We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Latham, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Bethesda while visiting DC. The location is terrific, the metro stop is downstairs and there are several restaurants within walking distance. After walking around DC all day it was wonderful to have a short walk back to the room from the metro. The room was great, the beds are very comfortable. We had the Cherry Blossom Package which included breakfast. At first glance the breakfast looks very small, but it is just in a compact area; there really is everything you need. The staff was top notch throughout the hotel. My only complaint is that you have to pay to use the wireless-$9.95 per day. We travel quite a bit and these days wireless is always free, we haven't paid to use wireless in years. I'm not sure why they charge such a fee but it is annoying. Even to use the computers in the business center you have to swipe your credit card.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    184
    168
    82
    24
See reviews for
124
72
44
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We traveled to Washington DC for Spring Break and stayed at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda. Having an 8 and a 10 year old, we were really looking forward to a trip to the city, but staying so close to the Metro. We checked in on a Friday and parked in the lower garage. We didn't need our car again until the day we checked out. The Red-Line is in the basement of this hotel and is so very convenient to leave your room, get on an elevator down an escalator and on the train. Truly fabulous. When we checked in, Michael made sure that we had a room that best suited our needs. He was very thoughtful and courteous. He was very much appreciated. As the trip went on and we had questions, we would rely on the very helpful concierge and Suzie at the front desk was also incredibly knowledgeable, patient and kind. The young lady at the continental breakfast was also very pleasant and greeted us every morning of our trip with a warm message. She remembered our room number from day 1! Very personable on every level with every member of this staff. During the trip I needed to use the business center and the printer was out of ink. After calling the front desk, a gentleman was in the business center in less than 5 minutes and he had the ink I needed. The maid staff was wonderful and the turndown service was an added treat with chocolates on the pillows before bed. Another bonus that wasn't expected was the lifeguard that was permanently stationed at the pool. I was able to relax in the hot tub, while my young swimmers played and I knew they were being watched.. We will travel to DC again, and when we do, you will find us at the Hyatt Regency Dethesda! Thanks so much all of you for making our spring break trip so perfect!

Room Tip: The pool is on the 11th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicholas_koonz, Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words about our hotel and the associates that you encountered during your stay with us. It sure sounds like you had a lovely time visiting Washington D.C and with us. Hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

From the moment we registered, our four day stay was wonderful. We read reviews about the hotel rooms being small and in need of updates. Our corner room on the first floor was large (i.e., two beds and a sofa bed), clean and not in need of updates.

Since we have two young boys (i.e., ages 6 and 8), my wife and I smiled when we noticed a large dining space for meetings around the corner from our room. That is, if a group was going to meet there, then any noise our boys would make would not be so noticeable. On one of the nights during our stay, a group of individuals met in the dining space pre-dinner and the sound did not travel to our room because of the glass wall surrounding the dining tables.

One of our children got sick late one night and the hotel staff was quick to respond and they refused the tip we offered them for their assistance. Though, we persisted and insisted they accept the tip.

The concierge made excellent suggestions for places to eat and things to do for a family with young children.

As for the location, it's perfect. Outside the side entrance to the hotel is a Metro station which is a short ride into Washington, DC. In addition, there are many very good restaurants within a short walk of the hotel. As for walking, the hotel is in a safe neighborhood.

Room Tip: Request a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is that it is right on top of the subway so you can get to downtown DC pretty easily. The concierge was very helpful. The rooms were a little dated. I was not given a choice between two queens or one king sized bed, and they gave me a room with two queens, though I would have preferred a king sized bed. But I booked through priceline for $65 so I did not ask to switch. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosciusko, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was very helpful in helping us learn our way around town. The metro is right below the hotel ..very convenient when staying in Washington, D.C. Great restaurants and shops close by and very safe area in which to walk. We would stay again anytime. We happened to get a great rate. Check on that if you plan to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bay Area
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I can understand some of the criticisms below ("needs a face lift") but you can also look at this hotel from the other side: there is an old-fashioned, unpretentious charm about this hotel, things work well and the design is very different from much of the modern, generic and boring, construction.

Above all, it is perfectly situated if you need to be in Bethesda.

Unfortunately, they charge for WiFi which does not make financial sense but aggravates the customer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This hotel just seems old and begs for renovation. The staff were great as expected from Hyatt, but overall, I would not recommend this hotel. First, we had a suite on the 7th floor, but the room can use a makeover. My wife refused to sit on the sofa in the living room because it's dirty with black stains. After I unfolded the sofa bed, we found crackers under it. My wife was allergic to the downs, so the house keeping came over and supposedly took care of it around 10pm. We had guests over; did not check on it until 2am. All the house keeping did was to replace the pillow; everything else was still downs. Perhaps, I just expected too much from a Hyatt, but this one is definitely not to the Hyatt standard I came to expect.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.