We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better furniture at the Salvation Army thrift store.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Weekend Deal!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lasagnejoe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better furniture at the Salvation Army thrift store.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel staff were courteous and public areas well maintained. Armchair and hassock in my room (604) were worn and had threadbare piping at the seam. Manager on duty said they were in process of replacing these items but had not gotten to this room yet. Gave breakfast voucher to comensate. I think Doubletree would be better served to close this room until it is presentable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I regret the impression you left with and assure you it is not the norm for our hotel. I do appreciate the valuable feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity when you are back in the area, so we can reverse those impressions you left with. We are in the process of changing out our room furniture. Please contact my office directly should your travels bring you back so I can ensure we meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    241
    115
    56
    22
See reviews for
161
107
38
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BETHESDA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last five years and for the first time I was very disappointed. The bathroom door was jammed shut. I reported it but but it was never fixed. If my wife and I were not in the room one of us would be locked in. I reported two light bulbs out and they were not fixed. The lounge chair arms were frayed and sloppy looking. If this happens again I will change hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you Mr. Steven for your time and for sharing your impressions. I have shared your concerns with the staff at the hotel, as your comments are not typical for our property. Thank you again for your time and feedback and I can ensure we will exceed your expectation when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

No fans in bathrooms. Internet very slow. Housekeeping not so good. Otherwise good location, decent fitness room and great eronomic chairs in the conference rooms. This box requires 200 characters minimum so I am adding some characters.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree Hilton and was a great experience. Wonderful location- close to NIH and many nearby facilities. Rooms were clean, staff very helpful and it offers late night dine-in options. This is the hotel of choice for my business trips to Bethesda, and I have a great stay each time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Velma, we appreciate your kind feedback. I am glad we are your choice for your home away from home. We will continue to ensure that you have a valuable experience each and every time that we are privileged to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Rooms were decent, staff, was polite. Room service was a disaster both nights I stayed. I am 8 months pregnant so I didn't feel like going out. The Pasta Prima Vera was cooked noodles with watered down soup on top of it the second night I ordered it. The following morning they completly missed my breakfast order. I expected more from a hotel that costs this much. I will likely be avoiding the Doubletree in Bethesda in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you Jodi for taking the time to share your experience with us. While I am happy to see you were happy with your room and the staff, I do regret that we were unable to exceed your expectation with the quality and service of our restaurant. I have shared this feedback with our food and beverage management team for immediate follow-up. Should your travels bring you back to the area, please do not hesitate to let us know, so we can have the opportunity to reverse your impressions of our customer service. Thank you again for sharing this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Doubletree Bethesda offers a great location with easy access. You have lots of dining options nearby.

Hotel is a former Holiday Inn and while it is improving, it did still have HI feel to it with higher prices attached.

If you get a great rate, give it a go but there are better options available!

Room Tip: away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I've stayed at this property since it was a Holiday Inn, and it's now a Doubletree. The biggest improvement is in speed of elevators, but this visit was enhanced by some special attention to fix a problem. The fixer was Togi at the front desk. A valuable employee

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.