We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bethesda Hyatt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bethesda Hyatt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A little far from the national mall, but a great price. Right at the metro stop and if you walk a few block, there are several restaurants of all types plus some cute shops. Disadvantage, they charge $10 a day for Internet (we didn't use it). We were Ina king room with a sofa sleeper. The room was huge and quiet even though it was right over the main entrance to the motel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    198
    180
    86
    24
See reviews for
130
77
44
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

As in most (if not all) Hyatt Regencies, this hotel has the open interior/hanging gardens design and glass walled elevators. Very attractive. Great selection of wall and floor treatments, good accent lighting. Very polite and professional staff...extra staff called over when there was a line at the front desk (corporate training).

The room was quite comfortable with good bed, large TV, great bathroom with excellent water pressure in the shower for a high-rise property. The only negative is for the in-room WiFi (additional $10 per night) which was unreliable and slow. Also as in many Hyatts, access to the parking garage required a transfer to an exterior elevator. Overnight self parking is $12, $20 if you want to leave and come back.

There is a lobby bar as well as 2 very nice restaurants (Morton's steaks and something Grill) on the lobby level. I didn't try either, but they looked nice. Overall, a very good hotel, right at a Metro (subway) stop so getting into DC is easy.

Regular rates are a bit high, but the online travel sites can get you some deals. Definitely recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel staff couldn't be nicer and the food for the conference was good. A/C was noisy, pillows were like rocks, carpet was stained and overall the rooms needed updating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The staff at the front desk was very friendly and accomodating. The location near the Metro stop is excellent, and many restaurants and grocery stores are a short walk away. The room was spacious, with a comfortable bed, small (personal) coffeemaker and TV. The bathroom was also spacious and in good condition. The room furniture and carpet need some updating, and we could have used more electric plugs on the walls (used the ones on the desk often). The main problem is that you have to pay at least $10/day if you want internet service in your room. There is free wifi in the lobby, but the lobby is not too big, therefore it's not the most comfortable spot for wifi. Our room was in a corner, so it was not too noisy but we always travel with ear plugs now! Good choice if you get a decent price, with friendly service although there may be better options in the same area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I attended a job fair in Bethesda last month. The fair was just OK but the hotel was a nice surprise. It is squeaky clean, it couldn't be more convenient to the subway/bus hub - literally across the street. Staff, almost without exception, could not have been more pleasant. Over all impression when I left was that it was a good hotel that should be a great hotel. That's basically all you really need to know. If you would like the details that I have included for the benefit of management, read on...

It has, like many Hyatts, an atrium lobby with glass elevators. Balcony hallways overlook the lobby. I think management has missed an opportunity to go from good to great by not putting effort into a kind of hanging garden effect from the balconies. At least the first four floors could have hanging *flowering* vines and not just ivy that is mixed silk and real. Go the extra mile and make it great.

A water feature in the lobby would have been a nice touch too so that when you look over the balcony, you see the fountain but more importantly, you hear the water when walking around the balconies. Again, going from good to great.

We ate lunch in the restaurant and it was ok but the service was SLOW - I mean, twice. The first attempt to have a drink and a snack failed because no one would wait on us so we finally walked out. Don't know what that was about. The next time, we went to the bar and had drinks and lunch and, while we were waited on, the food was slow in coming and the bar tender seemed frazzled. There just wasn't enough going on to warrant that level of frazzled. He was inefficient in his work so everything took twice as long. He was, however, pleasant and polite. More staff training is needed to help staff work more efficiently.

I have to say that I'm absolutely annoyed with the latest version of hotel room coffeemakers. The little slide tray and individual paper cups isn't working for me. The first morning the machine didn't work. The next, we found one regular and one decaf tray. The coffee in the room thing is a huge deal for me. I don't function before my coffee and I don't want to have to go out and get it. I just want to lay around, sip my coffee, listen to the news and think about my day. No restaurant, no room service that doesn't come for ages, no people. Just me and my coffee. So, heads up Hyatt.

I *would* have gotten free breakfast if I were a "go down to breakfast" person... Because I joined the Hyatt rewards club when I checked in, I was offered free internet, free breakfast and a free welcome drink. Not a bad deal. BUT again, why is a hotel charging for internet today anyway???? NO!!! It isn't like the average person has a choice anymore about using it or not. I HAVE to access internet to check in for my flight. I communicate with my family and friends with internet. I make reservations with internet. It is no longer a "luxury" item. It is a necessity. Would you charge for toilet paper or towels? NO. Internet falls under that same category today. Offer internet free and find another source for the lost revenue. I promise it will come back to you because the public will appreciate it. I mean, if a Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn can offer free internet - AND IT WORKS, then so can HYATT. And, I assume that you are offering free internet access to your corporate accounts - companies that can easily afford to pay for this and take it as a business write off - why are you punishing individual guests that are there on holiday or don't have a corporate affiliation? That's right up there with Exxon not paying taxes but the average citizen is slammed with them... Maybe you could rethink the internet charge?

I hope that the review has been helpful for both management and potential guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our room was dreary, with rundown furniture, stains in the carpet, holes in the sheets, terrible pillows and a rattling air conditioner. On our last day, when we returned at 9:30pm our room had still not been made up, nor had 3 others near ours.

The front desk staff is friendly and accommodating.
There are some nice restaurants within walking distance, but so are several hotels in the same category as the Hyatt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Walking up from the Metro makes this location great, especially when visiting the NIH. But the hotel rooms are typical Hyatt, the restaurant is an adjoining Capital Grill and the stays are noisy.

1) Good rooms, comfy bed, nary a single firm pillow in the room.
2) Restaurant opens too late for early meetings. The service was ok, but slightly slow. Room service was better.
3) Sirens are abundant.

Room Tip: Ask to not look down on Wisconsin Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.