We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, but manage your expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Affordable, but manage your expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The cost is reasonable, but manage your expectations. The facilities are poor. No laundry service. Breakfast and internet are not included. There is no safe or minibar in the room. Much of the room is taken up by an outdated entertainment cabinet. The quality of the room is below average. Internet was so poor, the staff removed the internet charges (likely a common complaint). Double check your bill, because I was overcharged for breakfast almost every day. They corrected the bill with no problem. On the other hand, the staff are friendly. Room service is good. The lobby is beautiful. The location is great. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    282
    217
    100
    35
See reviews for
201
94
53
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This Hyatt is downtown Bethesda and you can walk to all the restaurants and shops. Across the street is a metro stop so getting to Washington DC is easy. The property is not up to usual Hyatt hotel standards, but the rate that I got was very reasonable and much less than you would have to pay in other Hyatt hotels so I was OK with overlooking some of the characteristics of the hotel. The room was very standard corporate room. Where you can tell the the niceness of the hotel is the bathroom and this bathroom was average (cheap tile, worn grout, low end shower head) but it was clean. My biggest complaint would be the training of the front desk staff. I got a key to the business center, but they could never get it to work. Every single time I had to go to the lobby to get it reprogrammed. Once I even went to the lobby before going up to the center and it still did not work. We had the same problem with the room keys. Part of my benefits is to get a newspaper delivered to the room in the morning. I had two rooms and the other room got the paper. When I asked about the other paper the front desk person lied and said that no papers were delivered that day. The business lounge what just a room with computers and drinks and yogurt. They only had Pepsi. It was probably the worst business lounge that I have ever seen. The hotel has a gym and a pool. The gym is cramped and divided into three areas around the old pool. The equipment was good and in order. I had breakfast at the hotel one morning, but did not go back. It was over the Thanksgiving Holidays and the staff was overwhelmed with the crowds and they kept running out of coffee and other items. It is probably better during the week. There is a Daily Grill restaurant at the hotel too. The hotel is pretty noisy, because it is "atrium style" and all the rooms can hear the noise from the lobby. One night there was a teen party at the property and it was very noisy. Other nights it was more quiet. Over all if you are traveling on business I would look elsewhere. If you are traveling with family and need a reasonable rate, but are willing to not have any luxuries this property is OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Perhaps the best feature of this hotel is its location ie next to a metro station. The hotel itself looks dated and lacks some of the refinements expected in a four star establishment. I also found it noisy in the bedroom where there appeared to be a continues air noise which affected my sleep during the first night. The initial solution suggested to me was that I switch on the air conditioning fan then I wouldn't hear the background hum ??? I was then provided with ear plugs and shortly after offered a different room. As we were fully unpacked we decided to keep the original room and use the ear plugs if necessary. To their credit the hotel did provide complimentary breakfast for the final three mornings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My in-laws (not Trip Advisor folks) stayed at this hotel for the Thanksgiving holiday. This hotel is nowhere near Hyatt standards. Their room (#312) was not clean. The bedside table was cracked and damaged. The only place to put the coffee pot was on the counter next to the bathroom sink, leaving no room for toiletries, etc. On the third floor, there was a recent large 'stain' on the wall in front of the elevators. It had not been cleaned. The carpet was threadbare.

They won't be staying at this hotel again, and I advise you to stay clear of it.

Room Tip: I've heard they've remodeled some rooms. If they have, perhaps one of them might be accepta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Good Afternoon KLPCLT,

Thank you for bringing your experience from the Hyatt Regency Bethesda to our attention. I am do sorry to hear about the condition of the hotel and it's guestrooms during your visit. I have forwarded your remarks to our executive management to follow up with this property and make sure we do not have any other issues with housekeeping and speak of renovations. Again, thank for bringing this information to us and if you would like to speak about this matter further, please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Associate. Hope you have a great holiday.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Spending time with my daughters in Bethesda. Walked past the Hyatt, ate in the restaurants there, but never actually stayed.

Excellent service, get a room upgrade...terrace with a great view!

Traveling to visit your own kids fir the holidays can have plenty of built-in disappointments, but Thu shotel was not one of them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday with your family and at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the service and view at the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back this Thanksgiving.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed one night - Nov. 28 to Nov. 29. Room was clean. Nothing too fancy, but okay for the night. What I really liked was the online check in. We were not checking in until 8pm. It was a convience to do it on line and use the kiosk to get the room keys. No waiting in lines! Only bad note was a heavy cigarette smell by the elevators on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

No way is this a Hyatt?!!! When we arrived the valet acted surprised that we would even consider valet parking after our 12 hour drive in heavy rains... No bellman. No welcome. Then we decided on a late dinner at the grill. The waiter was friendly but kept coming back to say they were out of everything we wanted!!
The decor is a wreck table side lighting hanging dangerously off the walls.... Hyatt should be ashamed of this hotel!!!! We won't be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings Melissa R,

Thank you for going out of you way to provide your feedback on your past stay at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda! Our sincerest apologies for the many challenges you encountered upon your arrival of this location and we will definitely be forwarding your comments to our executive management so we can ensure this never happens to any future guests. If you would like to speak about this matter further, we are more than happy to speak with you. Please contact our Guest Relations department. Hope we can welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.