We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like it used to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
“Not like it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past and have always been satisfied. This time things were different. The room was nice, but on closer inspection we could see the carpet was dirty. We found an old hair clip on the floor which was still there when we left, which made us wonder if the room had been vacuumed. The chair was stained and worn. We called and also went down to the front desk for extra coffee. Each time we were told it would be sent up, but it never was. We ended up having to go to Starbuck's in the morning. We went up to the rooftop pool but did not feel comfortable. They had loud music playing and selling bottles of alcohol. The price of the room was very good and the area is nice. It is close to DC and there are lots of restaurants in walking distance. Right now we are not sure if we will return to this Doubletree.

Green Features: We like the fact that they encourage recycling and provide containers to do so.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    285
    136
    70
    31
See reviews for
187
128
46
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night to catch the metro into dc the next mirning. The hitel was pretty clean, staff was nice, and the cookie was the bomb! It wasn't a luxury hotel, but wasn't ghetto. Perfectly adequate. The ac in our room sure did struggle though. Looks like it was a crappier hotel thats been renovated on a budget. I'd stay there again probably.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice in the last 3 weeks, and we're going back again this weekend. It has become our home away from home when visiting Washington, DC. Great hotel, close to the Metro and the downtown DC area. Hotel is situated in a neighborhood full of a variety of ethnic restaurants. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Terrible front desk staff. There was never anyone working on the front desk when I needed assistance. I had to wait around for someone to show up. Very rude front desk staff. Rooms were nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Room was very spacious. Light bulb went out in one of the lamps but that was not a big deal to me. There were plenty of stores and restaurants around the hotel to go to and eat or get something you may have forgotten. Very nice place. Great for smaller scale conferences. Had great foods/snacks available during conference as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Thank you so much for the kind words. Honestly, I appreciate your recognition. Please come back again soon. Be sure to check our doubletreebethesda.com for our new summer pool package and special promotions, there are great deals to be had for your next visit. Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were very disappointed by the party atmosphere of this hotel. We were looking for a relaxing stay, but instead indurred people hanging out in the hallways partying late at night and a mess at the pool from people hanging out at the pool in the evening, drinking, etc.. The accomodations were fine, but our experience was not what we expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Hello Robert, I really appreciate you taking the time out to let us know of your experience. The CC on file is for booking the room however on arrival you have the option of presenting that same Credit Card or a cash deposit which is $25.00 per night for incidentals. In reference to the parking the hotel only does Valet parking which is charged to the rooms and you settle at the end of your stay. Therefore the difference from your deposit was what was refunded to you on departure. All this information is stated on our web site and at the Desk when you check in. I hope this clarifies what really happens.Thanks for your feedback and I hope you try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

You have to pay 100.00 cash when checking in? for damages? really, I thought that's why they had our cc on file? Then when checking out, they kept 25.00 of it for parking? No-one said anything about being charged for parking! Paid to much for hotel, didn't look like it did on line.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, July 18, 2015
Hey Robert B,

I really do appreciate your feedback and wanted to better help you understand what happens when you make a booking. The CC on file is only held for the booking of the room and is not charged until you present it on arrival or your second option is a Cash deposit which is what you have decided to do. The cash deposit is $25.00 per night for incidentals. In reference to the parking, the hotel only does Valet parking which is charged to your room and is settled at the end of your stay however you wish to pay. Apparently you had cash on the account so it withdrew the amount from there and you got the difference which was refunded to you. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
0.0 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.