We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for a family visit to DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Convenient location for a family visit to DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great staff, easy access to the metro, many nice family restaurants within walking distance. Parking is expensive and valet is not worth the extra $10 per day. The indoor pool could use a make over but it was nice to have a lifeguard for the kids. It's a standard Hyatt Regency....you get exactly what you would expect.

Room Tip: Top floor but I think you need to be a Hyatt loyalty member
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    239
    201
    93
    32
See reviews for
167
88
50
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Fantastic location right on metro line but rooms are so old and out of date. Picture old wallpaper, wrinkled and stained. Burgundy carpets, gold cover at end of bed. Ripped lampshade. Wood furniture pretty scratched and scuffed with water stains on a night table so small with lamp, phone and clock that there is barely has room for a glass of water. Shower had problematic faucet. No robe. This hotel desperately needs a makeover, but staff really go out of their way to be helpful. Hotel's room service pretty good but portions are small.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel several years ago and enjoyed it so I booked it again for a recent visit. Nothing has changed and that is the problem. The hotel is in great need of an update - carpet is worn in hallways and my room, furniture is worn, the tracking groves on the closet's mirrored doors were dirty and perhaps rusty - I could go on. That said, the staff at the Hyatt is wonderful - prompt, courteous and going out of their way to make sure you have what you need. Employees like this with such fine attitudes deserve a better place to work! Room service came from the attached Daily Grill and it was good and quick. The hotel's location couldn't be better as it is situated right next to the Metro station and for my business which was right across the street. Hope the owners of this hotel know they could have a 4+ star property with a little bit of refurbishment - are you listening?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Hyatt Regency Bethesda is generally nice. It has the standard Regency large atrium lobby with the glass elevators. What was pretty trendy and interesting 20 or so years ago feels a little tired at this point. While still very nice, it feels like the decor and style is a little bit stuck in the 1980s. One drawback is they still charge $12.99 for wireless internet usage in the room. That is pretty retro.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this property for a conference and although the hotel is situated in a quite convenient location, the hotel itself is in major need of an overhaul. The hotel layout is the one with the large atrium in the center of the hotel with 3 glass enclosed elevators. There is a bar/lounge in the lobby which serves as a breakfast express in the morning and a restaurant on the premises. The hotel has a pool and a small fitness center with some weight equipment in the top floor. The hotel is situated atop the metro station for Bethesda which is quite convenient for those who want to explore the Washington area.

Check in was rather dull, not too sure if staff member was sure of what she needed to do to check me in. Requested some information from the concierge service was asked to return later since they were going to research the venue and travel information that I needed, but when I returned no one was at the desk and the person at the front desk had no information of the whereabouts of the concierge. So needless to say I was not able to get the requested information from them. The other negative factor was that the 3 elevators are not enough when the hotel is somewhat full; there is quite a wait either at the lobby level or at your floor for them.

Had one of the terrace king rooms which was quite large with an nice expansive terrace with 2 chaise lounges and a nice table for 4, quite enjoyable during the summer months however during the days that I was there we had a significant amount of rain, and I was not able to enjoy it as much as I would like to. The furniture had its “tear and wear “, with scratches, dents and some stains here and there. There are quite a number of restaurants around the perimeter of the hotel that I opted to use for lunch and/or dinner, rather than the hotel restaurant, so I can’t comment on it.


Overall, not too sure if I would return to this property. Would consider if refurbished but otherwise there are quite a number of hotels that are in significant better shape than this one for about the same rate if not cheaper.

Room Tip: Large terrace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was a little cautious about staying at t his hotel based on some of the reviews. Someone described the hotel as the "Bates Motel"? I stayed here because of the convenience to the Metro line and the fact that I didn't have a car. When I checked in I was pleasantly surprised. I did ask for a room that was quiet and on one of the higher floors. The room I stayed in was nice and quiet. I did hear guests cming and going later in the evening but had a pleasant night sleep. While the room has aged, it was very clean and I have no complaints. Staff was very friendly! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor in a corner. I stayed in room 1116 and it was very quiet. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a nice, pet friendly hotel in Bethesda. At first we were told we had to book a pet friendly room several days in advance but after a nice chat and a small time on hold the darling receptionist booked us in. Pets receive a brass tag to wear in the hotel and are provided a plush bed, bowl of water and dog bones as well. From the front desk to the doormen, all were welcoming and friendly. The streets are great for walking but for quick trips there is a grassy patch just adjacent to the front door by the parking garage entrance. The hotel had a conference so we had to book the Romance Package, with valet parking, champagne and breakfast. It was all great! Check for rooms on the internet first...when I called the main Hyatt number they said several times the hotel was booked...but when I called the hotel directly we were able to put it all together. Yes, there was a pet fee, but the $30 was worth it to stay a such a lovely, well-located hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.