We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Comfortable. Beautiful Rooms, Beautiful View, Close to everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sharpsburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Comfortable. Beautiful Rooms, Beautiful View, Close to everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed in this hotel with our 5 month old daughter, we had a connecting room to our in-laws room. My brother in-law chose this hotel for wedding guest to stay at. There were many family members and friends staying at the hotel. It was very clean, Had an amazing view! The best thing is that it was close to the Wedding Venue and was walking distance to the restaurant where the rehersal dinner was. The Valet parking was nice as well.
Oh and the Beds Amazingly comfortable. The best I have slept in a long time

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are fortunate to have a great recently remodeled hotel in a fantastic location, just a short walk to many attractions and businesses. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, as your patronage is greatly appreciated. I look forward to your future return visits, so we can continue to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    213
    104
    50
    19
See reviews for
151
96
36
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My husband and I took our soldier-son to Bethesda for medical treatment at the Naval hospital. On our second day, the valet brought our car with damage to the rear bumper. The manager was rude, first making us wait 15 minutes then making excuses for the damage. When we returned to the hotel several hours later, this manager was immediately on the spot snapping pictures of my husband and I unloading our wounded son's wheelchair! We checked out and were told that someone would be in touch about the damage, but of course no one was, and we tried for weeks to get a reply from Doubletree. For a business defined by the service industry, Doubletree's management showed surprising unresponsive to our inquiries. Finally a letter came, calling the damage "normal wear & tear." Doubletree would take no accountability.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Thank you for your feedback on this matter. We have attempted to resolve this matter through numerous communications. However after review of the security tapes, it clearly reflects the hotel was not liable for this incident. We apologize for the length of time it took to investigate this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Walking distance to shopping and restaurants, this hotel was comfortable and reasonable. As a parent taking my son to nearby American University, rooms were nice and spacious enough and was convenient to the school.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are fortunate to have such a great location with plenty to do and easy access to all the surrounding attractions. Our recent renovations offer plenty of comfort and our team members are empowered to take care of guest needs. We look forward to many more return visits to American University and giving us the opportunity to remain the hotel of choice for your stay. Thank you once again for your patronage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The maid stole my favorite shoes and managment is doing nothin about it. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay. but I want my shoes back or compensation for them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am aware of the lost sandals and the reports filed with several of our team members. As promised by our management team with whom you spoke, we have thoroughly investigated the matter immediately after your initial notification. My sincere appologies of our inability to locate your missing article, however we will continue our search and contact you, should we locate the item in question. thank you again for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I stayed here for a work meeting… so I did not research any other hotels in the surrounding area, but I would definitely not recommend staying here. The location is fine- a mile walking distance to several nice restaurants and ½ mile from the metro station.
But the setup up to this hotel is strange. It used to be a Holiday Inn… the lobby is small which is fine… but it just is not welcoming.
The room is a standard three star room but the bathroom is a one star. There are two sinks one inside the bathroom and one outside. The door to the bathroom clears 2 inches from the toilet- so to get in the shower you have to close the door…and when you get out you have to shimmy out of the shower/tub to get out of the bathroom. For this reason alone- I would not stay at this hotel. I understand they will be remodeling soon- but that was ridiculous! Bathroom door had SEVERAL layers of paint on it…where did the 16 million dollars in your renovation that was completed two years ago go?
Staff was average- bellman- VERY inattentive. - But there were a lot of them! You have got to really shine in the customer service department to make up for the substandard rooms- and this just was not happening with all the staff I came in contact with- EXCEPT HOUSEKEEPING on the 9th floor on 9/22.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing the details of your experience. We remain focused on guest satisfaction and take all guest comments as guidance on what we can improve. We will undergo guest bathroom make-overs during the winter months in addition to several other enhancements, completing what we started the past two years. Thank you again for taking the time write to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Stayed at the Doubletree over Labor Day Weekend! We got a great rate since this hotel seems to cater to business travelers. When we arrived, the valet staff were friendly, happy to have us. Check in went smooth, and we were off to our room. The room was small but functional. The room had a very nice deck, and it was fun to watch Bethesda "happen" I had two concerns about the room. 1. The Bathroom needs to be renovated, and 2. The guests below us partied on their deck well into the night. I called down to the front desk, and it was quite clear the women was not sure how to stop it. Location is great, and again the Valet service was second to none. Please make sure the staff knows that they did a great job!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Bethesda has plenty to offer the leisure traveler and we are lucky to be a part of this community. We have a great hotel with caring team members to help exceed guest expectations. We have met with out team members and reviewed your comments so our staff can properly react to similar requests in the future. We also look forward to your return visit so you can see the bathroom enhancements that will be put in place during the winter months. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had two adjoining rooms. Both rooms has a balcony so people could step out. The beds were super comfy! The hotel was very clean and the valet/bellhop guys or whatever were very helpful and fast. The room was like $119 which seemed cheap to me for such a nice room in Bethesda. I will def go back with my family. Walking distance to 100000 places to eat and party.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
We appreciate your patronage and wish to thank you for choosing our hotel for your getaway. Thank you also for taking time to share your experience, as many travelers are not aware of all Bethesda has to offer within walking distance of our location. We look forward to your return, so we can continue to exceed your expectations and so you and your guests can finish what was started.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.