We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had better sleep during Basic Training” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Had better sleep during Basic Training”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked my hotel stay online. I booked a King sized bed room. When I got to the counter the person behind the counter told me that they had no king sized rooms available. I asked the person how could I book a room online and then when I get to the hotel they not have the room I booked available? She had no answers for me. She offered me a twin bed room. I had been driving since early that Am and was not able to travel to another hotel to stay at. I asked if I could get a discount on the room, she offered me a free breakfast in one of two restaurants. I get to my room finally and it is a pet room. The room was dusty all over, had hair in the bathroom and smelled like wet dog. I went to the front counter to complain and again there were no other rooms available. I assume there was some kind of high school dance or event that night in the hotel, as there were kids running around all over the place. The room next to ours had some loud kids in it and after calling and complaining 3 times to ask them to be quite seeing how it was 230am and getting to response I went next door myself and asked them to please quite down. And as I thought they were louder. They must have drunk all their beer because at 400am they either left or passed out and I was able to get some sleep. I was looking forward to the free morning breakfast at one of the restaurants, I called down to the front desk to ask how do I redeem the free item. They told me to go down to the breakfast area and once I have what I wanted to tell the person at the bar that mine was to be free… The “Free Breakfast” that I was to get was the normal breakfast that EVERY person got for free... I WILL NEVER stay at this hotel again and the owner/manager should be ashamed of themselves for letting staff lie to customers and for overbooking rooms.

Room Tip: The hotel down the street would be better to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Ben,

Thank you for taking time and providing your feedback.
We sincerely apologize for your prefered room type not being available at check in, as well as the fact that your stay did not meet your expectations. I truly hope you give us another chance in the future and let us make your stay more comfortable.

Sincerely,
Konstancja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    189
    176
    84
    24
See reviews for
126
74
44
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hyatt offers some of the most comfortable beds. Rooms are huge and sparkling clean. I was there for a conference and while most of it works, there are only three elevators to go to the ballroom where some of the meetings are and another set of three from the guest rooms to the lobby. Also, only one bar and it closes early. Still, the Hyatt is worth staying at and it is close to the subway stations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I am on the board of a non-profit group which has their convention at this hotel every year. This was our 25th anniversary and the Hyatt went to great lengths to make our event special - from having someone at the bell station dressed as Sherlock Holmes to "inventing" special mystery drinks at the bar and giving prizes to 5 lucky attendees! (We are Malice Domestic, a group who loves the traditional mystery a la Agatha Christie). The entire staff was cheerful, helpful and very attentive. Any minor issues that arose were handled promptly and the weekend was truly a joyous reunion. GM Anthony Arbeeny, please extend my grateful appreciation to all your staff!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Have been here before and always have great service and friendly staff. Dining in the Daily Grill was wonderful! Any diet restrictions you may have are covered with frsh made delicious meals. The rooms are ok but could use some upgrades. My only issue was with the problematic wifi for Internet. Worked in the lobby and meeting rooms, but not in my room. They tried, but it just did not happen. Good space for meetings and close to their subway system to get anywhere you need.

Room Tip: Upper room not near the elevator(noisy there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for a sightseeing trip with our young boys to Washington DC. This hotel sits right on top of the Metro. It's a 20 minute trip to the sights in DC and about a 10 minute trip to the National Zoo. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel is in walking distance to many good restaurants and small shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend stay in the DC area and was very pleased with the fantastic location just above the metro station on the Red line. It put us close to the downtown at a great price. The previous weekend I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Houston so was was a bit disappointed at how old this hotel felt (lobby, fitness center and guest rooms) but as I said, you can't beat the location and getting a Priceline deal always helps! They offer coffe in the morning to all guests, or some reservations include a breakfast as well. It is a sparse selection, but nice enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Kate,

We greatly appreciate your positive feedback.
I am very glad to hear that the location of our property, as well as condition exceeded your expactations.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, CO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Expensive and dated but clean with a friendly although not exceptional staff. Good location right above the Metro stop with plenty of restaurants nearby. Food, drink and Internet were overpriced. Glad my company was paying the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear mscaffrey,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our property's convenient location and customer service our staff provided.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.