We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Conference Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Conference Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Bethesda from May 28th- May 30th. I was there for a work conference. I stayed in a room with 2 double beds. The rooms were slightly outdated and very basic, but they were clean. It was suitable for a work visit.

The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. I enjoyed dinner at the Daily Grill the first night. Very delicious!

Easy access to the Metro.

The morning of my first conference, I was not thrilled with the breakfast served. I went up to the gift shop to see if they had any yogurt in the refrigerated section. They did not. I asked the clerk behind the desk where I could get fruit and yogurt. He sent me to the Daily Grill restaurant. I ended up paying $14 for yogurt, fruit, and granola. The very next day, I found out they have a little breakfast area in the lobby where you can buy fruit, cereal, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, etc. I was a bit disappointed that the clerk did not give me this information.

Hotel gym - very small. The pictures were misleading. Very clean.

Here is my biggest complaint - The wi-fi service at this hotel was not free. I had to pay every 24 hrs. for wi-fi, unless I sat in the lobby. I was not going to do work in the lobby. Not only do you have to pay for wi-fi, but there is no cell service in the meeting rooms. This is extremely inconvenient and not practical at all. This hotel seems like a hotel mostly used for conferences and meetings, so I strongly advise they rethink their wireless access.

Overall - clean, food pretty good, friendly staff, terrible wireless access and phone service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    184
    167
    82
    24
See reviews for
124
72
44
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterman, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had an unpleasant experience. Outdated. The rooms were ok but not very clean. We turned on the air conditioning and it blew out a bunch of dirt ad dust. Water bottle in our room was disgustingly dirty. Staff was rude. The highlight was the conference rooms but the ballroom was difficult to get to. Not worth the cost.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed at a number of Hyatt Regencies in recent years. All of them I experienced have been showing their age. This one in Bethesda, was less so, seemingly better maintained than the others.

Stayed here one night for business meeting. Some of my colleagues were on a lower floor and could hear noise (an entire high school class was here for a class trip!) from the restaurant at the lobby level. Elevator wait >5 minutes since only one bank of lifts for all the guest floors.

On the plus sides:
1) Location--located immediately next to a Metro stop
2) Staff--friendly and helpful

Some potential negatives
1) atrium design means noise from lobby can be heard all the way to top floor
2) limited elevators for number of rooms--can mean long wait if large groups are staying here



Summary: would stay here again for business in the area, but not for leisure

Room Tip: ask for higher floor in corners further away from atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel sits atop the Bethesda METRO station with quick access to DC on the Red Line. The Woodmont Triangle dining district is a few short blocks away. Rooms are very nice and clean, but nothing exceptional. Service throughout the property is attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Wisconsin Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location of the hotel was awesome. There were a lot of restaurants, some retail, and a couple theaters within walking distance. There is a metro station beneath the hotel that will get you to the monuments and tourist sites in 15 minutes with one train switch.

The rooms were dated. There were very few outlets in the rooms. The bathroom were outdated, and there no vents which caused drywall damage on the ceiling. There was also no room refrigerator. They also disabled the ability to switch TV inputs, so I couldn't use my Chromecast as an alternative to the mediocre list of channels available.

A lack of elevators made getting from your floor to lobby a slow task at times.

There are two restaurants on site. You have Morton's, a high end steakhouse, and the Daily Grille (a good, but more affordable option). There is also a Dunkin Donuts across the street.

All in all the location made the shortcomings tolerable, but the price tag is hefty for the lack of in room amenities.

Green Features: They do claim to be green, and minimize water consumption, etc...
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for a business meeting. Self check-in is available prior to arrival. Hotel decor is dated. The hotel room was spacious. There was a small sitting area and desk. Bathroom was standard. The hotel is well-located and within walking distance of many nice restaurants in Bethesda.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed for two nights due to a wedding at this busy hotel. The location was perfect, next to metro and a nice walk to restaurants and shopping. The hotel was clean but is in great need of upgrade. We were disappointed, that though pleasant the staff was not very helpful on check in. We arrived early and were told about a hour wait and we could be in our room dressing for our event. Two and a half hours later (now well passed check-in time) we were given our room keys. This resulted in a mad dash to meet the wedding shuttle on time. As we loved the shower and the comfortable bed all would have been good, except arriving back the second day from site seeing our room had not been touched. This location offers no extras (paid internet in 2014, charges for bottled water) at least a customer should have basic service. I will say the desk was quick to send up someone to do basic cleaning when we were at dinner. Overall we had a great time but the hotel needs some fixes to be at the high standard the claim to be.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.