We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points Today!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

DoubleTree is clean upper-middle class hotel, in walking distance from the NIH. Rooms are quite spacious, but are baldy insonorized; you can hear the people talking in the other rooms. Breakfast is ok but not great. The place is clean, and the neighborhood is safe with nice places to eat.
The place is 30 minutes on the subway and then 15 minutes walk from downtown DC.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    260
    121
    58
    25
See reviews for
168
114
41
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Checked in for 1 night on a business trip as it was the closest hilton chain to my worksite. Its located in the heart of bethesda with many eatery with the 1 mile radius. Upon arrival, valet parking was both easy and cheap, not need to park it yourself for $23 a night. Not sure if it was my hilton status, but i was pleasantly surprised when they checked me into a one bedroom suite. I would highly recommend a suite if you are traveling with a family as its equip with a full kitchen and dining area. Average at best in my opinion for all category.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed 1 night on business in November of 2014. The hotel is a high-rise style, about a 4-block walk to the Metro. Very convenient; the local area also has a wide variety of restaurants within a short walk.

The hotel is typical Doubletree; I had typical HHonors perks (free wifi, maybe a better room). They also had a "pantry" which was a room stocked with snacks that you could grab...pretty cool!

I did not have breakfast, just coffee from the room. All in all, a great stay, and I'd definitely return for business in the DC area. The Metro convenience, and value for the price, is what makes it so nice.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I am loyal to Marriott and Hyatt when traveling, but I have to say from start to finish you feel like you are staying in a very high end hotel. They go out of their way to read your expression and see if they can help. Wine and cheese at the lobby was also very lovely. Staff work well together and genuinely enjoy their jobs and aim to please. This has definitely changed my view on hotels - they are added to my list! Linda

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Many reviewers mentioned that they received a warm cookie upon arrival, and we saw this happen to many people, but we did not get any cookies. We did think the front desk was helpful with restaurant recommendations (Tastee Diner is great for breakfast and cheap). The lobby is very pretty, but the breakfast is expensive. Also, we asked about lunch and dinner, and one employee told us there was none... but later, we saw lunch and dinner served. I did think our room was excellently cleaned each day. It was an okay experience overall, but the hotel is old and probably needs a big renovation. Bed was comfortable, location is close to the metro, and there are lots of local restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in this hotel once a year according to my business plan, and I am happy to see that they are constantly improving their service. The staff at the Reception Desk are perfect and ready to assist the clients in every way. The Hotel is clean and neat, the breakfast buffet is various. The only drawback which cannot be eliminated are the windows which do not open and it is impossible to air the rooms, the air conditioning system operates well, though.
The area arrond the hotel is not bad thougt it is not very picturesque. It is a kind of residental area,which is very quiet. There are a lot of different restaurants arround. The subway station is within 10 minutes of walk. Moreover it is situated on the Red line which goes along to the prinsipal subway hub - Metro Center, which means it is easy to make a change for any other line.

Room Tip: All rooms are approximately the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment I walked in to the Double Tree Hotel in Bethesda, I was impressed. The staff was very impressive. There was a doorman, who was quick to hold open the door with a greeting and smile and the reception staff treated me with warmth and respect. The room was very nice, very clean, plenty of closet space, a very comfortable bed, and a large screen TV. I appreciated the extra wall mounted magnification mirror in the dressing area and wall mounted shampoo and conditioner in the shower. The shower/tub was nice and clean with updated fixtures. Nothing shabby or worn out. In fact, everything in the hotel seemed new and good quality. The breakfast room service in the morning was right on time, the serving was huge and delicious. The server was very friendly and gracious. I really felt like I was the Queen. I will be back for more VIP service.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.