We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good place for conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hyatt offers some of the most comfortable beds. Rooms are huge and sparkling clean. I was there for a conference and while most of it works, there are only three elevators to go to the ballroom where some of the meetings are and another set of three from the guest rooms to the lobby. Also, only one bar and it closes early. Still, the Hyatt is worth staying at and it is close to the subway stations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    171
    160
    75
    23
See reviews for
114
69
43
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I am on the board of a non-profit group which has their convention at this hotel every year. This was our 25th anniversary and the Hyatt went to great lengths to make our event special - from having someone at the bell station dressed as Sherlock Holmes to "inventing" special mystery drinks at the bar and giving prizes to 5 lucky attendees! (We are Malice Domestic, a group who loves the traditional mystery a la Agatha Christie). The entire staff was cheerful, helpful and very attentive. Any minor issues that arose were handled promptly and the weekend was truly a joyous reunion. GM Anthony Arbeeny, please extend my grateful appreciation to all your staff!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Have been here before and always have great service and friendly staff. Dining in the Daily Grill was wonderful! Any diet restrictions you may have are covered with frsh made delicious meals. The rooms are ok but could use some upgrades. My only issue was with the problematic wifi for Internet. Worked in the lobby and meeting rooms, but not in my room. They tried, but it just did not happen. Good space for meetings and close to their subway system to get anywhere you need.

Room Tip: Upper room not near the elevator(noisy there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for a sightseeing trip with our young boys to Washington DC. This hotel sits right on top of the Metro. It's a 20 minute trip to the sights in DC and about a 10 minute trip to the National Zoo. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel is in walking distance to many good restaurants and small shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend stay in the DC area and was very pleased with the fantastic location just above the metro station on the Red line. It put us close to the downtown at a great price. The previous weekend I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Houston so was was a bit disappointed at how old this hotel felt (lobby, fitness center and guest rooms) but as I said, you can't beat the location and getting a Priceline deal always helps! They offer coffe in the morning to all guests, or some reservations include a breakfast as well. It is a sparse selection, but nice enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Kate,

We greatly appreciate your positive feedback.
I am very glad to hear that the location of our property, as well as condition exceeded your expactations.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Expensive and dated but clean with a friendly although not exceptional staff. Good location right above the Metro stop with plenty of restaurants nearby. Food, drink and Internet were overpriced. Glad my company was paying the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear mscaffrey,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our property's convenient location and customer service our staff provided.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the Bethesda Hyatt for 6 nights to attend a medical convention being held at the Marriott Wardman Park. Both hotels are right next to Metro stops and it was an easy 11 minute, 5-stop ride on the red line to get to the Marriott where the convention was being held.

The Hyatt was 1/2 the price of the Marriott when I made my reservation, and included a free continental breakfast for AAA members.

I'm normally a nit-picker and difficult to please when it comes to hotels but I have to say this is a great hotel! Great service!. Spacious room and bathroom with a sensible layout. My room also had a crib (!) and a small refrigerator. I think they must use this room for people with toddlers when they stay here.

I was delighted they have white bed covers since any stains or evidence of critters would be easily seen. Kudos to the management!

Spotlessly clean.

The housekeeping people saw that I was using the caffeinated coffee filters in the morning with the in-room coffee maker, and started leaving extra coffee filters. Nice touch! Much appreciated by this caffeine nut.

They gave me free in-room internet (normally $10/day) when I checked in as a bonus for staying 6 nights and for being enrolled in the Hyatt frequent flier program. The internet was faster than what I have at home. You have to re-register for it every day which was no big deal but mildly annoying.

Nice exercise facility on the top floor. The pool was a little small for swimming laps.

Check-in and check-out was a snap. When I checked out they initially wanted to charge me for some 1-800 calls I made using a phone card, but I had checked with the hotel operator before I used my phone card and was told there was no charge for those, and they cheerfully and instantanously removed the phone charges.

The only downside with the room is that the air conditioning blows right on the bed at night, which I find objectionable so I turned it off and it got a little stuffy after a while.

The location is fantastic-right at the metro, and there are literally dozens and dozens of places to eat within a few block walk in the new Bethesda shopping district south and west of the hotel.

Check out Rice Paddies Grill 4706 Bethesda Ave for a dirt cheap Vietnamese dinner. I had the rice paper shrimp rolls with peanut sauce and a giant bowl of noodle soup with meat in it for around $12. Also check out Moby Dick (a mideastern food chain) at 7027 Wisconsin for a fast, and cheap mideastern dinner. The place rocks and is delightfully disorganized and high energy. Both of these places have no atmosphere and are largely take-out fast dinner places.

All in all, a great stay at a great hotel. No real complaints. I'd go there again in a second.

The metro trips including my initial and final trips to the airport totaled around $60 for the week. There's an unlimited metro pass for a week that costs about the same, and a 'smartcard' option that might have saved about $10 over the week but the person manning the booth wasn't there to sell me one when I arrived at Metro airport. You can get them on-line before your visit.

Room Tip: Ask for free internet if you're staying there for a few nights. Also, if you're on the Hyat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.