We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
RoofTop Poolside Package
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Well maintained and welcoming. The prices are very reasonable. We stayed on the Hilton Honors level and it was very quiet and comfortable. It is well located and convenient to the Metro and numerous restaurants. All amenities are on the premises if you don't care to roam too far.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    275
    128
    65
    30
See reviews for
177
124
44
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was musty even with a dehumidifier. The hotel is old but the room was a good size. Bring your own pillows if you don't want to sleep on really used pillows. The floor was dirty in the bathroom. I have stayed in many hotels, this one is at the bottom list. We arrived at 12:30 a.m. after a long day of travel and we were not in the room 45 minutes and the fire alarm sounded. There were no announcements to evacuate, just a strobe light in the hall and a constant noise. After waiting in the lobby 20 minutes we were told we could go back to our rooms. Two working elevators and a couple of hundred people trying to squeeze in all at once. No assistance from the hotel staff to organize the choas.

The front desk reported someone was smoking in the garage and that set the alarm off.

I'm sure there must be a better way to handle guests in an emergency.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed there for a night for a business meeting. It is walkable from Bethesda Metro station. It is very close to many restaurants. The front desk staff are cordial. The room was comfortable but bathroom was kind of small. Overall it was very good.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent. They went above and beyond to make me satisfied. Hotel was modern, clean and quiet. Staff was friendly. Offered the kids a nice big chocolate cookie upon arrival, (which helped with check-in, as they were busy).

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the worst hotel experiences I have had. My wife and I booked the King Jacuzzi Suite for a 1 night stay for our anniversary. We arrived at the check in time of 3pm and waited until 315pm for our room to be ready. The front desk gave us free vouchers for breakfast the next day for the delay. Once we got in our room we found that while the room was a king jacuzzi suite, the room we received was not the one pictured online. Instead of a 2 person jacuzzi in the bed room it was instead a large 1 person jacuzzi bathtub complete with a shower and shower curtain. We complained to the front desk but we're told that there was nothing they could do. Deciding not to let it ruin our night away from the kids, we stayed in the room. Over night there were 2 fire alarms, 1 at 730 pm and the next at 1200am. We never received any explanation for the alarms or any kind of compensation for the interrupted night. The next morning we had the breakfast Wichita was terrible, powered eggs, soggy waffles, and burnt coffee. I'm glad we had free vouchers because the cost was 17.00 per person. We had until 12pm to check out but left early because we were so disappointed with the hotel.
There are plenty of other hotels in Bethesda, MD and hundreds more in the DC area. Next time I will pick any other hotel to visit.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I recently stayed two nights at the hotel. I was dropping her off at a program at nearby American University. The hotel was suggested for it's close proximity.
We had a car this trip, and used the valet parking, which was fairly reasonable, considering how expensive parking is in the area overall. Our room was very comfortable, and in good condition. I slept great!
The dining in the hotel is extremely expensive. There is a cute area of restaurants behind the hotel, which I'm sure includes a good breakfast spot, though I didn't fully investigate this. There is a 7-11 right down the street. My choice for some fruit, yogurt, and a cup of coffee.
Walking distance to the Bethesda Metro station. Don't miss La Madeleine cafe near the station for great, quick service French food.
Overall, I would definitely stay again for room quality and price, just skip the overpriced food and drink in the lobby and restaurant. There are better options.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was there with a friend that was going to NIH. Needed an accessible room and wheel chair during stay. The wheelchairs provided were broken and horrible. Avoid lunch in the diningj room. it was horrible. Breakfast was much better. Walk down the street and enjoy great mexican or across the street for great sushi. One elevator was not operating. Seemed most guests we encountered shared same opinion, they would not return to this hotel and neither will we. Reported a noisy a/c systerm our first day which they agreed to fix which was not done and therefore night sleeping was impaired but this noisey system.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your note HNLdiner, we’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the condition of the wheelchair you received. We’ve reported the problem to our maintenance team, along with addressing the elevator and air conditioner situations. I regret that your concern was not corrected during your visit. We hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area. Please reach out - I'll be happy to ensure that your next stay will exceed your expectations. Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.