We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baclorette Party rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% Today!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gettysburg, PA
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Baclorette Party rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had two adjoining rooms. Both rooms has a balcony so people could step out. The beds were super comfy! The hotel was very clean and the valet/bellhop guys or whatever were very helpful and fast. The room was like $119 which seemed cheap to me for such a nice room in Bethesda. I will def go back with my family. Walking distance to 100000 places to eat and party.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
We appreciate your patronage and wish to thank you for choosing our hotel for your getaway. Thank you also for taking time to share your experience, as many travelers are not aware of all Bethesda has to offer within walking distance of our location. We look forward to your return, so we can continue to exceed your expectations and so you and your guests can finish what was started.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    271
    126
    61
    28
See reviews for
174
120
44
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We liked a lot about this hotel. It was easy for us to hop the metro into DC as well as get on the highway to Annapolis. The rooms were comfortable, clean and modern and we stayed over the weekend so we only had to pay for parking on one day (used the free weekends garage which is less than a block from the hotel). We picked this hotel in part, though, because it had a Sushi bar in the lobby. Problem was, the Sushi bar was not open the entire time we were there?!? We got in at 8:30 on a Friday night looking to saddle up to the Sushi bar, but they said they closed early. They were not open Saturday night or Sunday night either. Real bummer. There are at least four sushi bars within four blocks of the hotel, but we would have preferred not to leave to find one. The pool was nice, though. Standard pool, but clean and had a great view at the top of the hotel. No jacuzzi that I saw, at least not by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for taking time to write us about your experience. Although we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we regret that you missed our talented Umi Sushi chef, as he had to shut down his operation for a family emergency that took him out of town. I would personally like to invite you back as my guest for sushi when back in the area, so you can enjoy what you missed out on. Please contact the hotel and ask for my office when your schedule allows for your visit. Thank you once again for sharing you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed here and loved it! We loved our room with a balcony, the rooftop pool, the fitness centre, and the proximity to restaurants/shopping in Bethesda. The only thing that was annoying was a $15 charge that appeared on our bill for listening to music on the TV. We listened to a FREE 5 minute music preview and we still got charged. They took the charge off, but it took them about 15 minutes to figure out how to remove it. Other than that major annoyance, we'd stay here again while visiting the D.C. area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience. Your comments are appreciated, as they help us focus on continuously improving our product and service. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We look forward to your return visit to this area and giving us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My family and I stayed here for a week. The hotel is perfectly located in downtown Bethesda. It is close to all the restaurants, bars, and around the corner is a liquor store. Even though the hotel offers complimentary rides to the Metro, it's only a 10 minute walk to the Bethesda Metro Station. Our room was nice and we had a beautiful view. The staff were super friendly and charming. They even gave us chocolate chip cookies! Everytime we walked through the lobby, you can smell the delicious sushi. A great place to stay and I'll probably stay here again when I visit the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for selecting our hotel to accomodate your stay. Many of our first time patrons, do not realize how conveniently close we are to DC and the surrounding attractions. Once our guests get here, they also find plenty to do and see right here in Bethesda as well, and all within walking distance. We look forward to your return visit when travel brings you back to town and wish to thank you once again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I organized a 3-day company training session and had various hotel groups compete for our business - Doubletree Bethesda won on points, they weren' t the cheapest for guest rooms but they scored high for location and their meeting package. The hotel is fine, though some of the rooms are a bit smaller than the other Doubletrees I've stayed in. Service is good, basic wifi is included and the breakfast buffet is fine as long as you have negotiated it in the room rate (I wouldn't pay $16 for it!). I love the rooftop pool.

