We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Roof Top Poolside Package
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
“Always the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Double Tree Bethesda is a fantastic place to stay - perfect location, staff are VERY friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean, Lobby is beautiful. Overall quality is second to none!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Lindsey, thanks for your kind comments. We will continue to build on a culture that seeks out memorable relationships with our guests. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    188
    92
    45
    18
See reviews for
121
84
34
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's nice to feel welcome when you walk inside and that's how we felt as we received our warm chocolate chip cookies at check in! The room was very clean, though there was a slight food like odor we couldn't quite place. The lines were fresh and clean and the room was well lit. We forgot to bring a corkscrew and when we asked for help, we were given one along with a smile and 2 wine glasses! Highly recommend to all, especially families headed down to visit students at the schools nearby...a 12 minute car ride to American University! The 2 double beds worked for the 3 adults and there was a desk with a chair...we thought there might have been a piece of furniture missing as there was a large empty space where another chair or small couch might have once been. the bathroom was small but clean and fine for an overnight. We should have requested more towels...the staff is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Eaglebunny, I am glad you chose to stay with us and had such a great experience. Hopefully we’ll see you again soon; BTW…The rooftop pool in the summer is great for families as well..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great place to stay for Walter Reed or NIH travelers. Parking is an add, but you can self park behind in a city parking deck with Go Park Now app or with coins for less. All hotels in Bethesda are expensive, but this one provides great access to the Medical Center (i.e. Walter Reed) or the NIH.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello Caleb, thanks for your review. I am glad your stay went well with us, please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and no food was being served for lunch. At dinner time we had to eat a hamburger at the bar because the restaurant was not open for dinner either. The phone next to the bed did not work. There was only one chair in the room which had two queen size beds!

Room Tip: Make sure everything works and there is more than one chair in the room.
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked the dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and body wash.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi JoEllen, Your description of dinner experience is quite unusual; I will look into this further. We offer our full dinner menu in the evenings and often receive great compliments about our food. We hope you will try us again for a more favorable experience that we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

While I am typically a fan of Hilton-branded properties, my experience at the DoubleTree Bethesda gave me ample reasons to reconsider my assessment.
I arrived last Saturday night during a torrential downpour to find cars blocking the hotel entrance and a valet attendant who told me to "go park your car in a city lot a couple of blocks away". After walking back to the hotel with my bags in the rain, I arrived to find a rude and unprofessional front desk clerk who told me (1) I had no reservation (2) you have already checked-in, and finally (3) that I did indeed have a reservation but that there was some type of system issue. After waiting while he left to speak and joke with the other desk clerk, I finally was given a room key. As I walked away from the desk, he yelled for me to come back, grabbed my folio and changed the room from the Hilton HHonors floor to another part of the building. While the room was clean, the hotel has obviously seen better days and is in need of significant upgrade.
After calling room service 3 times without anyone answering, I went downstairs to the restaurant to try and find something for dinner. My frustration levels only increased as I waiting for the restaurant server to end a personal call on their cell phone before taking my order for a burger and salad. While the food arrived within the promised 30 minutes, I certainly expected better from DoubleTree.
The perfect ending to the day involved the hotel's fire alarm and evacuation siren going off at midnight and joining my fellow guests outside the hotel entrance for almost an hour before being able to return my room via the stairs!
I spend 50+ days a year in hotels and have elite status with Hilton HHonors and a number of other chains. The DoubleTree Bethesda is not up to the usual standards one expects from Hilton properties. Very disappointing service and inexcusable treatment...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear FlyFishGuy, based on your feedback it is quite obvious that you had a “not so great” experience with us. We are definitely better that what you described. I would hope for another chance to serve you in the future and to change your perception of our service levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Just spent two days and two nights here for a conference. Did not have a chance to make full use of the place but my room was big enough, the bed was comfortable, the wifi was free and the shower was fine so my basic needs were met. The entry is a bit odd - basically off what seems like a parking garage driveway and when you walk in you are greeted by a spiral staircase. Okay place for a business traveller.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi MJN63, thank you for your feedback. It is great that you found the hotel comfortable and convenient. This is what most travelers look for in a hotel… Don’t stay away too long before visiting us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Best thing about this place is the proximity to the NIH. Just a ten min walk and you are there. I was here for a week in July and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The rooms are big enough.comfortable beds.Nice lounge area at the entrance to catch up on some light reading.

There is also a beautiful roof top pool. Quite a nice view of Bethesda especially towards the evening. They also have a nice breakfast spread.

There are quite a few eating options around the neighborhood (Italian, Mexican, Persian, Japanese... you gt the point). Bethesda Row is just a few blocks away.

Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Cindy, your feedback was a pleasure to read. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience. My personal favorites are the great atmosphere in the lounge, the roof top view of Bethesda and the comfort of our bed. Thanks for sharing..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.