We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a few day here as part of a mid-sized conference and had a very nice experience. The front desk got my room early and was very patient and gracious as I struggled several times with my electronic access card (sometimes these things need a special 'touch' and I just couldn't get it). The room was much better than average, with a very comfortable bed, 'comped' WIFI, and free WSJ (thankfully, not the USA Today) available at the front desk. I have to say the hotel also did a wonderful job keeping 300 conference guests comfortable and well fed because the food and service were first-rate. Was there a negative? Sure..the fitness center could have been a little larger. Bottom line: I was very satisfied here and will happily come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    201
    181
    90
    24
See reviews for
135
81
45
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for work recently, which was an alright experience. The hotel is near a metro station and short walking distance from many restaurants and bars.

The purpose of my visit was a series of meetings which were held in the basement levels of the hotel, which are serviced by separate elevators, and steps/escalators only to the first floor below ground. This was not ideal, but the rooms were the usual sort of style.

The breakfast buffet for our meeting was small in selection. Lunch was generally very appetizing!

Having been asked if I wanted a daily newspaper, I accepted but never got one delivered.

The pool area was only accessible for limited hours during the day, which I don't understand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda last month. It was a good stay. Easy check in - my room was ready by 11:30 AM! Room was clean - but needed updating in a major way. Bathroom needed it the most. The ice machine on our floor (10) didn't work - so we had to use the one on another floor. The continental breakfast is very sparse - don't expect a lot of choices. There is a metro station right underneath the hotel - so location was great! Many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Hyatt Bethesda while attending meetings at the National Institute of Health. It is extremely convenient due to metro stop directly below the property and NIH shuttle bus to and from the property. Check in was also painless. That is why it is ranked average. However, the room (308) feel below typical Hyatt standards - Old carpet, cracked tiles in bathroom, grout missing in baseboard tiles in bathroom, mold in tile surrounding tub, wallpaper beginning to lift in bathroom. Lack of maintenance made the bathroom feel grimy. When asked upon checkout about my stay, I told the desk clerk that the room was not up to Hyatt standards, and she shrugged her shoulders and said "I know." That said, the bedding was in good shape and the bed was comfortable for one person. The right side of the bed has had more use than the left side, so it would be good to rotate mattress. I will check other properties near NIH before returning in several weeks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pendleton, ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband, teenage son, and I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda. The room was clean, very quiet, and comfortable. Bathroom was a little dated but, again, was clean and had a good shower. You do need to specify that you want a quiet room (if that is what you want!). The casual restaurant, The Daily Grill, offered high quality dinner at a fair price (we were actually pleasantly surprised at the quality - assuming that it was going to be typical hotel, tourist food, but instead it was obviously homemade and just really good!) Very conveniently located to American University and Bethesda itself was great. If you are parents to an AU student, I recommend staying at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda.

Room Tip: request a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I remember when Hyatt start rolling out hotels with towering atriums years ago and at that time, it was cool; a great wow factor since it was new. Now, entering hotels like the Hyatt Bethesda, you are transported back in time to when hanging clear strings of beads from the ceiling was an accepted interior element - the hospitality industries' tip of the hat to glam-rock perhaps?
They have attempted to update the hotel here and there but have left some of the nostalgic elements.

Ok, so why should you stay here if you are contemplating it:
- location location location: it sits right on top the the Bethesda Metro center so you can get into DC fast without paying the high price of staying downtown
- you are within walking distance of good Bethesda restaurants and bars
- if you are a diamond or have a breakfast package, the hotel offers a self serve breakfast including fruit, bagels and other pasteries, starbucks, etc. - great if you are on the run; they will give you bag if you want to take stuff back to your room;note that you can get a full breakfast in the adjacent "Daily Grind" but you have to pay for it and it isn't very good.
- self park when you get there by driving under the overhand and the turn right down the ramp.It will only cost you 12 bucks a nite (as of Oct 2012). Way better than some of the places that charge 40 to valet park.
- the hotel is relatively quiet even though it is on a busy intersection. We had a suite on the 6th floor overlooking the intersection and the windows did a nice job obscuring most of the noise. We could still hear some motorcycles rumbling by but not bad. When we turned on the fan, it provided a good amount of white noise. If you want an extrememly quiet room, ask for a room overlooking the office building on the back for the hotel.
- the staff have always been nice and attentive.
- there is a Mortons off the lobby if you want a steak.

Why should you avoid this place:
- we found the beds to be borderline uncomfortable and even the feather pillows were extremely firm; we slept ok but we have had better beds at similar Hyatts like the Hyatt Milwaukee.But for a short stay, the beds were tolerable. If they replaced the bedding, then this place really would be very good even though your feel at times you are in the 70s/80s
-the rooms appear to have been updated here and there at some point but other aspects of the room might appear a bit dated like the bathroom

Have fun and play some Journey on your car stereo when you are pulling into the hotel and you'll feel right at home.

Room Tip: Ask for room in back overlooking office building. A few rooms have walk out balconies complete with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located to dinning, shopping, metro, and the new Walter Reed hospital. However, the paper thin walls floor and ceiling give you an all too cozy experience with your neighbors. The exquisitely small living space, dirty carpet, and bathroom's state of disrepair led to an early checkout. Not worth the room price, wouldn't recommend this location.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.