We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel on Metro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston,Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel on Metro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel made me feel like my business matters to them. I was in town to attend a function in Washington DC, which I was unable to plan in advance more than a few weeks. I found that the downtown hotels were quite expensive, but I found this Hyatt Regency for about half the price. It is literally on top of a metro stop. I decided to use the metro as my means of transportation, and this hotel was perfect. It's eight stops from Metro Center, which doesn't take long at all. There are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel restaurants were a bit pricey for my taste. I drank at the bar, and it was quite nice. The hotel is very luxurious. My room was very large, and had a private terrace which was absolutely lovely. At check-in, they signed me up for their rewards program, so my WIFI would be free, instead of $9.95/24hrs. Every one of the hotel staff were most helpful, and friendly. I very much felt at home and at ease there, and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    245
    201
    94
    32
See reviews for
169
88
51
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Given the reviews here, I was expecting it to be a lot worse, but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are not extra spacious, but well designed and kept with crispy clean beds. There were indeed some buzzing noises from both the elevator and the electricity room, but if you manage to stay away from those (and loud neighbors), you are ok. The parking is not the cheapest. Proximity of metro station is a plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is located in Maryland, but literally right above a Metro station. Very convenient! Staff is friendly, helpful. Place is clean, rooms are clean. Down side is you might have a long walk from the elevator to your room as the elevator is not centrally located--the rooms are all around the perimeter (and the elevator is at one end) and the center is open and looks down into the lobby--all eleven floors.

Wifi is available for $9.95 a nite. If you have more than one wifi-device, it will make you "accept the charges" again. Don't worry, you can have the front desk adjust it at checkout where only one charge is made.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel was quite nice in location and that helped in making up for how dated the property was. The room was clean and spacious, although a bit awkward in its layout. The bathroom, again very clean, but small and dated. The staff was excellent and very attentive, the valet guys not so much. Breakfast was okay, not what I had expected for this type of hotel. It was a buffet style with limited options. I thought it was a cooked to order type that came with the room.
Room service was not that great, food wasn't edible one morning and they did credit it back to us. My suggestion is to pay the extra charge and get a mini fridge for beverages and small food items. Much more convenient way to do it at this hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor is better and away from the elevator will help. This hotel is surrounded by busy stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I was staying with a group for a family get together and would have to say the hotel is just fine. It's feeling a little tired, but relative to the rate I paid it was just fine. The location is great, as it's walking distance to lots of restaurants, shops and the Metro. It was about a 45 minute drive from Baltimore Airport as well. The beds were comfy, and it was convenient to have a restaurant and coffee bar in the hotel. The hotel also had a small pool and workout room.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room. They're quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a perfectly acceptable business style hotel, centrally located right next to the Metro stop. The desk staff were friendly. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and spacious. As is usually the case, the A/C is not very quiet and the room is a little stuffy. (Of course, windows don't open.) As is usual in hotels of this type, you pay $10/day for internet. My main gripe is the ridiculous "happy hour", in which you pay full price for the first drink ($7.50 a beer) and only get 1/2 off the second. However, if you buy a drink for your friend, they won't give you the half off! For this reason alone I gave it only three stars...

Room Tip: Skip the "happy" hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed two nights. Helpful friendly front desk. Asked for quiet room. It was super quiet the first night, strange metal clunking noise all through second night - coming from the fan I think. Thin walls so if someone is talking next door, you know it. Tired decor. Medium clean. Bathrooms really need updating, gaps in tiles, mildew etc. Clean bed, but mattress not encased, and has those foam tops that are so hot! Breakfast costs extra, and it's one of those in the lobby croissant from a cabinet balance your lap top and coffee type things.Slow internet and costs extra. Right beside metro, so very convenient for getting into city, and walking distance to small downtown of restaurants and shops. Works fine but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.