We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean, and looks like they're just trying to sell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not clean, and looks like they're just trying to sell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My in-laws (not Trip Advisor folks) stayed at this hotel for the Thanksgiving holiday. This hotel is nowhere near Hyatt standards. Their room (#312) was not clean. The bedside table was cracked and damaged. The only place to put the coffee pot was on the counter next to the bathroom sink, leaving no room for toiletries, etc. On the third floor, there was a recent large 'stain' on the wall in front of the elevators. It had not been cleaned. The carpet was threadbare.

They won't be staying at this hotel again, and I advise you to stay clear of it.

Room Tip: I've heard they've remodeled some rooms. If they have, perhaps one of them might be accepta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Good Afternoon KLPCLT,

Thank you for bringing your experience from the Hyatt Regency Bethesda to our attention. I am do sorry to hear about the condition of the hotel and it's guestrooms during your visit. I have forwarded your remarks to our executive management to follow up with this property and make sure we do not have any other issues with housekeeping and speak of renovations. Again, thank for bringing this information to us and if you would like to speak about this matter further, please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Associate. Hope you have a great holiday.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    171
    160
    76
    23
See reviews for
115
69
43
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Spending time with my daughters in Bethesda. Walked past the Hyatt, ate in the restaurants there, but never actually stayed.

Excellent service, get a room upgrade...terrace with a great view!

Traveling to visit your own kids fir the holidays can have plenty of built-in disappointments, but Thu shotel was not one of them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday with your family and at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the service and view at the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back this Thanksgiving.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed one night - Nov. 28 to Nov. 29. Room was clean. Nothing too fancy, but okay for the night. What I really liked was the online check in. We were not checking in until 8pm. It was a convience to do it on line and use the kiosk to get the room keys. No waiting in lines! Only bad note was a heavy cigarette smell by the elevators on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

No way is this a Hyatt?!!! When we arrived the valet acted surprised that we would even consider valet parking after our 12 hour drive in heavy rains... No bellman. No welcome. Then we decided on a late dinner at the grill. The waiter was friendly but kept coming back to say they were out of everything we wanted!!
The decor is a wreck table side lighting hanging dangerously off the walls.... Hyatt should be ashamed of this hotel!!!! We won't be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings Melissa R,

Thank you for going out of you way to provide your feedback on your past stay at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda! Our sincerest apologies for the many challenges you encountered upon your arrival of this location and we will definitely be forwarding your comments to our executive management so we can ensure this never happens to any future guests. If you would like to speak about this matter further, we are more than happy to speak with you. Please contact our Guest Relations department. Hope we can welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Bethesda for 5 days earlier this month. The room was clean and the bathroom was well stocked with towels and wash cloths every day. The room service attendants were also very nice. The best part was the location of the Metro. I loved that I could walk out the door and enter the Metro.

That said, the walls of the room as super thin. I could hear the people in the rooms next to me talking. My room was on the third level and I was able to hear the noise from the lobby level, as well as firetruck and police sirens, which seemed to go off on the street quite often. I had a hard time sleeping because I need complete silence. If you're like that as well, then I would recommend bringing ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It has sort of become a tradition for us to stay at a Hyatt during a long-distance move, the night before we move into a new apartment.
We have had such a great experience at the Hyatt in downtown Boston that we didn't even look at other hotels in downtown Bethesda.
However, this hotel does NOT meet the Hyatt standard.
Not only are the rooms outdated, the amenities do NOT feel 4-star (see below: i.e. no safe in the rooms!).
I cannot speak for the day staff, however, the night staff is HORRIBLE.
They have a horrible attitude and are the furthest thing from welcoming!

Pro (yes, singular):
- Room service from the Daily Grill. The gentleman who brought our room service was very nice, and a welcoming change from the rest of the staff we encountered!

Cons:
- No safe in the room
- No mini fridge in the room
- No real comforter: a super thin "down" comforter that is barely there and that is not enough to feel warm
- Rude front desk staff at night: horrible attitude and manners
- It took more than half an hour to get a pair of slippers, and got attitude from the guy at the front desk when I called to see why the slippers were not delivered yet
- Very noisy hotel: noise echoes from the lobby, since the rooms are around the interior balcony around the lobby
- The parking garage is a separately managed garage - it is not the hotel's garage AND there is not direct access from the garage to the hotel. One must take an elevator from the garage and go out to the street and then walk over to the hotel.
- We were not greeted by anyone when we pulled up to the hotel. We were stuck behind a car that pulled up and blocked the driveway in front of us. We had no idea where the parking was and no one came to help us for a long time. It was not a welcoming experience.

BOTTOM LINE: It shocks and appalls me that this is a four star hotel, and that the Hyatt chain blemishes its name with this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I booked a romantic night for my wife's birthday. From the time we pulled up to the hotel, we were treated like royality. The front desk staff and bellmen were very attentative. We were thanked for staying at the hotel. There was a bottle of champagne on ice and a plate of chocolate covered strawberries in the room waiting for us, with soft clasical music playing. We walked to a resturant down the street for dinner. We returned to the room to find the bed covered in rose petals and chocolates. There was a convention going on at the same time which made the elevators slow, but that is to be expected. The noise level from said convention was low. We had a great breakfast in the resturant the next morning. I was highly impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that staff were able to help make your stay so memorable and make you feel like royalty! I’m glad you enjoyed the champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, as well as the rose petals and chocolates. It’s great that you were able to take advantage of the wonderful breakfast in the morning, as well. I hope we can welcome you and your wife back again in the future for your next romantic getaway.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.