We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
chambersburg,pa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“winter weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Sometimes you just have to 'get outta dodge'...when the hometown routine gets stale, it is nice to visit a bustling area like Bethesda. But even nicer, is not having to deal with the congestion that comes with a stay in Georgetown. The Hyatt Regency was reasonably priced and offers nice upgrades to Gold Passport members at fair cost. Since we only stayed one night the early checkin and late checkout allowed for 2 days exploring the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions to local attractions. I personally love to drive up, give the keys to the valet and never see the car again when im in a Metro area. The entertainment within the Hyatt and nearby was sufficent to meet our needs. The Shopping was unique with lots of one of a kind boutique stores and an occasional francise retail store. Leroy the doorman was always ready with a smile and a hello, and enjoyed exchanging conversation as we would come and go. The Sunday Washington Post was a nice perk to go along with a lazy Sunday morning at the wonderful continental breakfast...not overdone but good quality. I stayed there once long ago (10 yrs?) it has changed a little but i was comfortable with updates that had been made and did not feel it was outdated. Bethesda Row is another story and review, and i would most definitely recommend the Hyatt if you plan a stay in DC.

Room Tip: upgrade to king deluxe with the brkfast was well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    239
    201
    93
    32
See reviews for
167
88
50
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Bethesda Maryland. Excellent staff, beautiful hotel, nice room, better than average continental breakfast (included for 2). Hotel is moments fom DC and (Metro) subway is right there. Parking is not included but reasonable at $12 for 24 hours and is located in garage directly under hotel. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance if you do not want to eat at one of the Hotel's fine dining choices. Hotel has indoor pool and gym. No fridge or microwave in room. Must pay for internet acess

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I've stayed here several times. This is large, rather generic Hyatt hotel adjacent to the Bethesda Metro stop. The location is convenient to both DC and local surrounding e.g. NIH. The rooms are good sized, but the hotel is a bit dated. The Daily Grill in the hotel is not very good, but there are many decent restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has a small indoor pool and a fitness center on the top floor. Overall, not my top choice in DC, but I would stay here if the rate was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the Bethesda Hyatt a few weeks ago and were very disappointed in the outdated hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Everything went flawlessly about this visit. The room was extremely quiet (a big plus for this country girl), food at the grill was great. Most importantly for a quick trip, it was so easy to get from DCA to the hotel and back on the Metro. The one minus was that the coffee brewing setup in the room was not so great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Bethesda in October. We had a really reasonable rate and the hotel is really nice, exactly what you expect from a Hyatt Regency. The staff was nice and the room was great. The best part was the location. On previous visits to DC, I always wanted to stay in DC near the attractions. This hotel is directly above a Metro stop on the red line. It was easy to get into DC to see whatever we wanted. The area around the hotel in Bethesda is very nice also, lots of restaurants. We took the Metra from Reagan Airport and back. Incredibly convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was my second time staying at this hotel. The rooms are really nice and the beds are comfortable. Even though room was very close to the elevators and near several function rooms I was not disturbed by noise. The hotel is right above a metro station which allows easy access into DC and Reagan Airport. This time I took the metro to and from Reagan and I think both trips took less time (and were way less expensive!) than taking a taxi. The area is full of nice restaurants at different price levels which is also a plus.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.