We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel at Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel at Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A colleague and I selected this hotel for a one-night stay based primarily on its location in Bethesda, close to our business meeting. This was my first stay and I really liked this property and would recommend it for either business or pleasure. As many have noted, it is literally next door to the Bethesda Metro Station so it is extremely convenient for getting into DC. Likewise, it is obviously convenient for the many corporate and professional locations in the Bethesda and Chevy Chase area. The hotel is big and busy (arranged around a large interior atrium) but the service was prompt and professional.
The rooms are somewhat dated but clean and comfortable -- very good water pressure and I noticed no street noise although the hotel fronts on busy Wisconsin Ave. Likewise, the HVAC unit was relatively quiet and did not wake me while cycling off/on during the night. Many restaurants of all kinds are around the hotel for all tastes and budgets. There is a Morton's on site if you just want a reliable/traditional steak house and don't wish to leave the property.
I walked to a nearby French cafe, Le Madeleine, for a breakfast croissant and coffee, so cannot comment on the breakfast quality or prices at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    172
    160
    76
    23
See reviews for
115
69
43
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been going to Bethesda for years for business and have stayed at this hotel several times (but not in the last 2 years). I stayed here in May, 2013, and was stunned at the deterioration of the hotel. It's very old and obviously needs a major facelift. The lobby was tired-looking and had poor temperature control (incredibly hot and humid outside and the lobby was the same). Staff were apathetic. The guest rooms were not well maintained (lots of scuff marks on the walls; shower heads leaking and dribbling) and key card readers for the doors very difficult to work (could only insert the card EXACTLY horizontal and then veeerrrrryyyyy slowly pull out - I could never do this so my friends had to let me into my room each day - reception desk personnel said that everyone had this problem but management had not plans to replace/fix the key card readers on the guest room doors). I stayed at a Hampton Inn in Virginia for two nights after my stay at this Hyatt - for half the price everything was perfect, had free breakfast and internet, very clean and well-organized rooms, showers worked, and lots of electrical outlets (in other words, everything that this Hyatt lacked). It's sad that the Hyatt Bethesda has sunk so low - it has a great location (right next door to the Metro). However, I don't plan to stay here again until they do some major remodeling/restoration.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
I am sorry to hear that the condition of our property did not meet your expectations and would like to inform you that your comments will help us improve our guests' satisfaction.
Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future and let us provide excellent service we strive for.

Best Regards,
Konstancja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This property is not downtown within walking distance of the White House, monuments, Mall, etc. Instead, it is in the heart of Bethesda in a commercial/business district. As such, it would seem to be an odd choice for casual or tourist travel. Nonetheless, this particular location works surprisingly well for those willing to get around via public transportation.

Located directly (as in "on top of") the Bethesda Metro stop, the Hyatt Regency Bethesda affords surprising access to a variety of attractions. Jump on the Red Line and you can be downtown in 15 minutes with absolutely no hassles with traffic or parking. Another 10 minutes and you can be into Virginia and the Pentagon area. Looking for something else? Go 10-15 minutes in the other direction and you can be at the National Zoo. Considering the expense of parking in DC and the difficulty that visitors can have navigating the initially-confusing traffic patterns, the Metro provides a convenient and stress-free alternative. Once the decision is made to utilize the Metro, this Hyatt property makes a lot of sense.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Wisconsin Ave provide a more cityscape view--particularly at night. Noise is NOT a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have been here for nearly one month, It gave me very good impression especially the location which is very convenient to take Metro subway way to Washington D.C., also the excellent breakfast with different choices including fruit salad etc. Hyatt has also breakfast service such as Mihret and Kristi, They are very kind to server each client to make all feel at home, I'd like to recommend Hyatt to more friends and hope to visit here in the future, Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here while attending a family wedding in nearby Chevy Chase. Great deal for the wedding weekend. Room was spacious and clean and located directly above the Bethesda Metro station. This made it convienent to get to all the DC attractions without a car. Hotel is located in the center of Bethesda near numerous ethnic restaurants, including Chinese, Japanese ad Indian restaurants. Hotel had a Mortons steak house, which was expensive for a family with two young kids. We ate at the Daily Grill for breakfast. We were part of an out of town group that had over 30 people for breakfast and there was not enough staff on hand. Food was excellent once we did get served. Hotel had a parking garage where our rental car sat most of the weekend. We rented a car only because we flew out of BWI. Next time we come, we will fly out of National. It is more expensive to fly into National but you don't need a rental car. Hotel was also very safe. We stayed at the hotel when the marathon bombings happened in Boston and there were extra security on hand, Being from the Boston area, I was shakin up about the whole incident and the hotel staff and security guards cheered us up. Overall, great place to stay and an easy trip into DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel has a large center atrium that gives a nice sense of openness to the lobby.
The rooms were comfortable, nothing flashy.
We had a comfortable nights sleep.
Valet parking is available but we dropped off our luggage at the front and I parked myself. (Saturday night parking was $12)
If you park in the garage beneath the hotel, you use an elevator to street level, which delivers you outside the hotel near a side entrance that we missed. (This entrance looks like it is for their restaurant) if you enter here and make a left turn you can walk directly (about 50 feet)to the front desk. If you instead walk around the front of the building to the main entrance you will end up coming up a ramp to the same lobby.

Room Tip: Higher rooms should have a better view. Our first floor room had a poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've been staying at this property for about 10 years and have watched the rooms consistently degrade.

First for the positives: (1) it's a great location -- at the Betheda Metro Center; (2) it's always easy to get a cab; (3) two great restaurants -- Morton's and The Daily Grill; and (4) pleasant and accomodating staff.

Now for the realities: (1) the rooms lack basic housekeeping -- the toilet in my room had stains around the lid and the base; (2) the chairs needed to be vacuumed; (3) the base of the door was worn; (3) the armoire didn't accomodate a refrigerator so a portable one was sitting adjacent to the desk; (4) the wood on the desk was warped so that it was no longer level; (5) all of the furniture had scratches and knicks; (5) the AC vent was dirty and more and more.

If you're looking for a convenient place to stay close to Wisconsin Avenue in Bethesda, this property works. If you're expecting a property that qualifies for designation as a "Hyatt Regency", you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff as well as location met your expectations.
Please, note that we strive to provide excellent service and will look into housekeeping issue further.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.