We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was probably a better choice a few years ago” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Metro Boston
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Was probably a better choice a few years ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Convenient access to the Metro is a definite plus, however the mattresses were well below Hyatt Regency standards. Decor and finishes are dated. For the right price it is okay for a brief stay, but I will look elsewhere next time I am in the area. $15/day wi-fi and $3.75 bottled water and $15 self-parking help to erode any value in staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    232
    200
    92
    31
See reviews for
164
87
50
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location can't be beat for Metro. The room was quiet . A lot of kids groups was there. The staff was very nice. The bellman LeRoy was very helpful with directions. The bed was good. We ask in advance for a refrig. Went to the Daliy Grill for Happy Hour good food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Let me put it this way: I travel three days a week, 40 weeks a year, and I'll make sure I avoid this place in the future. They missed my wakeup call. The coffee maker was broken. The alarm clock was broken. There was no easy chair or couch in the room. Decor from the seventies. Nothing of comfort, anywhere. Television grainy. Lukewarm coffee in the "executive lounge" for top stayers. Internet impossible to get on. If you want a cheap place to stay one night, go for it. If you travel a lot, avoid. This is surprising because it's a Hyatt, and I usually have good luck with that chain.

Room Tip: Stay up as high as you can.
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't notice any environmentally friendly activities, though I didn't look for them.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans/Honolulu
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

A decent Priceline deal here for 3 days, well located on the metro line (very long and steep escalator, if that matters) Also, there is a lot of construction going on at this metro station. Nice neighborhood, lots of upscale shopping up the road.

Room was nice, clean, quiet,etc.

Huge group of youth were checking in before me. Eventually desk clerk realized I wasn't with them and checked me in, finally.

It was nearly midnight. I had just spent the evening outside in the heat and on my feet (after a long drive from CT) at the Merryweather Pavillion. I was tired. I was hungry and the clerk could only suggest CVS or 7-11 a few blocks down the street. A single female walking ( I was no longer w my friend who had the car) down the road at midnight? No thanks. No pantry or vending machines in the hotel? I starved until morning.

Daily Grill was delicious, slightly price hotel rates.

Business center was pricy to use for printing!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my husband and daughter. The location was chosen because we didn't want to drive all the way into DC but wanted a more northern hotel close to a metro stop. We got a room with 2 double beds and expected a typical hotel room. We were all very pleasantly surprised with the size of our room. It was much larger than a standard room. Our room was 626 and had an enormous bathroom and closet with a safe. There was a coffee machine fully stocked also available in the room. Toiletries were generous and a new tube of toothpaste came every day. I also liked the fact that a sheet on our room listed all of the FREE amenities that could be provided if you needed. This was not a short list. We ended up asking for shaving cream that we had forgotten and it came to the room quickly along with a razor that we hadn't asked for. The ONLY reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars is because there is some construction going on so getting from the parking garage to the hotel is a little convoluted. Location of hotel is fabulous with LOTS of restaurants and shops nearby along with the metro stop. Parking is $12 per day. I will definitely stay here again when we visit the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Not the greatest hotel I have ever stayed in and especially not what I would expect from a Hyatt.
Here is my lowdown of my experience:
-Pulled up out front and no one even acknowledged me even though there was valet parking. I parked myself. Seriously not a big deal but it was weird if you provide valet to just stand there and ignore folks who pull up for service.
-Went to check in and their computers froze. Had to wait for it to be fixed.
-Lobby is hot! Like sweating while standing there hot. Had dinner there and sweated the whole time and it was wasn't just me- everyone there was complaining. Its a huge atrium that looks like a cruise ship from the early '80s with plastic chandeliers and old fake plants.
-Room is well sized but not very clean, Everything was dusty and the shower had hairs stuck to the wall. There was also a not very clean red velour chair that looks like it belongs in my grandmothers basement. Water stains on the ceiling were hastily patched and painted but the stains were pretty bad.
-Carpets are worn, paint is peeling and chipped, furniture is stained. I saw a cleaning guy walking around with a rag and a spray bottle and was just randomly spraying things and half-heartedly wiping them off leaving the cleaning liquid to drip and run down the walls. It was weird- why even bother?
-The food was good and well prepared however.
-The location is great and right next to the Metro
-The staff was friendly

The place needs a major overhaul. If you can stay for the right price its not bad at all but dont expect much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dillsburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The people that wrote that it needed updating must have much higher expectations then I do. I thought it was a very pretty hotel. We had a great stay.
I wish breakfast was included, but at least we had a fridge to bring our own.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Good Afternoon 3sparrows,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review on your recent visit to the Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back in the future. Thanks for your feedback on the breakfast aspect at this location, I have forwarded your comments to our executive management for review and follow up. Look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.