We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Doubletree” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2015 - New Years Party!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Standard Doubletree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hotel has a great location near NIH campus and downtown Bethesda. There are shuttles to the NIH. Hotel was under construction when I stayed so the aesthetics were difficult to stay. Otherwise, uneventful stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is clear that you have not visited the property since your stay 10 months ago. During that time we were in the process of wrapping up our remodel and now we are proud to offer a unique departure from the "standard". We hope that you will visit us when back in the area to really enjoy our new hotel features including the new lobby, new guest floors, new 42" flat panel TV's with oversized dressers and newly remodeled bathrooms just to name a few. Thank you again for your timeand feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    244
    116
    57
    22
See reviews for
163
107
39
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This recently renovated hotel has an updated lobby, resturant, bar, wine bar and if you are a Hilton member, you will gain access to the "pantry" which is a small room containing all types of goodies from breakfast foods to snacks to candy to ice cream to various non-alcoholic drinks.

The room I stayed in was very large and spacious, quiet and had a super comfortable bed.

The valet parking was affordable ($20 vs $36 at place close to D.C.) and quick when I requested my car. They also did not charge extra for in/out parking -- that saved me some money right away.

Also, if you want to travel via the Metro to D.C. you can get to the Metra stop via a shuttle and they'll pick you up when you return.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel and plan to stay there if I ever need to travel back there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This room was gorgous..state of the art tvs as well very comfy bed!! Great location. Walking distance from several restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed here for our anniversary last weekend. The room was well decorated and clean, but the staff was sub-par. It took in-room dining 10 minutes to return our call, and our one slice of cake ended up being $11 after taxes and gratuity... a caveat that was explained in miniscule print on the menu. My largest complaint was noise. I called about a very loud neighbor and the front desk staff never even apologized. They did follow up about 30 minutes later, but the noise continued. Again, no apology was ever given about this circumstance. On the plus side, the free cookies are great!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Although you were able to enjoy some of what our hotel has to offer, we obviously did not meet your expectations. Guest comfort is our most important goal and our guests should not be distrurbed when here for rest and relaxation. The experience you had was not normal for us and unfortunately we were unable to relocate your room due to the proximity of your departure time that morning. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations, so please contact me directly upon consideration of travel back to the area, so I can personally insure your satisfaction. Thank you again for taking time to give us our comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

Nothing beats fast check in and warm chocolate chip cookies upon arrival. Yummers!!
Hotel has it's own restaurant and the surrounding area has quite a variety. Thai, Spanish, Houstons, Benihana, pizza joints...
No complaints on cleanliness & style rating = Very nice!
The bed is pillowy soft like you're sleeping on clouds...ahh
If you come over the weekend parking is free by the public parking lot behind the hotel, otherwise...$20 Valet. Yikes!!
All in all....best bang for my buck in a long time.
DC is about 20-30 min away
BWI about 40 min away

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Just checked in and all I can say is WOW. Really nice renovated property near lots of restaurants. Free wifi and the cookie was nice. Very quiet too. Ricky and Anita at the front desk were really knowledeable about the area and quite helpful. I will definitely make the Doubletree my first chopice when coming back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We recently stayed at the Doubletree Hotel Bethesda and found it to be a very convenient, enjoyable place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is good and they offer a free shuttle service to some area locations, including the metro stop (only about .6 mile away, but helpful when traveling with older relatives). The exercise room is good for a quick workout, but some of the machines could use a check-up. Overall, it was a good place to stay, but it was the friendly staff which really made the experience shine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.