We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coatesville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We took a mini family trip to the DC area. The Hyatt was located above the metro, making our day trips to DC so convenient. Bethesda has many great restaurants and shops all around the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We have a very nice dinner one of the two restaurants on site (a bit pricey for us tho.) All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    189
    175
    84
    24
See reviews for
125
74
44
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Hyatt in Bethesda for a family get together. We requested 4 rooms near each other -- all king no-smoking. Three of the rooms were on the same floor and one room was on another. One room was "accessible" altho it was not requested or required.

On the plus side, the location was great - next to the Metro and near everything downtown. The beds & pillows were very comfortable. We had a great price ($129 per night).

On the negative side, we could hear everything the people in the next room said -- the walls must be paper thin. The furniture was old and needed some touch-ups. There was no safe in the room. The pool closed at 10 pm so we weren't able to use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel but could use some updates. Room was nice size but bathroom needs some work. We were given free Internet and refrigerator for the room. Did not eat at the hotel but they do offer breakfast. There is a nice bar/ restaurant in the rear of the lobby. Pool/exercise area has a nice view on the 12th floor. Shopping and dining available a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floors as the elevator was slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was once a great hotel (1970s) right in the heart of Bethesda, right on top of the Bethesda Metro station. It has the classic space elevators and "Portman" lobby that was a wonder 40 years ago. The staff is still friendly and competent, but the hotel itself shows its age. Not a good dining scene either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was placed here by a local research institute when i visited as a speaker. The promise of this hotel is just phenomenal: its right on the DC Metro, it has absolutely stunning views from the rooftop pool. The main body of the hotel lobby is a huge enclosed space like the Barcelona Juan Carlos Hotel, which i usually love. The rooms, carpets, business suite--all are visibly worn and definitely in need of update. The room was average. A MAJOR crippling drawback is their petty minded internet policy, where they try to get you to pay $10 per DAY for wireless, neither classy nor cool, which is supposedly what Hyatt tries to market.

Nevertheless, the staff were so kind and helpful that my first review would have been four stars. However, (fortunately? unfortunately?) I went up to the top-floor pool and jacuzzi area...which was horrors embodied. Everything is damp, the windows are stained grungy, the tiles of the entire pool and lukewarm jacuzzi were heavily chipped up. Basically, the air tastes of a mixture of strong chlorine and decay. The contrast between the spectacular sunset and the immediate surroundings up there was stark.

The location is great, and the nearby restaurants, yoga studios, etc are awesome. The hotel is not worth the amount Hyatt charged. But the hotel is not awful, its simply not nice or pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to get an east facing. Minor advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recently spent a night at the Hyatt while in Bethesda for business. The hotel was in a great location and surrounded by tons of great restaurants, cafes and bars. Walk around! You will love the area! Positives: the staff was very helpful, beds were comfortable and the attached restaurant, the Daily Grill, served a nice breakfast and great lunch. The wifi will cost you in your room, but is free in the lobby. The hotel could use some basic updating, although the room finishes were nice. Here, I think you pay for the location and convenience of nearby amenities. Not the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the eleventh floor rooms. You may end up with a bit of a view of the city and not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Living right down the street, many family members have stayed here, although none for several years, liking the proximity to Bethesda hotspots and the Metro (literally, you are steps away). While the service was pretty good, I was very disappointed by the current condition of the rooms, and rather inferior amenities, given the Hyatt's price point. Not to mention that the fitness center was closed mid-morning. We stayed as our home renovation was not completed when expected, but in considering yet another unexpected hotel night, left ASAP. Despite the hassle of relocating,and a longer work commute, it was worth going to a DC hotel which measured up. In sum, there just aren't enough hotels in Montgomery to promote competitiveness on price and quality among its "better" hoteliers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.