The meeting package is very good value - the meetings rooms are comfortable, sound proof, and well-equipped, and the continuous refreshment buffet is excellent. Last year we did something similar with a Hyatt hotel and got nickle & dimed over coffee etc, Hilton Group just charge per head per day and it's a much better approach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for your patronage and recent stay with us. Your comments are very much appreciated as they highlight our focus on guest comfort and convenience. Our unique executive meeting facility was designed by meeting planners such as yourself and it incorporates many points of differentiation from the ordinary traditional hotel experience. Our concept embraces the highest level of productivity possible, to insure a maximum return on investment for clients conducting any conference. We look forward to your return visit and thank you once again for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The warm cookie upon check in was nice. The rest of the stay was a disappointment. There was no single item that stands out but many small ones that added up to a very average experience. The front desk staff were not very helpful, in fact, several times we have to wait for somebody to be at the desk. We asked about a shuttle to the metro and were told there was none. Later, we saw a van coming from the metro back to the hotel and asked a different front desk person and was told they did indeed have a shuttle. The next day we planned a long day in D.C. and asked when the shuttle would be available. We were told a time but when calling to be picked up, were told a different time and that it was not available. When we kept asking, they finally sent a van only to find out another couple had already called to schedule it. Luckily, we all squeezed int. The breakfast buffet was of poor quality, cold food, and the pancakes that were special made were awful. All that for 16.00 each. All in all, we were not impressed. The next hotel we stayed at in Baltimore (a competitor) affirmed the poor level of service at this hotel. Basically, we had higher hopes for this hotel but they were not met. I would not stay at this place again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing the details of your experience. We remain focused on guest satisfaction and take these comments very seriously. Our team has met to review the specifics of this review and have scheduled training sessions for our associates, to insure all deficiencies are addressed. Your experience is not of the norm and we wish to invite you back as our guest so we can regain your confidence in our hotel. Please contact my office directly so I can insure your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

First impressions were good, we were able to check in early and were greated warmly by the front desk. However, it rapidly went down hill from there. Having been told we were upgraded to a larger room, I cannot imagine the closets they must be squeezing people into. The room was small (despite being told it was one of their larger rooms), we had 4 people staying in the room, with only 2 towels and 1 cup, so if you want coffee, be prepared to take turns. Likewise with the shower (although they did provide extra towels when we asked). The bathroom was in need of renovation and was only ok in terms of cleanliness. Not dirty as such, but definitely in need of a good scrub. Breakfast was terrible, overpriced at $16 per head for a buffet. We asked at check in what time breakfast was served until, we were told 10.30am. We arrived just before 9.30am to find the staff packing up the dining room, nobody offered to seat us, or even confirm whether breakfast was still being served, so we awkwardly sat ourselves. The toaster was unplugged, and the tables were not set up for customers. After picking over what was left at the buffet and taking a seat, the staff started to pack up breakfast, removing the food while we were still eating and making much noise in the process, just to make sure we knew they were unhappy with our presence. When we asked the one member of staff available for help, she said breakfast finished at 10am. She was unable to answer why they were packing up well before 10am when they could see we were still trying to eat, or answer why we were told 10.30am at check-in. Considering the terrible atmosphere and the disappearing buffet, we left a $1 tip, just so they knew that we hadn't forgotten, but were unhappy. We were then chased when we tried to leave the dining room and told that the tip HAS TO BE at least 15%. We reminded the waitress that the size of the tip depends on the service and as we had not been treated as guests (paying $16 per head!) we did not feel a tip was deserved. To be fair, the waitress did then help us obtain a refund for the breakfast from the front desk but I would not waste my time at this hotel, the only thing going for it is its location. Considering the size of the room, the need for renovation, and the price of valet parking, this hotel was overpriced for the area.

I was traveling for pleasure on this occasion, but travel reguarly for business too. If you are a business traveler, be warned that the rooms contain no fridges or kitchen facilities...stick with the Marriott chain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
We appreciate your feedback, as guest comments are the text books we use for continuous training and focus on service improvements. The impressions you have of our property are not of the norm and I hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence. Rest assured, that we are addressing the points in this review with the entire team at the Doubletree, and thank you once more for sharing these details. Please feel free to contact me directly if you will be returning to our Doubletree so we can prove our commitment to reversing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.