We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
RoofTop Poolside Package
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manipal, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A cozy place that is friendly and warm. The rooms are spartan but comfortable and clean; the free WiFi adds to the charm! Moreover, it is strategically located to various restaurants and the Metro. And yes, I must mention the complimentary cookies...delicious!! Overall a good experience, thank you...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Suma, I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. The convenience to our hotel to Shops, Restaurants and the Metro is truly a plus for us. We hope to see you again soon, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    282
    133
    68
    31
See reviews for
184
127
44
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The chair and ottoman in the room were not fit to sit in as the cord around the furniture was unraveling and simply disgusting. The room was very dusty. The clock in the room was set at a time that was 10 hours off and when trying to set the correct time, dust was everywhere on the clock as well. I am in this area at least twice a year for business meeting and was totally shocked about the condition of this room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Miss Brown, our chairs and ottoman are in the process of being replaced with new ones. We have since located and removed the chair from the room you stayed in. We are also replacing our clocks with a newer and more up to date design. The next time you return these changes will make your stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend. Check-in was quick. Hotel is about 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro so fairly convenient (they do have a shuttle that will take you to two different metro stations). Free WiFi (always a plus in my book). Many restaurants of various price ranges close by. The bartender was the only bad experience we had. He was a Falcons fan and wasn't friendly or helpful to me or my husband (Ravens fans). Otherwise, I can highly recommend this hotel for its rooms (comfortable and clean), location (near metros and has a shuttle), and eating options (many choices, varied price ranges).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Jspoke, It's great to know that you enjoyed your time with us in Bethesda. Your experience with our Bartender is quite unusual; we usually receive nice compliments about him. I hope you come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not the best place to stay. Room was shabby and there were holes and stains in the furniture. I was overcharged for parking, although they did correct that error when I brought it to their attention. Restaurant was gross. Breakfast for 4 was $50 and the order was messed up. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Sharon, we are in the process of phasing in our new furniture for our guest rooms. We usually receive great feedback about our restaurant. Thanks for your feedback and I hope you try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Arrived late on a Saturday night with my daughter, the staff where very friendly and check in was easy.
We had a twin room, which was well presented, clean but a little basic even thought it catered for our needs. Location good for DC and there is a shuttle bus to the Metro if required, if not 30 mins in a taxi to DC.
Valet Parking is additional but there is a car park across the road which is free on Fri night, Sat, Sun until 7am Monday morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Eddielumard, thanks for your feedback. I am so glad you appreciated our friendly staff. We take a lot of pride in making our guest feel at home. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Replace hideous wall panels in elevators, replace worn furniture, vacuum the rooms, provide more than one washcloth for two guests in the same room. Phone on desk did not work. Radio did not work. Coffee maker did not work. I called to ask about cancellation policy, was put on hold for five minutes. A different person picked up, and hung up on me mid-sentence. When I asked how to set the time on the clock radio, I was told it was too complicated. They had to send engineering to set it while we were out. Time for you to replace the clock radios with a more user-friendly model. Motion sensors on the thermostat? Terrible idea!!!!! When the room is not occupied, the A/C turns off so we get to come back to a sweltering room at the end of the day. All these problems and your main concern is whether I got a warm cookie when I checked in? You must be joking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Sir, thanks for speaking to us today 8/23/13. We wanted to call and speak to you directly because of the multiple issues you reported. We appreciate you telling us how great our staff was when you reported two of the issues; also, we now understand that you were frustrated with other things unrelated to your experience with us. We hope you give us another chance to serve you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked this room on internet. It is very good for the price. The room is big with two double beds. It is good for three of us. The in-room internet access (both wireless and wired) is free. The people in the hotel are very frinedly and helpful. We checked in on Saturday and checked out on Monday. We planned to pay $12 for Saturday night and $22 for Sunday night, but the people in charge of the valet parking told us that we can park in the nearby public parking for free, since it is the weekend. It saved us $43 total, because I have to pay $1 to the meter for Monday morning from 7:00am to 8:15am. The location of the hotel is very good too. It is within walking distance to Metro Medical Center Station. Overall we had a very good experinece with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. It is very rewarding to know that our wonderful staff took such great care of you. Our free robust wireless service is always a highlight for our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
1.7 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.