We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in downtown Bethesda, MD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
RoofTop Poolside Package
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel in downtown Bethesda, MD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel with good facilities located right in the heart of Bethesda. Very courteous staff and nice accomodations. Hotel has a Starbucks facility attached to it, which is a nice feature for coffee addicts. Bethesda has many very attractive, vibrant restauarants.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am glad Jennifer H that you enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Bethesda. We appreciate the brilliant review! Please come back again soon. Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    285
    135
    70
    31
See reviews for
186
128
45
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for business and did not have the best experience the first time around. However, the staff went out of their way and really changed my opinion of the hotel. The great customer service made my second visit *exponentially* better. They went out of their way to make sure my second stay was flawless, and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much Sarah C. I appreciate you taking time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we made the second time around even better than the first. I am also happy that you found the service to be exponentially better. I will make sure that I share all of your comments with the rest of the staff as well. We look forward to being able to serve you on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here several times over the years (didnt it used to be a Holiday Inn?) for NIH visits, but I'm sitting at the desk now in an uncomfortable chair, the only chair n the room!! Maybe they would "make it right" if I called them, but think I'll go to bed instead. Strange.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Stmseelig I really appreciate you taking the time out to write this review. To answer your question , Certainly, this was a Holiday Inn however it has been converted to the Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda hence the change in the décor of the rooms which were all upgraded earlier this year. I do understand that this change has not met your expectations and hope you give a chance to serve you the next time you come back to Washington DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I choose this hotel because the location was near Walter Reed Hospital. I am sorry I stayed there. Overall the room was just okay. The people who worked there were pleasant, but the room was sprayed so heavily with a deodorizer that it was obnoxious and made it difficult to breathe. The alarm clock was not set and it had a disgusting sticky substance on it. The air conditioner was NOISY and the water flow on the shower was low. I had to call the front desk to get instructions to connect to the internet, the signal was poor and never could get service. Next time I will drive further and find a cleaner hotel.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Jamie O for staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Bethesda. We appreciate you telling us how great our staff were. I do understand that your expectations were not met however all issuses have been relayed to the rest of my team and please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. We do hope you will consider staying with us again when ever you return to Washington DC area, so we can Make It Right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to be in the area for 1 night and decided on this hotel because it was the most affordable choice. From the outside it is showing its age. The valet area is tiny and it is the only way to park your car. The staff were great and efficient. My room was a king room on a high floor. It was fine but you could tell the place was old. The furnishings were fine and the bed was comfortable. The room had a really long hallway and windows only in one corner. The top floor has the exercise room and outdoor pool. The view is great from up there. I had the breakfast buffet in the restaurant and it was fine. They do have complimentary shuttles to many of the hospitals and the nearest metro stop, but I didn't use those. My stay was a solid, typical Doubletree stay.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Dr_Drew2 for staying with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda. I truly appreciate the post and nice comments about the team. Hope to see you return should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The DoubleTree was a nice, clean home-base during our trip to DC. And It's in easy walk to the Metro! The roof-top pool was a lovely place to sit in the evening and enjoy the view. Rooms were clean and comfortable :)

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
What a great review mattfL8313SO! Many thanks for your kind words, and sharing your thoughts. Glad you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms, amenities and efficient staff. Please come back soon. Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was very comfortable. If you have business or are with a patient at NIH, this is a great place to stay. Food is good, and the cookies are awesome. A word to the wise, call for your car early, as sometimes the valet gets a bit backed up. To be expected.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you BizTraveller48180 for staying at the Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda and for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad that you found the room to be very comfortable. I am also happy to hear that the location of the hotel has been a great convenience for NIH visitors. We look forward to being able to serve you again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
0.0 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#7 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.