We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Located in the heart of bethesday and right next to the Bethesda Metro Stop. Typical Hyatt hotel. Staff is quick to help you with your bags and check-in is usually quick. Always make sure I use or get credit for my rewards points and get free internet. The Gym at the top of the building was refurbished a year ago. It's adequate for a hotel. The rooms are clean. There's a Morton's Steakhouse in the hotel or you can opt for the Daily Grill which is fun for drinks and appetizers.

Room Tip: if you ask for a room away from the elevators, you really will be "away".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    183
    167
    82
    24
See reviews for
124
72
44
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel over many years, and while it is still comfortable and convenient, I feel it needs some attention. First of all its location is great, right next to the Metro, and close to many Federal and commercial entities. The staff are welcoming and efficient. It is a typical older Hyatt with the soaring atrium decked out with artificial ivy. The elevators are rather slow and can become overburdened if a convention is in house. The rooms are a good size but, to my eyes, seem dated with dark colors and heavy old-fashioned furniture. The bathroom also looked old but was clean and bright. As has been the case on several stays, wallpaper in some areas is peeling from the wall which I think is unacceptable in a hotel of this class. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The room came with an air purifier as it was classified as a" hypo-allergenic". Curiously the carpet next to the window was damp. The housekeeping lady was charming and very efficient.
The Daily Grill is the in-house restaurant and generally I enjoy eating there. On this occasion a large party (a school reunion) basically overwhelmed the place, even though they had been specially seated at temporary tables. The staff were having difficulty coping and in the end I left after waiting a considerable time for service. This could have been avoided by providing a buffet service. I should emphasize that I had eaten there the previous night and received impeccable service and good food.
My major issue on this stay was that I went to get coffee at the Starbucks in the lobby (which was closed at 11am on a Sunday) I went to take a package of sweetener to use with the in-room coffee, and was appalled to have a cockroach crawl out of the packages and onto my hand. I understand that these creatures are almost universal but to find one in daylight in a very public area made me very uneasy.
In conclusion this hotel needs some investment and upgrades. It has little competition of an equivalent class in the area - in fact Bethesda lacks really good hotels - probably because it has guaranteed occupancy by all the visitors to NIH and other organizations in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A more convenient and comprehensive, preferably buffet, breakfast would have been a plus. However, the rooms were well-furnished, and the beds were very comfortable. All hotel staff I interacted with were very sweet and professional, especially Zena and Vanessa at the continental breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We, as members of the IPA (International Police Association) held our 50th anniversary meeting there recently. The hotel staff, the food, the cleanliness was were all remarkably high. I reported two problems with my room, a bad electrical outlet on the desk and a defective shower head. They were both replaced promptly. We were all duly impressed with this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Hyatt is not up to the standards of the brand. It is very much in need of a renovation. The carpets are stained, the furniture is chipped, etc. It is also a poorly designed space. The rooms circle a large atrium with check-in and the hotel bar in the center. While it might look impressive, the noise from the bar carries up into the guest rooms late into the night. If you are a light sleeper, it can be quite disturbing. The hotel has two very nice features. The first is its location, right on top of a metro stop. (I have stayed here twice and have never been bothered by noise from the train.) The second is the fitness center. It is on the top floor with several treadmills and elliptical machines, it is a nice way to watch the sun come up in the morning. There is also a pool that is well tended and a separate room with weights. There is an Equinox a couple of blocks away—if you have a membership at another Equinox you can ask for a guest pass.

Room Tip: Rooms surrounding the atrium are noisy, ask for one off the main halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern,Pa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is billed as being luxury accomodations. While the hotel is very nice and very clean, I wouldn't call it luxury. If I were taken to the room blindfolded and opened up my eyes inside, I would think I was at any number of Hamptons I have stayed at which I also don't consider luxury.(Luxury = Ritz Carlton, Waldorf etc...) Our room was large and comfortable, my husband and I both slept well on the comfy king size bed which is rare for us in most hotels.The bathroom showed some wear and need of updating but beyond that I have no complaints about the room. The pool hours were rather frustrating. Most hotel pools are open all day every day however this one had split hours only til 5- 9 PM on Friday. Included continental breakfast was nice and included a breakfast sandwich, fresh fruit bowl, coffee and juice, plenty for us to fill up on for the day. They also served Starbucks coffee with Torani syrups which was a nice bonus. Had I not brought my own Verizon Jetpack, I would have probably also been pissed to find that internet access in your room was $9.95. The best thing this hotel has going for it is its staff. Everyone from the front desk to the bellman (sweet Raul), to the girls running the breakfast station was wonderfully friendly and helpful .Location to DC is awesome with Metro station right out the front door. If I ever go back to Bethesda, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: we had a corner room number 408 away from the large and sometimes noisy atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. My room was large and clean apart from the desk and nightstand having a thin coat of dust. The room was quiet from hotel and outside noise, just the heating clicking on and off woke me up every time the first night.

The biggest issue was the hot water in the shower in the evening. It would run hot for a minute or two and then get progressively colder. 2 nights it went to lukewarm, the third night it was ice cold. Others did not have this problem in the morning. The wifi did not work reliably in the evenings either - it would connect, but pages would not load. So, was unable to do work I needed to do.

The conference room arrangement is awkward as the ball room is below the meeting rooms and has a separate elevator for access. The food was variable - one meal was great, the other not so much. The same 3 food choices were served at all 3 receptions on 3 different days.

The location is great - right on top of a metro station and lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.