We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree over Christmas while visiting family in the Bethesda area. The hotel was clean, the staff courteous, and the breakfast (included in the room rate) was good. The hotel in convenient to several major hospitals and is walking distance to a cute area with restaurants and Starbucks. We'll stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated. Consistency, warmth and excellence are our culture and I am happy that you enjoyed the experience. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with our team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    210
    103
    49
    19
See reviews for
147
94
35
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for four nights over Christmas in 2012. In general I found this hotel to be a great choice for downtown Bethesda, certainly better value and equal amenities to the much pricier Hyatt down the street, which I have reviewed in the past. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The hotel is modern and clean with a starbucks and a restaurant/bar in the lobby. I had a cup of coffee from the starbucks and didn't try the food in the restaurant (visiting family so ate meals out) but it was a pleasant space.

Fitness center is excellent with new life fitness treadmills and good ellipticals, set of free weights, pleasantly located on the penthouse level so the room is bright and airy.

Room was extremely large if a little dark, bed incredibly comfortable. Got some great sleep while staying here. Maid service prompt and thorough.

There is a $15 fee for valet parking (and parking is valet only). I used the garage across the street which is free on weekends and holidays and only availed myself of the valets once, they were very pleasant and prompt.

My only gripe is that as a hilton gold member the perks seem sort of limited- there's a "pantry" that you can help yourself from at any hour and you pick between points and free breakfast. The pantry contains 100% junk food, I would prefer a rooftop lounge or something for gold members.

I recommend this hotel for a stay in Bethesda, it was extremely pleasant and the price was unbeatable for the quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It gives us great joy whenever our customers feel that they are winners after their experience with us. Providing competitive value and excellent service is our top priority. Thanks for choosing us, and we hope to serve you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had a nice lunch ( the food was ok) and work out before my meeting. Clean rooms and great customer service. Idid manage to get a cookie. Valet parking was fast and easy. It was close to many restaurants that you could easily walk to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, had an excellent stay. Room was spacious, clean, modern. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice starbucks right in the lobby if you don't want to sit down for big breakfast. Free wifi! Walking distance to metro and lots of restaurants.

Will note that my stay as a guest was excellent, but as the organizer of a small meeting had a slightly different experience. Room was well set up and easy to use, but took a long time to get an answer on questions in advance, people weren't always easy to locate. Still, overall a fine experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Line area-Philadelphia, PA USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a conference held within the hotel. The conference facilities were great and very convenient. The hotel is about a mile from the metro station. Service was very good, food just OK. There is no spa. The room was very basic, with no mini bar, refrigerator or anything special. The usual $5.00 bottle of water is provided. On the positive side, you do get free wifi which was of good quality throughout the hotel. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Lots of good restaurants within a block or two and I'd suggest eating out where possible. The food provided for the conference was reasonable however. If you are looking for a place to stay for a day or two, this is just fine. If looking for a vacation resort, there are better options.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a quick, bullet point review: the Good:
* Large Rooms recently renovated
* Excellent Location
* Priced Right
* Extremely comfortable beds
* Service at wine bar/restaurant was excellent
* Bath was clean
* The warm cookie at check in is a nice welcome--too bad they aren't provided every day!

The Not So Good:
* I was never able to get hot water from the shower and warm water was spotty at the sink. I noted this on the repair comment card first night, but nothing was done. At checkout, I did indicate my unhappiness at not having hot water in my room-a small compensation was given for my restaurant bill, which I appreciated but I would have expected more since hot water would seem to be a basic.
* Rooms have heating/air conditioning via wall units-which I have found are always noisy.
* Although I did not need to park a car, it does not appear that there is enough on site parking available.
* It did not appear my room was vacuumed at any time during my stay (3 nights) based on observations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Togi M, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Although you have highlighted some positive aspects of your recent stay with us, we do appreciate the details of your concerns, so we can address and correct the deficiencies. Thank you again for taking valuable time to share your comments and for selecting our property for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.