We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel, but families of 4, please read this!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel, but families of 4, please read this!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Hyatt in Bethesda was a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff. From the quick check in (used the computer at the front desk) to the concierge (clearly a Bethesda native!) to the easy check out, it couldn't have been better.

The hotel is right at the Metro station, so easy access. Parking was $10 ($15 if you wanted in & out privledges).

There was only 1 downfall for this hotel - the size of the double beds. They were more of a bed & a half, NOT A DOUBLE! There is no way that 2 adults would fit comfortably in these beds. The desk was able to move our room to 2 double beds w/ a pull out sofa couch, at no additional cost. This helped a little, because we have 2 tweens - but had we had 4 adults, we still would have been in trouble!! I would guess this is their way of making you book 2 rooms for 4 adults, but families with older children will run into a problem.

Also, we thought we got a decent price through the direct hotel website, but talked to a couple at the pool that booked through hotwire & got it for $30 less than we did!

Room Tip: book through hotwire!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    282
    217
    100
    35
See reviews for
201
94
53
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest, va
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here 2 nights for business in Bethesda. First the service people were very nice. From the front desk person, coffee attendant and door men. All very friendly and helpful. Other than that this hotel really needs an update. My room was just up from the lobby and was pretty noisy. They upgraded my room to a larger business suite. However the room was VERY dated. Old tube TV. Dated linens. Furniture had seen better days. Needs a good overhaul to really cater to the business traveler. Also, the internet was TERRIBLE and very slow. I would not make the choice to book here again, if it were up to me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Great crabcakes in the restaurant and excellent cappuccino. The concierge desk was very helpful especially Jack who got us sorted for a quick ride to the airport.
However the air conditioning in the room was extremely noisy and during the night, each time it clunked on I thought it was the alarm on the radio, so I am feeling a bit sleep challenged.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I needed a quick hotel room due to a winter storm and power outages in our area. We booked the Hyatt as it was close to our home incase we needed to go back for anything (or to check the status of the outage). The hotel itself is large and open - there is a Morton's and Daily Grill on the premisses for those who just want to stay in. Upon checking in, we went to our room and I just thought it was not clean at all. The floors looked like they hadn't been vaccuumed in weeks - I mean there was a lot of visible dust and debris on the floor - to the point where I did not want walk around even in my socks. The bathroom was stained, old and a little outdated, but since we paid a very low price and were only staying there for one night, we decided that it was okay. (Our sheets appeared to be changed and clean!) Unfortunately, because of the level of cleanliness, I would not go back. The location of the hotel is very convenient for anyone who wants to stay in the Bethesda area - there are many restaurants, shops and movie theatre within walking distance. The metro is also right outside the door of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was perfect for a business meeting. It is convenient to the metro stop and lots of restaurants and shops. I was there for a conference in the Crystal Ballroom and the food was incredible. Best hotel conference food I've had by far. It was even presented beautifully on plates. The food staff was friendly. The space was very pretty as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberville, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as home base during a family visit to DC. The location to the Metro rail was really nice. The hotel staff were so friendly, helpful with suggestions, assistance at check-in/out, carrying luggage....very great experience with the staff. The rooms were average - very clean and well appointed as you would expect with Hyatt. They were nothing special, though. No extra nice touches or significant room upgrades that I could see. The area is ok - but you need a car or other transport to see any local sights or go to dining, etc. in Bethesda. I know all hotels in DC come at a higher price, but this one just seemed too pricey for what it was. That aside, I would stay again if it worked out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed with my 2 kids and husband in late June just as a getaway. I got to express that this is one of the strangest hotels I've ever stayed at.

We were greeted many times throughout the hotel, but never offered any help with small things like luggage or when a service person was heading down the elevator they did not wait for us.
Every question was answered but it seemed as though every time I asked the concierge a question (Kate), she was socking it right back to me and asking me in reverse! Such as, "what is the internet password for today?" and she'd say, "didn't I see you yesterday? I thought you knew that it changes everday" I actually felt SORRY to ask a question. She is VERY egotistical.

Parking is a nightmare with the customer service. I was told by the front office manager that they are a separate company and that they had no control over them. The price isn't too bad at $10 a day, but the service was atrocious.

I wish I could say we had a better time. I'm a Platinum member in their 3 tier program and enjoy staying at other Hyatts. I can't say I will return to this odd one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicholas_koonz, Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. As a valued Platinum Gold Passport member with Hyatt we appreciate the feedback and would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly. If you could please contact the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.