We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Since I usually travel on a budget, hotels are not normally a happy part of the experience. Got a good online rate (less than half usual room fee) for this hotel and was happily surprised from the moment I stepped into the lobby. The staff is present, friendly and attentive but never intrusive. Registration and check out was quick and pleasant. The room itself was large, comfortably appointed and had two full walls of windows with both sheer and room darkening curtains. The metro station is literally right there and within a ten minute walk are numerous good restaurants, cafes, and shops. A couple of things would have made this an excellent experience-free wifi in the room (it is in the lobby, but a charge in the room...don't get that at all), and a complimentary Continental breakfast ($6.50 for coffee? really?) Luckily there's a great little spot to grab breakfast right down the block-Brown Bag on Wisconsin, with freshly baked, delicious muffins and crumb cake.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    171
    160
    75
    23
See reviews for
114
69
43
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for business for three days. The hotel is located just next to metro. So, it is an easy metro ride from DCA airport. The staffs are very friendly, thoughtful and helpful. Rooms are fine. Towels are slightly worn. Hotel is a very good business hotel even though it is not not an upscale hotel. I will definitely stay at this hotel due to friendly staff and location if I visit Bethesday again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for a 2013 New Year's event. The accommodations were ok. Nothing spectacular. Regular hotel stay, nothing to brag about. Room was just ok, towels slightly worn. I love a great view when I stay in a hotel but when I looked out of the window, all I could see was the HVAC systems. Not a nice view at all. Friendly staff at desk. Food was pretty good at event and the following morning.

Really big hotel, plenty of parking. For Bethesda, I expected more of an upscale hotel. Bath was dated. Overall - it was ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a solid three star hotel. Would rate higher except their housekeeping staff needs more training. Since most clients stay for business (and are older), they need to provide higher end toiletries and much better towels. Normal towels provided are ones I use to wash/polish my car. Plus, they have shrunk soooo much. The Concierge Desk is very helpful and thoughtful. They cannot be held accountable for the cheapness of housekeeping or the Hyatt. Room was clean and just the right size. Remember, if you pay for a terrace room, your view is in corporate offices, nothing else. The terrace is large but everyone can see you and you can see them. The pool area does not have convenient hours --- do an inquiry if you enjoy this amenity. Hotel's location is perfect --- right next door to Metro Station and two blocks to a vibrant Bethesda downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Family issues brought us to Bethesda for an open-ended stay at the Hyatt, which we chose because it's right next to the Metro (and we had a bad experience at another hotel close to the Metro--see our other review a few years ago). When we mentioned our reason for our stay on registration, the front desk clerk offered to install a refrigerator in our room, which was very helpful as the days wore on.

Our main complaint at the Hyatt is the poor lighting in most rooms, which has left us groping in the dark to find a lamp when there is no light switch near the door. But we'll be back, it's the most comfortable, convenient place we have found n Bethesda.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. I arrived fairly late, around 10 pm, and quickly gained access to my room. It was mediocre, with stains on the carpet, worn furniture, terrible cable (analog to boot), and the smell of cleaner still in the room. It burned my eyes for several hours, but it was late and I just crashed. My rate included continental breakfast, which was mediocre, on a par with two star places (i.e. Embassy Suites breakfasts are head and shoulders above this place.) I did not receive the promised newspaper, as my Hyatt status promises, and my bill was in error--it took 20 minutes to sort it out, and it was still not right. The hotel clerk asked how my stay was, and I said, "mediocre." The response was, and this is fully accurate, "at least it wasn't terrible." And that about says it all. There are many better places to stay, even in this neighborhood, and until there is a renovation in the rooms and the attitude of the staff, I cannot recommend this property in any way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I love this hotel! I've stayed here a few times, but most recently in January 2013 for 1 night. We stayed in the King Terrace, if you stay here that is the room to stay in! Price isn't much more then a regular room, you get all the space, and a terrace with an awesome view! The staff is so kind and welcoming. We were having a girls night and had asked ahead of time for a DVD player so we could watch 80's movies late at night and they were sure to have it all set up before we checked in. Definetly stop into the indoor pool upstairs, there is something just so relaxing about it. The location is right at a metro stop so if you want to go into DC you are only a few metro stops away, you still get the "city" feel, but without the craziness of DC directly.
Now, if you are looking for super fancy, all the bells and whistles, this hotel is a little older, but I love the feel, I love the client service, and you must try the waffles from room service with strawberry's yum!!!!!!! see you all again in the spring!

All my best!

Room Tip: King Terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.