We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice when visiting DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Roof Top Poolside Package
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Latham, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great choice when visiting DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

This was a great choice for us while visiting DC for a long weekend. The rooms were clean and nicely updated. It is a little less than a mile walk to a metro station. The price was excellent for so close to the DC metro area. The breakfast buffet, a little pricey at $15, was good, but nothing special. Do not go for a tour of DC without breakfast, you will become grumpy fast. Excellent business center, 6 new computers and a fast laser printer. Free printing. Don't forget the great cookies at check-in. They did not allow us to check-in early either, we arrived around 11am, they checked our bags for us and off we went.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Unaware that they had a metro station shuttle until our last day there.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    188
    92
    45
    18
See reviews for
121
84
34
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

I booked 2 rooms at this property for a recent family getaway and am thoroughly disgusted with my experience.

I advised the Hotel that I would be arriving early after a trans-con redeye flight. I was told that checking in early would not be a problem. Well....

The "General Manager" (who, incidentally was not) told me that it was unheard of in the hotel industry to accomodate early check in. At nearly 11A, he told me that nobody had checked out, and that since the hotel was full the night previous, I would have to wait until 4p to check in. Irritated, I placed my belongings in my family member's room and set out.

At 3p, I returned to the hotel, deliriously tired. My "assigned" room was not ready, but I was sent to another. 15th floor - VERY high ceilings - ok, great. I crashed.

At 5:30p, I attempted to take a hot shower. It was luke warm, but I didn't think much of it. (Read: delirious)

That night, I tried to put belongings in the safe provided. Whoops - it wasn't bolted down, nor did it have power for the key pad. Picky details! I hid things and hoped for the best.

The next evening, I asked for a wake up call from a nap - foolish me, I expected it. Never happened. Then, I attempted to take a shower - but had no hot water. I reported this to the manager on duty - incidentially also the hotel's restaurant manager. I checked in with him when I returned to the property, and he reported that I had hot water. By the time I got to my room - tepid at best. A parade of people and suggestions came through - ultimately what we learned - "You need to let the water run for at least 5 mintues to warm up the pipes." Fascinating!

The next morning....hot shower. Without warming the pipes.

I wanted a Chai tea latte - there was a "serving Starbucks" sign in the lobby. So.....tried, they dont have it. No worries - how about a hot chocolate? Sure! For $3, you can have 2 packets of Nestle and some hot water. Noooo thanks. Most hotels would hand you Nestle packets gratis.

There was nothing great about this property - the parking attendants were slower than anything I've seen and didn't manage to understand that in the US, cars are ALWAYS driven on the RIGHT side of the road. The rooms were OK, but the renovations didn't apply to providing clean tile for the bathrooms. Oh, and...they provide free internet, but at 256K bps. Neat!

Great location - especially for NIH folks - but really misses the mark on some very important issues.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

The hotel is still ironing out some problems after finally finishing their renovations.

We had the strangest waiter in the restaurant for dinner. He was inattentive and clearly did not enjoy his job. The food was overpriced. Some was excellent and some was less than mediocre. Later that night half of us were really sick with vomitting and diarhea. (FYI they do not offer a kids menu at dinner, only breakfast and lunch. Bizarre.) Also they light four gazillion candles so it is REALLY HOT and uncomfortable.

The sleeping rooms have just been renovated and are beautiful. The conference area is very nice too.

This is not very close to the metro, so if you are vacationing and spending a lot of time in DC, you might want to stay some place closer to the metro like the Hyatt Bethesda or the Chevy Chase Embassy Suites.

If you get a good deal and are here on business you will probably enjoy yourself as long as you eat offsite. There are plenty of great restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Liked — The sleeping room decor
  • Disliked — The food in the restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

I stayed here while visiting DC as it was the closest hotel to DC for which I had enough Hilton points. I had a jr suite which provided lots of space. The hotel and room were clean and functional. The room furnishings were looking a bit tired, but there was nothing wrong with them.

There was construction going on in the garage, with made the lobby impossibly noisy during the day. The room was quite though.

HH gold members have access to the “pantry” room which provides a small selection of snacks and drinks. The snacks consisted of chips, M&Ms, chocolate bars, and cereal bars. There is a freezer with ice cream, popsicles, etc too. They also had pizza and burgers in the freezer, but they were really nasty. Unless you are desperate, go out for some food.

Breakfast was the usual selections of bread, fruit, eggs, etc.

