We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoddy hotel for business travellers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points Today!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, MD, United States
1 review
“Shoddy hotel for business travellers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The lobby is fine but the rooms are low quality - feels like a motel. I pre-requested foam pillows online and on the foam - not there on arrival as requested (and it was too late to request). There was hair in the shower on arrival, my closet door was stuck shut so i couldn't get to the safe, and i had luke warm water on the first day and a COLD shower on the 2nd morning. And there are no anemities so don't forget your showercap, or quetips since you just get bulk soap. The location is also not great - there are a few places to eat to walk to but all are low-end and the neighborhood itself is bland and not pleasant. nicer parts of Bethesda out there. Not up to a Marriot or Westin.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    266
    124
    60
    25
See reviews for
172
115
41
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good value for money. Location was very important. Room standard was good. Staff very helpful. Only problem was the safe that did work and could not be repaired at the weekend. The option of leaving passports and valuables was not taken up. Important, we would return to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There for my daughters wedding. Did not get a warm cookie to start. Asked for an upgrade prior to arriving to have someone that requested it on site to get a better upgrade. Maids woke us at 7:30 am....really!! Came back from the ceremony at 3 pm to freshen up for the reception to find our room not cleaned yet....had to request it get done as the Mother of the bride I was having many out of town family and friends hang out after the reception. And for the price....being that a block of rooms were taken...free breakfast should have been included. Personally better places in Bethesda....would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I picked this hotel because it was said to be close to metro. It was a long walk in the cold rain. There are hotels that are less than an block from Metro. This hotel is over a half a mile. It would not have been bad if the weather was nice.

A few good things, Room was huge and bed was very comfortable. The bar had a great happy hour special on food.

The breakfast was nothing special and ended up getting coffee from "Starbucks" in hotel.

Overall not a bad stay but nothing really special for DC.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Personal, was very helpful! Sister-in-law, and myself had never used public trasportation, like the Metro. Personal was very helpful on how it was used. Gave alot of maps ect.to help with this. Would recommed to anyone whom asks about our experiance. I will becoming back in 3 moths and will most likey be reurning. The only problem, may be the walk to Metro Staion. I may be traveling with my mother, and it may be a little long for her to walk. If I travel with my sister-inilaw, I will return back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bend,wi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

4.5 stars...The hotel is near several others in a busy area with many restaurants nearby. The room was spacious (10th floor Hilton Honors room), it had ample closet space and three large dresser drawers. The room showed very minimal wear and the furnishings were very nice. The computer desk was large and the wi-fi worked well for us. The bed was very comfortable and the room was especially clean. The only thing missing for a room that size was a refrigerator/honor bar. Some reviews complained of noisy HVAC units, but you could select the fan speed which controlled the noise. Ours gave us enough white-noise to cancel out the traffic sounds from the street below and we slept great. The bathroom, although very small, was bright and modern with a granite or marble counter top. What we saw of the conference rooms looked very nice and the business center was great.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially the desk staff and Marta in the restaurant. The valets have somewhat of a language barrier but not too bad. One of their drivers took us to the airport in a full-size sedan for $50 which was worth the upgrade from a small taxi at $43.

The breakfast buffet at $17 is quite pricey, but it was very nice. There are standard buffet items and an omelet/waffle/pancake bar. The only disappointment at the hotel bar were the bumbling bartenders who made us lousy margaritas and charged us $28 for two, but it appeared one of them was in training, so we let it go.

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend it and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent view from room, walking distance to most things. I was visiting brother -in -law short notice and needed place to stay other than his condo's guest suite. Would stay weekend here again. had trouble with Hilton honors but not hotel they were on top of things.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.