk in there. There were long knotted pieces of hair all over the floor, the counter top was caked with dried soap, the tile baseboards were so dirty you would need a knife to scrape off the crud, the mirror was dirty and had a hazy film all over it, bulb burned out on table light and no chair so that you could sit and read. Awful experience

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Good Evening!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I am so very sorry hear about the lack of customer service and housekeeping you encountered during your stay. I hope management was able to assist you during this time and if not please feel free to contact our Guest Relations department for any further assistance because we are more than happy to help. I have forwarded your comments to our executive management team to follow up and ensure this does not happen in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This could be a nice hotel with convenient metro access in a great location. Unfortunately, sleep quality is sub par. I stayed here twice in short succession because I was attending events that were held in the hotel. On both trips, noise was a major issue. On both stays, when people in the room next to me were talking on the phone, I could hear every word clearly - it appears that the sound was coming through the ventilation system. Do not stay at this hotel if you are noise sensitive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.