We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask about Middle School Tours” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2015 - New Years Party!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ask about Middle School Tours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at this property May 2013 for two nights while at business meetings in Bethesda and Rockville. Metro access just OK, as it's a bit of a hike from the Bethesda stop. Rooms average with wear and tear evident on some of the furniture. Prices good for the area with our corporate discount, not sure about rack rates.

The big 'aha' had to do with the middle schoolers. The hotel caters to school tours. The kids were great, but be prepared. Chaperones were merciless - pounding on doors at 6:00 a.m. to wake kids up, with periodic pounding to make sure the kids were roused. Kids are active and nocturnal creatures, so there was quite a bit of ambient noise. The breakfast area was overrun, too noisy to be able to carry on a conversation until the busses rolled out.

So, all in all may be OK, but check to see if it's in school tour season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello BGTom, we appreciate your feedback. Overwhelmingly, our guests are happy with our access to the nearby metro and shuttle that we provide. Regarding school groups in our hotel, we have not had these kinds of complaints in the past; we have always insisted that our groups follow our house rules and respect other guests who needs peace and quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    244
    116
    57
    22
See reviews for
163
107
39
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family stayed at the Doubletree while visiting friends. It is about 6-8 blocks from Metro, so not as convenient as some other Bethesda properties if you are relying solely on train. But we drove most places, so parking was more affordable here than in downtown Bethesda, and we could get to the freeway/Beltway quickly. There is a nice Mexican restaurant right next to hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and they were especially nice to our son.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for a special rate. Not sure what their regular prices are, but it was $129 per night plus $20 to park. The hotel is pretty mediocre - clean, but a little run down and very limited services. The neighborhood seems a little shady. It's still in a good location for visiting DC, half mile to the metro stop. There is a shuttle, but it runs to the NIH metro stop, not the closer one in downtown Bethesda. The valets and desk clerks were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Located a few (~7) metro stops from central Washington DC and situated in a very nice quite neighbourhood. Price is more reasonable comparing to downtown hotels.

Initially got some bad housekeeping service and manager upgraded us to a suite.

Reception is very friendly. Breakfast is OK. A shift in-charge (from South Africa?) is very helpful as well resolving some service issues. And GM gave us a courtesy call afterwards which is very comforting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The great service starts with the gentlemen who do the valet parking and continues with every employee ! Our stay could not have been better. Kudos to the front desk staff who always went out of their way with water, cookies, directions and suggestions of where to go and what to see. There was always a good morning and a welcome back in the afternoon. I would defnitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

great hotel, great price and convienent location! My family went to walk in the National Epilepsy Walk in Washington D.C. We made a weekend of it and took in a lot of the wonderful attractions that D.C. has to offer. We went to the Smithsonian, Air & Space Museum & the Smithsonian National Zoo on Sunday. Great weekend get a way for family for a cause that meant so much to our family and the fact that our hotel was clean and quiet was a great bonus!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east stroudsburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We chose the Double Tree based mainly on the price along with its proximity to American University. The hotel was very clean and the staff was top notch. We arrived about 8:30 in the evening and after spending 5 hours in the car were tired and hungry, needless to say the kids were thrilled to be greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies. After going to our room which was a lot larger than I expected we went down to the hotel restaurant and boy were we surprised by the quality of the food. I definitely would recommend this hotel and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.