We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Flyover Country, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The front desk staff and concierge are very welcoming an helpful, but the rest of the hotel falls short. The entrance workers were indifferent, and the entrance itself is uninviting. The Morton's restaurant and the lobby bar have a 10:30 last call. The only beer the Grille offered on tap was Miller Lite. My bed was comfortable and had nice linens, but the bathroom sink was cracked. The best feature of the hotel is that it sits astride of the Bethesda Metro station, making trips to the NIH (one stop away) convenient.

Green Features: Offered option to designate how often I wanted my room cleaned.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    189
    176
    84
    24
See reviews for
126
74
44
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier PA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The room was totally fine and the shower was fantastic. The lobby is a bit tight, but there is a convenience store there and all conference facilities downstairs. Check in was great with Miriam. The hotel is at a crossroads, with Wisconsin Avenue and Old Georgetown Road angling in different directions, taking you to restaurants, pubs, coffee places and shops which stretch out for about 8 blocks. The Metro is on site and so all of DC is within a half hour's ride. There is a Morton's within the property, and the hotel's own Daily Grill, which has a nice atmosphere and a large patio. There is a small indoor pool, and a tiny fitness center which has a very nice view. I enjoyed my four-night stay a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

this would be just another Hyatt except for the wonderful Miriam at the front desk. It's the personal touch one needs when you've just had a long day travelling or with clients.
Right at the top of the Bethesda Metro escalator. Couple blocks from most of the Bethesda restaurants. The lobby bar is not at all exciting- needs some attention to make it into somewhere you'd actually want to sit for a while. How about a drink menu ? what a concept !
Wifi is expensive. C'mon Hyatt get with the program and at least offer your Gold Passport guests free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had a good time at this hotel. I went there to see the sights. The metro station was literally right next to the hotel. The Daily grill was great. Nelson was a great waiter when my family went there two nights in a row, we made sure to ask for him again.
The hotel was exactly what I needed for someone who wanted a fairly modern hotel to stay at night. Though they did not have a 2 queen beds available on the same floor, I had a double, but the bed was so big and comfortable that I never thought twice about it. It was great for handicapped people, though the tub was a bit tricky, I managed well.
The house keeping people were great, and cleaned very well, though they forgot to give me new face cloths the second night, so I only had bath towels to shower with, but hardly an issue.
The only complaint that I have was that they charge for wi fi, which it is the 2014... come on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The service in this hotel is excellent. The hotel is located about 3 blocks from restaurant row. Many, many choices available. You are greeted by every employee with a warm welcome. The rooms are above average and well maintained.
With every review there are a couple of you can do better. I think it's cheesy to charge $10.00 a day for internet. You can stay at a days in for $39.00 and get free internet. Also, prices for coffee and breakfast items for a continental breakfast are way, way too high.
I would return

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A lovely hotel ,close to the Metro this Hyatt rates a 4. The beds are most comfortable and the lack of noise is most appreciated. The desk staff is a pleasure and pets are welcome. Just think: enter the parking lot,take the elevator to the main level, enter the hotel,take another elevator to your room. How easy is that! Although we stayed during late Spring, this convenience would be a plus in the cold months.

Green Features: Most welcome... No stale odors were noticed in the room. The box spring was encased in a disposable paper shield making the threat of bedbugs less likely. No noticeable difference was found while reading a book illuminated by the energy efficient lightbulb.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel one night this week, and the experience was OK.

The hotel location is convenient, right on the Bethesda metro station. I could walk to a few restaurants nearby.

Overall, the hotel looks outdated, not what I would expect from a Hyatt Regency.

As a Hyatt Diamond member, I get free breakfast. It took me a while to realize that breakfast was available at the bar, with very few pre-made items. It looks embarrassing for the hotel to charge $18 for some items out of the fridge and a few pastries.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.