We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Roof Top Poolside Package
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here 3 years ago and the service in the restaurant was VERY poor. This stay was much more pleasant. The bed was comfortable and the room was set up ideally (separate sink and mirror outside of bathroom). Didn't use the restaurant but a staff member went out of his way to get me a cup of coffee at the bar after the coffee counter had closed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Lynn, I am glad that your recent experience with us was pleasant. We have had a management change as of 2012 and have seen a remarkable spike in customer satisfaction. We have since invested quite a bit to improve our facilities; during your trip you might have noticed the new state of the art exercise equipment on the Pent House level in our fitness center, as well as our newly installed more robust wireless internet systems. Our new lobby Starbucks coffee bar and our Share small plate restaurant menu is also a popular choice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    195
    96
    48
    18
See reviews for
127
86
34
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree due to walking distance to Walter Reed and the National Institute of Health. Room was comfortable with a great area to work from. They have a morning breakfast buffet in addition to ordering off the menu (cost for both). At night, they have a full bar and resturant. I had dinner and drinks there one night. Good food with typical prices for a hotel restaurant/bar. The pool is rooftop and outdoors; therefore, it is closed during the winter/cold weather. Great fitness room also on the top floor next to the pool. They only have valet parking and that was $22 a night. Overall, will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, I wanted to say a big thank you for your kind feedback. I hope you really come back in the summer to enjoy the roof top pool you mentioned; I can tell you, there is no better view of Bethesda. When you get back to the area, don’t forget to check out the Bethesda shopping district blocks away from the hotel, it is a lot of fun. Also, we shuttle our guests to the Metro for easy/convenient access
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was surprised to find the room rates for this hotel were well below those for the american inn which is next door. However, paying $12/day for valet parking the prices even out and this hotel does not supply free breakfast. The rooms were larger and cleaner than the american inn. I had stayed at this hotel before for about twice the amount that I was charged during my last trip. I think the hotel rates are higher during the summer time. Breakfast buffet was good, but pricy for what you get. However, $17 for breakfast I think is the norm for large hotel chains. Air handling system was very noisy and if you put the temperature down during the winter, it does not shut off but instead starts blowing frigid air into the room.

Room Tip: Try and get the upgrade to the 12th floor for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello Harring, I am pleased that you were able to find a bargain deal with us; I am also pleased to know that you think the hotel was worth a lot more than what you paid. We like to purposely load these lower rates sometimes, especially on the weekends to introduce our newly renovated hotel to guests coming to the area. We believe our hotel has great value, second to none in the Bethesda area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. The furnishings are nice and there was room for a king bed and a sitting area with two chairs. There was nothing particularly spectacular about my stay, but I had no complaints either. There are some shops and small restaurants within walking distance. There is a shuttle to NIH. I didn't eat there so I don't know how good the food is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello FreqFlyMom, It seems you did not get a chance to take full advantage of our great amenities. We have some of the most spacious/beautiful suites you will find in the Bethesda area; you can request this upgrade for a small difference in price the next time you visit the area. You can also grab a hot cup of coffee, pastry, sandwich or salad to go from our lobby Starbucks coffee shop; or relax at our Share Wine Bar where you will discover a variety of tasty wine blends. Ask to speak to our restaurant manager who you will discover to be a knowledgeable wine connoisseur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was spacious and comfortable. The King size bed was very comfortable. The small frig and microwave were a blessing since we were there a week. It was very quiet also, none of that running and banging around and listening to the person next doors TV. There were a few down sides though. They pre authorize about 300 dollars in case of "essentials". Not sure what essentials you would need for that amount. Also we didn't eat in their restaurant because at the bottom of the menu it stated a 20% gratuity would be added to the bill and split between the servers, plus an additional 3 dollars. It didn't say what the additional three dollars was for. Needless to say, I tip according to my service and I don't feel it should be added to your bill. There is no parking it is all Valet at 22 dollars a night in their spacious underground parking garage. The parking attendants were very nice and helpful and deserved a good tip. I reserved from the Hilton site and got the best room rate. Not a bad stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the better room on the higher floor you will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Regarding the menu and gratuity, I understand your point completely. I will certainly look into this and make necessary adjustments. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon for a pleasant dining experience in our new Share Concept restaurant..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for business overnight ----- The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Wifi was fast.

My only issue was the heater. It ran constantly, and was very loud. I had to turn it off to get to sleep. If the heater was not so loud I would have rated it higher.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for sending your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our guest rooms. We have a very aggressive daily preventative maintenance program to ensure quiet and effective HVAC units for our guests; we will try to trace your feedback to this room that needs attention. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree while visiting family in Rockville, MD. The location on Wisconsin Ave. which becomes Rockville Pike, was perfect. The hotel is also close to Betheda Military Hospital and the NIH. Restaurants are very close and the hotel has a fine breakfast buffet (not included) and a good quality evening restaurtant. We found the parking charges high. There is a county parking garage nearby, but we used the hotel parking for security and the convenience of valet service. Our one complaint was that the room was not made up one day (of a nine-day stay). The maid knocked on our door before we left at 9:30 AM and apparently forgot to come back. We had clean towels sent up and were not horribly inconvenienced. The best thing we loved was the coffee bar in the lobby. We bought fresh Starbucks coffee every morning, and got free refills before we left for the day. That and the Doubletree cookies are very nice touches. The bed and linens were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to send your feedback on your experience with us. It appeared that you enjoyed your overall experience. I would like to apologize for the housekeeping issue you had that one day. We do not take lightly the maintenance and cleaning of our guest rooms; so I must say that it is quite unusual that the housekeeper did not return to clean your room. Often times some guests forget that they placed a DND sign on the door and leave for the day. We hope to see you again soon for a problem free experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.