We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Roof Top Poolside Package
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel has valet only parking for $22 a day. The WiFi is spotty. Those are the only negative comments I can make. The service was great, especially for the night desk staff. The beds are really comfortable. The views are nice. Great location away from the noise of the city, but close enough to drive into DC. Free shuttle to the Metro stop.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear SEFowler, thank you for sending your feedback. Our recently upgraded Wifi service is usually a positive experience in our hotel. Thank you for pointing out our great service levels, great view of Bethesda from our guest rooms and convenient shuttle service to the Metro; these are a few of our many features that we are very proud of. If you happen to return for a visit in the summer remember to take advantage of our roof top pool, where the fun and view of Bethesda is spectacular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    207
    99
    49
    19
See reviews for
140
93
35
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'm Diamond in Hilton's frequent guest program. I've stayed at many different Hilton properties across the nation. I've stayed at the DoubleTree Bethesda a great many times over the last two years as they are just blocks from my company HQ. But there are numerous hotels nearby including another Hilton property.

I stay here because the staff is truly top-notch. The folks at the front desk greet me like family when I arrive late at night after a long day of travel. It's a small thing but it makes a difference. I stay here because the beds and pillows are wonderful! Can't say the same for all hotels. I stay here because the food is good and the place is always clean.

Simply a great hotel for business travel to Bethesda.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear LPR9, your feedback is flattering in many ways and we appreciate it. We sincerely make an extra effort to treat our late arriving guests with the same special welcome as we do the early guest arrivals. Practicing consistency in service and showing appreciation to our guests is truly one of our great strengths. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a standard Doubletree hotel but the service is a step up from most. The desk clerks were extremely helpful and pleasant and made my stay special. The rooms are clean and the linens are of good quality. There is a decent fitness center on the roof with three treadmills, some elliptical machines and stationary bikes. There is a second area sort of hidden around the corner that has some weights. The cardio machines are of good quality and have their own tvs. The fitness center opens at 5:00am which was nice as by shortly after 6:00am there were waits for some of the machines. (There are also some private gyms in the area including Equinox.)

The downside of the hotel is its location. It is about halfway between the NIH metro station and Bethesda so it is a bit of a walk if you have luggage (the hotel has a shuttle that runs intermittently). When I needed a cab at check out, it was a 15 minute wait. Do call ahead. That said, if you don’t mind walking a little bit, you do all the restaurants of Bethesda available. (If location is a priority, try the Hyatt above the Bethesda station or the Embassy Suites above the Friendship Heights. Of the three, the Embassy Suites is the best.) The food at the hotel is just ok, but again, the staff are very nice. And remember, Doubletree hotels give out warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in. It was a nice treat when I arrive at midnight following a weather delayed flight.

Room Tip: Some rooms have refrigerators which can be helpful if you want to keep snacks in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello Runkate, thank you for the compliment about our staff; we believe that our warm and caring staff set us apart from the other hotels in Bethesda. You pointed out some of our great features that you noticed during your experience with us; we sincerely appreciate that. Regarding location, we usually receive high marks in this area from our guests. The hotel is situated in a great part of Bethesda, blocks away from the Bethesda shopping district, hundreds of trendy restaurants and bars are within blocks of the hotel. We are also literally walking distance from NIH and Walter Reed facilities which many visitors appreciate. Also, not only do we provide shuttle service to NIH and Walter Reed, we also provide shuttle service every 30 minutes to and from the metro which is only 6 walk-able blocks away?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel cleanliness was outstanding! Would definitely recommend for future accomodations. Eateries were within walking distance. The staff were the best. Friendly and courteous is synonomous with Hilton establishments. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and encourage others to check out this location. Great proximity to Walter Reed, during rush hour traffic it took a total of about 8 minutes to get to WR. This was an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Always check out the hotel reviews prior to booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello Simone, I shared your feedback with our team of employees and they were all smiles. Your feedback is like fuel to our system (smile). Thank you for pointing out some of our key features; we believe that our proximity to the Metro, Shops, Trendy Restaurants like “Guapo’s” (one of my favorites), NIH and Walter Reed makes us one of the top choices for hotel accommodation in Bethesda. We also, recently introduced a Share small plate concept in our own restaurant, and I must tell you it’s already turning heads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here 3 years ago and the service in the restaurant was VERY poor. This stay was much more pleasant. The bed was comfortable and the room was set up ideally (separate sink and mirror outside of bathroom). Didn't use the restaurant but a staff member went out of his way to get me a cup of coffee at the bar after the coffee counter had closed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Lynn, I am glad that your recent experience with us was pleasant. We have had a management change as of 2012 and have seen a remarkable spike in customer satisfaction. We have since invested quite a bit to improve our facilities; during your trip you might have noticed the new state of the art exercise equipment on the Pent House level in our fitness center, as well as our newly installed more robust wireless internet systems. Our new lobby Starbucks coffee bar and our Share small plate restaurant menu is also a popular choice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree due to walking distance to Walter Reed and the National Institute of Health. Room was comfortable with a great area to work from. They have a morning breakfast buffet in addition to ordering off the menu (cost for both). At night, they have a full bar and resturant. I had dinner and drinks there one night. Good food with typical prices for a hotel restaurant/bar. The pool is rooftop and outdoors; therefore, it is closed during the winter/cold weather. Great fitness room also on the top floor next to the pool. They only have valet parking and that was $22 a night. Overall, will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, I wanted to say a big thank you for your kind feedback. I hope you really come back in the summer to enjoy the roof top pool you mentioned; I can tell you, there is no better view of Bethesda. When you get back to the area, don’t forget to check out the Bethesda shopping district blocks away from the hotel, it is a lot of fun. Also, we shuttle our guests to the Metro for easy/convenient access
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was surprised to find the room rates for this hotel were well below those for the american inn which is next door. However, paying $12/day for valet parking the prices even out and this hotel does not supply free breakfast. The rooms were larger and cleaner than the american inn. I had stayed at this hotel before for about twice the amount that I was charged during my last trip. I think the hotel rates are higher during the summer time. Breakfast buffet was good, but pricy for what you get. However, $17 for breakfast I think is the norm for large hotel chains. Air handling system was very noisy and if you put the temperature down during the winter, it does not shut off but instead starts blowing frigid air into the room.

Room Tip: Try and get the upgrade to the 12th floor for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello Harring, I am pleased that you were able to find a bargain deal with us; I am also pleased to know that you think the hotel was worth a lot more than what you paid. We like to purposely load these lower rates sometimes, especially on the weekends to introduce our newly renovated hotel to guests coming to the area. We believe our hotel has great value, second to none in the Bethesda area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.