We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free WiFi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“No free WiFi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

Now having WiFi in the room (for free) is as essential as having running water!
They should not charge for it, specially when it is free in the lobby!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    201
    181
    90
    24
See reviews for
135
81
45
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

What happened to the little fridges and mini bars?? We stayed at this hotel thinking that we'd be using the metro to get to DC, instead, we opted to drive in. The Metro is located right outside the hotel, which is a plus if you decide to use it and takes about 15 minutes (7 or 8 stops) to DC. The drive to DC is nice as you pass through Embassy Row, the National Cathedral, tons of shopping in Chevy Chase. I believe it's about 2 or 3 miles to DC but takes you about +/-20 mins with all the lights/traffic.
We have a 9-month old, they provided a play pen (which was fine - we brought our own sheets to use OVER theirs). We requested a high-chair - oh my - not safe at all. One of those metal chairs with no table or safety harness - not those that the restaurants have. Our son practically flipped out of the chair if we didn't hold him still - end result is my husband held him and I fed him. There was no mini-fridge, so food/milk storage was out of question. We used the ice bucket and our cooler.
The room wasn't exceptionally clean - I found strands of someones grayish hair on the desk and plenty of dust to go around - ick. The little armchair sofa they have there - comfortable but it's an itchy fabric. I would have expected an updated room with a flat screen TV as most hotels now have, well, get ready for your 27" box tv. Women - if you need shower caps - bring your own. The soap dries out your skin, make sure you bring in your own lotion. On the plus side, the bed was extremely comfortable, had very good water pressure and hot water. The room is oriented towards the working person. View - none (our room was in the 300). We didn't have time to check out the pool/spa but it's located on the top floor. Parking is not free, you can valet for $20 or park yourself for $15.
We had breakfast at the Daily Grill (in the hotel lobby)- delicious french toast. Ask to borrow their high chair for your room not the hotel's. My husband had their omelet and he loved it - service was great! They also have a Morton's steakhouse and their own little restaurant. The price was $$$ but I guess it comes with the hotel's 4 star rating.
We are planning on going back to DC but we are not going to stay at this hotel, instead, we will be staying in DC. For the extra $20, we'll be right within walking distance to all the monuments. I would give this a 3 star rating since it's not renovated especially for their price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Well, I guess that could be a title for a review of any hotel, couldn't it? Anyway, let's start with the good points:

The reception staff were extremely helpful. There was no waiting to be seen, and I was very impressed with the efficient and friendly service. The lady who checked me in, Rachel, had a badge saying that she was a trainee. If that's what they're like then they're still in training, then the fully trained ones must be absolutely awesome.

The main interior of the hotel had the "wow" factor. The hotel has an atrium design, which is fantastic to look at.

The swimming pool was very pleasant. Not exactly the biggest pool in the world, but actually not a bad size for a city centre hotel. I was the only person using it when I was there, so it was quite big enough for me.

The bedroom was a good size, I had no problems with noise, and the bed was comfortable.

However ... (and now we're getting on to the bad points)

The bathroom felt a bit dated. It looked like it had been built to quite a high standard at one point, but that was probably a great many years ago.

I was also surprised that the room had no safe. Having said that, I'm European and not used to travelling in the US, so maybe US hotels don't generally have safes, but it would be rare for a hotel of this class not to have in-room safes in Europe.

The room had wireless internet access, which was reliable, but expensive ($15 per day). What I found really unpleasant about the wireless internet charges was that you paid per device, and not per logon name, so if you wanted to connect both a laptop and a smartphone to the internet, then you had to pay twice.

The high standards of service from the reception staff were not replicated at the bar. I did try to get a beer there one evening, but gave up as I got bored of waiting. They weren't even busy: it's just that the barman was chatting to a friend and obviously thought that was more exciting than serving beers to customers.

Oh, and just to finish on another good point, breakfast was awesome, although you have to make sure you go to the right place for breakfast. They have two places serving breakfast: the bar serves a rather uninspiring selection of pastries, but the restaurant serves a fantastic selection of delicious cooked breakfasts.

Anyway, overall I don't think this place was particularly brilliant, but it certainly wasn't bad. It seemed a bit overpriced for what I was used to, but as I said, I'm not really used to travelling in the US, and maybe US hotels are just generally more expensive than European ones.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Have stayed here numerous times. During most recent visit, noticed that guest rooms had been tastefully updated. I take the Amtrak to Union Station in DC; it is a straight shot to Bethesda on the Metro Red Line (much quicker and cheaper than a taxi). Metro is less than a block from Hyatt. Has Morton's Steak House on premises; good for business dinners if you have the time to spend and they have not cut back on your expense account too much. With the hotel's center atrium, it is a long walk from the elevator to some of the rooms, so I always request a room near the elevator. On last visit, saw several media celebrities who were in town to cover golf's US Open. Not the most deluxe or state-of-the-art hotel. but dependable and convenient for the business traveler.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicholas_koonz, Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you for continuing to choose Hyatt Regency Bethesda! We have recently updated some of our guestrooms and look forward to further improving our product. If you are looking for another option for a business breakfast, lunch or dinner , we recommend our Daily Grill. We are glad to accommodate your requests and happy that our location is convenient for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed here during a conference . There were some high points--the staff in general was wonderful. My room, however, was very small and strangely shaped. The desk was placed in the hallway, making impossible to eat dinner and watch TV at the same time.
I would probably stay here again if I booked a different room type.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business and this time was really disappointed. I have a Hyatt gold membership card and thought I would get a perk or two (which was sortof true, a newspaper and late checkout option). However, my room on the 4th floor had water that took 10 min to heat up. The meeting I attended in the Ballroom smelled like gym socks and all attendees were freezing. There was no cel phone reception in this room either. The catered lunch from the hotel was the worst I have ever had...the 2nd day everyone voted to eat outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicholas_koonz, Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you for being a loyal Hyatt Gold Passport member. We appreciate you sharing these details about your experience and regret that you encountered the mentioned inconveniences. The feedback you shared is much appreciated as we take these comments very serious and have followed up with the respected areas. To further address your inconveniences, please contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Thanks for a wonderful stay at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I love the fact that it is located right above the Metro Station. Very convenient for excursions to Washington DC. They even called the room to see if I was having a pleasant stay. Walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicholas_koonz, Executive Assisant Manager, Rooms at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Bethesda! We are happy to see that our location was convenient for you and that you had a wonderful stay. Your feedback is appreciated as we aim to interact with all of our guests to assure your experience is worthwhile. We are pleased to see that you had the opportunity to explore the area and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.