We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of Hyatt name” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worthy of Hyatt name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

While a decent property, the rooms really need makeovers. The good. Beds are comfortable, rooms are nice size and fairly clean. Also a reasonably priced property. The not so good. AC is loud and the thermostats are mounted right below the vent. So air comes out, drops and shuts off before the room cools down. There are no exhaust fans in the bathrooms so it gets very warm with the door closed. Old fluorescent lighting in bathroom as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    201
    181
    90
    24
See reviews for
135
81
45
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Why do the best hotels charge for WiFi?

This has the feeling of being an older not recently updated Hyatt. It has the typical soaring atrium, comfortable rooms and some detail. Rooms aren't as refined as some Hyatts.

Right by the Metro so a quick ride into DC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Attended a weekend symposium there in February, 2013. Restaurants were great. Close walk to everything in town. Room was clean and comfortable although we requested a queen size bed and got 2 full size beds instead. I'm sure they would have given us another room but we didn't want to move. Beautiful lobby, great conference rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I formerly lived in the Penn Quarter area of DC, but when we go back to visit our first choice is the Hyatt Regency Bethesda. As others have noted, this hotel can at times be somewhat noisy, and the design is showing its age. Still, in our estimation, this hotel is worth it on many levels. The staff are simply outstanding. Most recently, we stayed from Thursday through Sunday; the front desk was always well staffed with never a wait for service. Our room was impeccably clean and well maintained. The lounge in the atrium, where breakfast is served and light fare and a full bar is available at other times, was also very well staffed. The 11th floor business center (it really isn't a lounge) was easily accessible and well stocked, especially on weekday mornings, with fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, and eggs. The hotel is right above the Bethesda Metro on the Red Line, with an elevator conveniently located just around the corner from the entrance. With downtown just a 20-minute ride away, and with easy access to National Airport via the Yellow Line (just one change at Gallery Place), this hotel is a standout for access. And then there's Bethesda Row, a few short blocks away, with varied, reasonably priced restaurants, shops, cinema, and books on tree-lined streets for those times when an early night near the hotel appeals. Cautions: the attached restaurants, while convenient, may not be your best choice. We have tried the Daily Grill several times and have found the service to be the opposite of the fine service we received from the hotel itself. Also, the internet can be frustratingly slow. Still, we left after our most recent stay looking forward to our next one.

Room Tip: Our room facing the back of the hotel was quiet. All rooms are subject to noise from the atrium, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

After dealing w Guestek all morning, I'm still getting less than 2mbps speed. Never mind that Internet cost $10 a day. As a platinum member I was checked in and placed on the 11th floor (1123) and given access to the elite lounge since supposedly there were no upgrades - I've yet to be upgraded as a platinum member so no surprise there. After trying to access the lounge down the hall, my keys didn't work so I had to back downstairs and get the access loaded to my cards, as t seemed the girl at check in failed to do it. Hayford, a gentleman that helped later was the ONLY bright spot of this place. Rooms are very outdated, and noisy as you hear everything in the atrium in your room. I also had to call down and get a newspaper delivered to my room, another perk I'm suppose to receive for being platinum although clearly other gold passport members had received theirs.

Once I finally made it to the elite lounge I was greeted by nothing more than a small room w a Keurig, couple of coffee choices, out of sugar packets, more than one opened milk cartons in the fridge that offered a few Pepsi's and a couple of juices, nothing to snack on except a bowl of apples in which one was rotten (I swear to you - ROTTEN), no TV's, nowhere to sit except at the two computer stations.

Don't even think about eating at Morton's Steak House inside the hotel. The guy next to us ordered a shimp cocktail off the bar bites menu and was served a bowl of crushed ice and ONE shrimp on it. We all laughed and asked if it was a joke. I guess the bartender felt bad and brought him one more for good measure. My steak, salad, and 1 side w 2 beers cost me over $100. Can we say blown per diem!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear sanders0906,

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Bethesda. Please accept my apologies for the internet not properly working in your room. I will be sure to share your comments about your dining experience at Morton's, with our Executive Chef and Director of Food & Beverage. If you would like, please feel free to respond to my message, as I would be happy to continue our discussion with regards to your stay.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We got this hotel on hotwire when you pick that you want a 4 star hotel and you don't know what hotel you get until after you book. We paid a little over $100 a night for this hotel and I probably wouldn't pay more.

Pro's:
Staff very attentive.
Great location!

Con's:
Rooms are older and somewhat outdated. Has a huge atrium and isn't super modern. You'll notice the carpeting in the rooms and bathroom flooring need some updating. Make sure you budget for parking and wifi, because those cost extra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The rooms are nice, staff friendly and amenities solid at this standard Hyatt business hotel. Unfortunately, the large, multi story atrium straight out of the 1970s makes almost all of the rooms noisy when the lobby bar is in use. the location is superb, right above the Bethesda metro stop, surrounded by unique shops and restaurants with very few chains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.