We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Great location for visiting D.C. You are not in the downtown but are surrounded by great food, shopping and people. Everybody we encountered in the hotel where very helpful and friendly. We stayed on the 14th floor and had a great view of all the tree's changing color in the late fall. There is a Morton's of Chicago just four blocks down and if they are busy there is always space at the Ruth Chris across the street.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Valet Parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    214
    106
    50
    19
See reviews for
153
97
36
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Stayed at the Doubletree for two weeks while attending a conference at USUHS. First, if you are a government traveler I would suggest booking through Fedrooms.com - I had already booked through Hilton.com and found the room at a much lower rate (1/3 of the government per diem rate) on Fedrooms and, when I called the hotel directly, they gave me that rate - so save the taxpayers some money! (you must have your government ID - they check). Check-in process was seamless. One caveat: while I heard that they advertised park-yourself-parking for $17 (vs $20 for valet), there is only valet parking. However, if you are coming for a weekend you can park for free after 10 PM on Friday through Sunday at either an open metered public parking lot across the street, or at a public parking garage behind the hotel on Woodmont. As a Hilton Honors member I had a slight upgrade on the room; the first night there was a problem with the in-wall heating unit in that it banged intermittently all night, punctuated by a pipe problem, resulting in a lack of sleep. However, the front desk staff (Jonathan) was exceedingly accommodating the next day and moved me no-questions-asked. The room was clean, comfortable and large, high floor view with a nice view of the NNMC-Bethesda complex in the near-distance. Bathroom was a bit small but well-appointed. Staff were all friendly. Breakfast was a bit steep ($15 for the buffet) but the quality was fairly good. Housekeeping was on the ball and the room was picked up nicely every day. There is a washer and dryer ($1.25 for either, plus $0.50 for soap) on the fifth floor - helpful for long-term stays. The morning shuttle to the Medical Center metro is not a circulator - it leaves at 7 AM sharp for its one trip, otherwise you walk. If you arrive at the Metro stop and want a ride to the hotel, you need to call the hotel directly and they will send the shuttle (I found out after getting soaked from the 10 minute walk in the rain); keep the hotel phone number in your PDA or cellphone! All in all, a very nice stay - I would definitely recommend it and will stay here every time I travel to Bethesda. Also, if you're visiting American University it is three stops away on the Metro or a 10 minute drive, tops.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Stayed on a business trip and not sure I’ll return when I come back to the area even though it’s a ‘preferred’ hotel with my employer

Toilet was backed when I arrived, but corrected promptly by maintenance. Air conditioner unit was extremely loud and creaked for 10 minutes after turning off so it kept waking me up overnight. Getting into ‘valet’ was a real pain, but that probably had to do with the time I arrived (5:30 or so in the afternoon). Overall it’s wasn’t a bad stay, I just travel a lot and have had better experiences.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Double Tree Bethesda for a wedding we had locally. It's located on a main street, so you might just pass it without realizing! There is a free parking lot directly across the street so dont pay for vallet! Upon check in, we both got a warm chocolate chip cookie! That was the best treat ever!!! Our room was nice and clean and the beds were very comfy. Dont expect a nice view....again you are on a main street, so there isnt much of a view. The staff at the front desk was friendly...and they offer Starbucks at the coffee counter. Great experience overall.

  • Liked — The warm chocolate chip cookies upon check in!!!!
  • Disliked — Only one person at the check in counter...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed at the Doubletree for one night last weekend when we dropped my son off at American University. We got a great AU discounted rate. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was roomier than those in many hotels I've stayed in. The location was great - several blocks of interesting restaurants and just 10 minutes down the road from AU. The only complaint I have is the $20 mandatory valet parking. This hotel was MUCH better than the Golden Tulip Bethesda Court hotel we stayed at last time we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I recently stayed two nights at this hotel for a conference at NIH. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel and would recommend it highly.

I know others have reported a slow check-in, but I arrived at 2am so there was no line and I was checked in within 5 minutes. The warm chocolate chip cookie they give you at check-in is a nice touch. The free wireless in rooms is also great.

The hotel itself is tastefully decorated, as was my room (on the 15th floor). The room was very nice with a down comforter, flat screen television, etc. The only downside to the room is that the bathroom is very small. The room did have an extra sink outside the bathroom, though, which would be necessary if multiple people stayed in the room.

I did not spend much time in the surrounding area, but would recommend the Thai restaurant, Sala Thai, that is just around the block. There were lots of other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, as well as a square area with a fountain/benches.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

My daughter had her wedding reception at the Doubletree and we had family members come in from around the country. Everyone was impressed with the newly renovated lobby and restaurant area which felt much like a boutique hotel. The rooms were spacious with flat panel TVs and very comfortable beds. The reception was held in the Grand Ballroom which was attractively appointed with crystal chandeliers, floor length linens and a pair of fountains. The food was amazing, the chef is very talented.

The location was very convenient because we were able to walk to different restaurants every night. The new Japanese place a block from the hotel was superb. Also, many of our guests took the shuttle provided by the hotel to Metro for siteseeing excursions to downtown DC.

The staff was friendly and very accommodating. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for hold a wedding reception. Our family had a great time.

  • Liked — Tghe 32
  • Disliked — Valet parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.