We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Decent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Location, Decent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hyatt hotels - to me- seem to have spotty service and are really hit or miss. This one, while still really dated, was basically pretty good.

Big, nice, flat screen television
Refrigerator
Large bathroom, well lit
Nice desk space, well lit
Room lighting was good (can you tell I'm big on lighting?)
Bed was comfortable
Pillows, linens, towels all good
Extra outlets had been added via a power strip attached to the night stand. Not exactly hi tech, but functional nonetheless
Polite, helpful staff
Decent lobby convenience store
Small but efficient lobby bar
Good meeting space (was there for a meeting)
Only ate food here in the meeting space but it was surprisingly good
Was on a lower level (4th) and street noise was not too bad
Very close to Metro
Good area/neighborhood

One thing that was odd was the safety lock on the door. They had the standard deadbolt, but the 'extra lock' was the old fashioned 'slide and chain'. Kinda weird.

I'd stay there again. Not five star, but definitely a fine place to stay.

Room Tip: Some travelers have said street noise is bad. I didn't experience this and I was on the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    171
    160
    75
    23
See reviews for
114
69
43
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Biscayne, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Friendliness and great service hard to find combined, and I found it here. From the Bell men to the receptionist to accommodate my request. Room impeccable.
The location couldn't be better, few steps from the Bethesta Metro.
Restaurants around the area for every taste and every budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Hyatt Regency in Bethesda has several great things going for it. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was pleasant. But above all, the location was tops for Bethesda. The hotel is right next to a red line metro stop and is within walking distance of restaurants, shops, and a movie theater. I used to live in DC, so I know the area pretty well, and I would definitely stay here again. I can't comment on value, because it was a work sponsored trip, so I never saw the room bill. I also didn't breakfast at the hotel, so I'm not sure about the food, but there is a (pricey) steak place on the premises, so guests won't starve. The workout room was small, without much equipment, which was probably the main detractor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Positives
+ The staff was universally friendly and helpful, from the doorman to the front desk and in between
+ The food at Morton's (steakhouse in the hotel) and from room service was quite good
+ The proximity to the Bethesda Metro stop and to the National Institutes of Health make it the best-situated hotel in Bethesda

Negatives
- Slightly scruffy room: chipped / gouged nightstand, stain on comforter, baggage skidmarks on one wall, one half of windo drape set didn't work
- High-priced, under-powered WiFi. The provider cut off my access, saying I was doing a "massive download that had made the hotel's system unstable." In reality, I was just reading my email

Bottom Line
-I'll probably stay there again due to its proximity to NIH, but I won't be doing cartwheels about the prospect.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have stayed here many times. The rooms are comfortable and good sized. Having Morton's and the daily grill for restaurants is an advantage, but a bit pricy. Many other good places to eat nearby. Service has always been pleasant. Location is very convenient to the Metro and to nearby Bethesda restaurants. the large atrium does increase ambient noise somewhat but it has never been a big problem. Rooms are a bit dated and starting to feel slightly run down.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the main street will be quieter. Rooms not directly on the atrium will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My mother booked this hotel without consulting Trip Advisor, so needless to say, I did not have high hopes for this place. When I drove up to it, it just looked shabby. Half the Hyatt sign was lit and the exterior looked like it belonged in 1980's Moscow. Nevertheless, I really did want to give this place a chance. The bellman was friendly and helped us with our bags, so I'll give them a point there. Another point the helpful front desk clerk.

The problems started when we got to the room. It was very dated and it was in desperate need of a renovation. There was a stain on the chair and the wallpaper in the bathroom was discolored. In addition, the automatic blinds did not work. The shower took 15 minutes to produce hot water and there was very little pressure.

The wifi did not work for me and even if it did work, the $10/night charge was excessive. Parking was also pricey at $20/day.

I will have to say though, the weirdest thing about this place was the fact that the only way to access the garage was to go outside, walk to public elevators (shared with the Metro) and go down to the garage level. This is a major safety concern, because you don't know who you will be sharing an elevator with.

In addition, my mother tried to go for a swim later in the day, and she said that she couldn't swim because the pool was 90 degrees. I'm not a swimmer, but according to her this is too hot to swim in.

If I paid $50 for this place on Priceline, I would consider it an adequate deal. However, the $129/night charge was very steep and this is definitely not a 3.5 star property. Hyatt is known for nice hotels, but this isn't one of them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and your great comments about our staff.
I wished the property itself have met your expectiations as our guests' satisfaction is our top priority.
Your comments are greatly apporeciated and will help us improve our service.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwich, ct
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt on Thanksgiving night and were satisfied with the room and location. Even though we arrived hours before check-in, they gave us our room straight away - thank you! Although we were only in town for one night, the hotel was conveniently located and our room was quiet, clean, spacious, dog-friendly, and the bathroom was huge. Beds were comfy, air conditioner/heater worked perfectly and we slept beautifully after a long day/night of eating. Our rate included breakfast, which offered plenty to choose from - bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, starbucks, fresh oj. The elevators were on the slow side, but other than that, we enjoyed the Bethesda Hyatt!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.