The hotel provides an hourly shuttle to the nearby metro stations. It is also a walking distance.

I would stay here again in similar circumstances. As a tourist, it would have been nicer to be closer to DC though.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

I must say that our stay at the Doubletree hotel in Bethesda, MD was one of the best that we have had in quite some time.

My family and I like to frequent the DC area often and we choose a different area each time. This visit we decided to stay in Bethesda which is about a 20 minute trip by the Metro to Washington.

We won this hotel for $50 thru Priceline which is well below the hotel rate. They have it rated as a 3 star but in time I feel it could become a 4. With Priceline you tend not to find Doubletree hotels any higher than a 3 star but after further future reviews and the amenities it offers I feel it could change.

Upon arrival to the hotel you are greeted by the valet staff. As the previous review stated, they will explain to you their services and the price for parking each night. They were very friendly and that's important because they're the first ones from the hotel you see.

From there you enter the hotel and check in. Never once did they treat you as second best because of a Priceline win where as other hotels we've stayed at has. I requested a room with 2 beds and non-smoking and was granted both. And of course they give each member of the party that great cookie!

We then went to our room and was pleased with how big it was. It had a large desk with chair along with complementary internet. In the corner was a chair with stool to relax in and watch the flat screen Dell TV that sat in a nice entertainment center. Then of course there were the beds which were very comfortable. The bathroom was of nice size with a big sink and adjustable shower head.

As for what the hotel offers; It has a fitness facility on the top floor along with a rooftop pool (seasonal). Down in the lobby there's a Starbucks, a restaurant, a sushi bar and a wine bar. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner each day and the food was great!

Now for the area that impressed us the most, the staff. From top to bottom they were all the best! We were fortunate enough to meet the General Manager of the hotel by the name of Michael and what a great guy he was. It's easy to see why the staff is so good. They are all very people oriented and truly care how your stay is going.

When visiting this hotel you will definitely see a difference from others. It's becoming a trendy spot that will please all ages.
I feel in time you will get reviews explaining this further along with the new ideas taking place that will leave you impressed and in awe! Try it out.

In closing, I'm the most critical person when it comes to hotel stays and I know this sounds all to good but it really is. Great job to all at the Doubletree hotel in Bethesda!
.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

I travel fairly extensively thoughout the mid Atlantic region of the US for work, and booked the Doubletree Bethesda to be close to my work locations in McLean and downtown DC. The hotel is in downtown Bethesda, MD, and is surrounded by literally hundreds of mom & pop type restaurants within walking distance down streets that reminded me of an eclectic college town.

The hotel is almost completed with renovations, and the lobby was decked out in marble and mahogany trim. There was a full service Starbucks in the lobby, alongside the hotel restaurant, which served a decent breakfast buffet (free for Hilton Honors members).

My room was on the 10th floor and had a great view of the city - in fact, that is how I decided where I was going to walk for dinner. California Tortilla was just 1 block down the street, past many other street-side restaurants of all flavors. The room had been freshly remodelled, and was decorated in new urban simplicity, complete with a working desk and entertainment center with a Dell flat panel TV.

Wired high speed internet access was also available, with 500mbps speeds for $9.95 per night. The internet access at this hotel was actually fast - I don't encounter that too often.

The only place to park at the hotel is in the garage, directly beneath it, and upon pulling through the entrance for check-in, a valet will greet you and explain that the hotel only has valet parking (at $20 per day, plus tips). This was convenient, but I also have a nice expense account, and work doesn't harrass me about such expenses. I could see this as a potential negative for someone paying out of pocket that is looking for cheap or free parking - because it doesn't exist downtown where the hotel is located.

Overall, this was an excellent hotel for its service, decor, and proximity to DC, McLean, and Reagan National Airport (10 miles to either, approx 25 mins in DC traffic). I will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Hotel decor and proximity to so many great restaurants
  • Disliked — Nothing really...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

I think this will be a great place to stay in the future, but right now it's unethical that this hotel is operating. When I booked my 3-night stay, no one told me about the construction. Let me start by discussing the positives--the location is good, the staff was very friendly, and the rooms are quite comfortable. However, none of this really matters when you are woken at 7:00am by drilling and hammering or when the electricity is shut down for four hours or when the water is turned off for five hours. No kidding. Sure, the price is lower than other hotels in the area, but not low enough to make up for the lack of sleep and showering. Just be forewarned--or maybe ask for a super discount...

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.