We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Points, Book today!
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The Hotel was fantastic! I took my wife, 3 children and mother-In-Law to DC for the weekend and arrived at the hotel at 10a, I figured it was way to early to get into our room, however they allowed us to check in early. we requested 2 high level rooms, close to each other, non smoking and all 3 request were granted. The rooms were great, the staff was great. The hotel is 5 blocks from the Bethesda metro Station..easy walk! If i had a complaint it would be that the buffett breakfast was a "little" expensive($9.99) however it was a very good breakfast. I paid $141 with my AAA discount and the Valet parking was $5 on Saturdays. GREAT HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superfreak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

I got a great price on my room -- heck, the rental car was more expensive -- and was fearing a fleabag place. Not so! This is a clean, well-kept, somewhat cushy hotel, with bigger rooms than you can get for much more money in downtown DC. The hotel is built in a funny shape so that every room has a corner window -- lots of light and a good view. The staff are wonderfully courteous. The only thing I would say about the room I had was that the bathroom was a little small and cramped.

Location is GREAT. I had no idea that Bethesda had so many good restaurants, but it's a gourmet-ethnic paradise and everything is walking distance from the hotel. Also, the Tastee Diner a few blocks away is not to be missed for breakfast -- the hotel does have Starbucks in the lobby as well as a restaurant, but eating in the hotel seemed silly with so much else around. It is a short walk to the Metro, which is easy access to all the sights in Washington.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empireofdirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We had two wonderful nights at the Doubletree. From the first minute we pulled up, the valet parking staff took great care of us, the check -in went smoothly (chocolate cookies to eat on the way up to your room), a big fruit basket at the front desk, and we had a king size bed on a pure floor. The best part was the breakfast. Once again, the restaurant staff was friendly and the food selections amazing. We told our friends the next time we come down, we are going to have brunch at the Doubletree. Not only would I recommend this hotel to a friends and family, I would stay there again. Great job!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PgalC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

This was my first visit and I will definitely return. We booked a King room and were upgraded to a large king room. The room was clean, bright and spacious with a balcony and flat screen TV. The bathroom was a bit small, but well lit with nice amenities. There was a nice bar for the evening and a Starbucks for the morning. There were many great restaurants within walking distance. My tip to other visitors who are driving, would be to use the Woodmont Ave. Public Parking which is directly across the street from the back of the hotel. It is free on weekends, safe, well-lit with plenty of parking. I think $20 for valet parking is excessive, especially when you are staying there as a Hilton Honors member. Also, we come and go alot and the tipping was too much.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazyaboutpandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Stayed at the Doubletree for 3 nights early this year, and I was very impressed. The room was very large, and extremely well furnished. There was free internet, which was a massive bonus, and makes a change from paying the usual $10-$15 per day. The staff were also friendly and attentive. Perhaps the only thing I'd slightly mark the room down on was for the bathroom, which was a little small by Hilton standards.

Location-wise, the Doubletree is in a decent location on Wisconsin Avenue, a short walk from the NIH and also the metro station for getting in to DC.

This is clearly a business hotel, and Bethesda is clearly a business town, and the Doubletree serves its function very well.

  • Liked — the free internet and the large room
  • Disliked — the bathroom was a little small
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

The room was pretty big and clean, but the bathroom was very small. The heater was ridiculous - too loud and inconsistent temperature. The service was excellent, but when somebody in our party tried to figure out how to book a trip they were clueless. We are told that the restaurants are excellent but did not have a chance to try them out. If you have to be in Bethesda this is an adequate place to stay; otherwise there are many other choices in the DC area.

  • Liked — Clean and centrally located
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Great location for visiting D.C. You are not in the downtown but are surrounded by great food, shopping and people. Everybody we encountered in the hotel where very helpful and friendly. We stayed on the 14th floor and had a great view of all the tree's changing color in the late fall. There is a Morton's of Chicago just four blocks down and if they are busy there is always space at the Ruth Chris across the street.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Valet Parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTraveler008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing