We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff very helpful, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Weekend Deal!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice staff very helpful, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights Dec.26, till Dec.3l,2013, Well located, they have a shuttle that can take you to the Metro, and it is about 10 minutes nice walk. Very clean stayed at the 14th floor.
Very quiet, When you arrive they give a hot chocolate cookie, that was delicious.
Free internet,, from you room.
Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: stayed at room 1428, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are please that you enjoyed your Holiday stay with us. You mentioned quite a few of our signature service standards that set us apart from other hotels in the area. Delivering this level of service with consistency is our top priority. We truly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    238
    115
    56
    22
See reviews for
161
107
38
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent accommodations, but food in restaurant is very pricey compared to what's available in the local restaurants. Staff is courteous and friendly. Valet parking is only option. There is public parking within a block.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello Michael, thanks for sharing your thoughts regarding your experience at the Doubletree Bethesda. It is always rewarding to us when our guests enjoys and appreciate our accommodation and friendly staff. Our restaurant menu pricing is very competitive in the area; the next time you visit please try our tasty happy hour food specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Talk about failing to meet expectations or not being worth the price. The mattress on the pull-out couch had no sheets or pillows and was uncomfortably thin, all springs and no padding. When we left to go out for the day, we requested sheets, pillows and a cushion of some kind, which the desk said they would do. 6 hours later, when we returned with a tired child, it had not been done. An attempt to resolve the situation consisted of an extra blanket to use as a cushion. Worse, the desk claimed they had attempted to call the room to follow up (as if it were up to us to tell them if they'd done their jobs), and the room service person who brought the sheets said they had no cushions and that he'd never been told about the problem. Additionally, the main mattress was ridiculously and inconsistently soft, as if it were very old. When we checked out, the desk had no clue of our situation. So, customer service fail, internal communication fail, pull-out couch quality fail, mattress quality fail... at these prices, there's no excuse for any of that.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback; though uncommon it appears that your experience fell short of our service standards and expectation as a hotel. We usually get complimented on the comfort of our mattresses. We believe strongly in problem prevention and also in timely responsiveness to our guests. Your feedback will help us stay on track in our efforts to remain the number one hotel choice in Bethesda area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The service provided was exceptional. The room was clean and ready on arrival. The room was quiet and comfortable. There was no sleep lost due to noisy elevators or room ventalation systems. The heating was very stabil and only required one adjustment. There are wide variety of places to eat within walking distance. The surrounding area was very pleasant and safe to venture out in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The next time you visit I hope you get a chance to try our Share Wine Lounge for some of our great /tasty happy hour specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Located right on Wisconsin Avenue, this Doubletree is in walking distance to Bethesda restaurants and 5 minutes from I-495. So you can head south on Wisconsin and get down to DC proper or head west on 495 to the Tysons Corners/Dulles area. With traffic the way it can clog up in this part of the country, I found this accessibility priceless. Yet this Doubletree also offered reasonable rates - not expected for the DC area. The hotel also has a decent workout gym - during the summer a rooftop pool. No complimentary parking though - valet parking is a pricey $22 per day. But I'd still recommend for business travelers or visitors to Bethesda/DC. The rooms are spacious, with very comfortable bedding. You can save some money by ordering breakfast at the Woodmont Deli - on the same block; family-run business.

Room Tip: make sure you request a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We appreciated your feedback. The convenience of our location and overall value is usually a big deal for our guests, I am so glad you appreciated these things. Try our Happy Hour specials in the Share Wine Lounge the next time you visit. I think you would enjoy this as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrosse Wi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed here for three nights on the weekend. It was selected as it was the least expensive near my daughters studio apartment. The room is very small but functional for one person. It would be nice to have hooks on the bathroom door as the room is very small. However the bed was comfortable and room clean.The room temperature is very adjustable. You can hear your neighbors from inside the room.
Generally it was clean. I did kill two small bugs in the bathroom. I reported it at the front desk.
I will try staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. We will consider your suggestion about hooks on the bathroom door, though the request is unusual. If possible I would appreciate a call so that we can get more information on the kind of bug you killed in the room; this is rear for us and we do take this very seriously. We appreciated your feedback and hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Clean and large room, clean bathroom, and the cookie at check-in was a great added bonus. Location was very close (maybe a 5 min walk) to the red line of the DC metro. Beautiful lobby decorated for the holidays with holiday music playing. Very inviting atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our sleeping room and rest room. We take great pride in the consistency of cleanliness in our hotel. I always love the Holidays and enjoy keeping our guest in the Holiday spirit when they are in our home away from home. If you know someone who lives in the area please tell them about our great annual New Year’s Eve Gala; should be a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.