We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Roof Top Poolside Package
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clarksburg, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had our wedding here at the Doubletree Hotel in April of 2011 and it was the best experience. We had almost all of our guests come in from out of town and they stayed here too. The staff is amazing, all of the rooms are huge and the dining is excellent! Thank you Doubletree for everything :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    210
    103
    49
    19
See reviews for
146
94
35
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Sc
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Doubletree is a fine hotel and one of the best deals around. But, what really makes it great is the staff at the front desk. Anita & Tamara were tops. Additionally, all maintenance and housekeeping staff are always pleasant. Free parking in county garage behind the hotel on the weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for two sinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I spent two nights at the Doubletree Hotel in Bethesda last October for work.
I was surprised by the nice service and rooms. Price is reasonable and location is good. some 4 blocks from the Bethesda Metro, and on Wisconsin Ave.
They also provide free internet access and speedy check out.
I do recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice weekend getaway. "pure" rooms, newly renovated. Comfey beds with lots of great pillows. Within walking distance of sooo many great restraunts. Staff great. Room service for breakfast very good, but super expensive. Overall, loved the room!

Room Tip: Floors higher up provide great view. We had a corner view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We used this hotel as the base for our wedding, and were very pleased. The rooms are nothing amazing - just basic hotel rooms that have been updated recently and show very little wear-and-tear. The staff was incredibly helpful when needed, and the location was ideal both for our rehearsal dinner and wedding itself; plus, our out-of-town guests could easily find it. The free parking in Bethesda was a rarity that we enjoyed, too!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Another quick in/quick out stay in DC for business. I only stayed one night and was not particularly impressed. I don't know what it is about Bethesda hotels and miserable room service but I am 0 for 2 in this regard. First, the hotel is not convenient to public transportation. It's in between the Bethesda and Medical Center stops, so you have a good walk dragging luggage if you come from the metro. This walk is not cute at night, as everything is dead. Anyway, I arrived late evening, and just wanted a snack instead of a full meal, so I ordered fries from room service. I waited for quite a long time and after 1 hour, I decided I ought to call. The staff member who answered couldn't say if they were coming and didn't really know what the status of the order was. Great, inspires lots of confidence that they are coming at all. Maybe 10 minutes after that room service brings the fries and says something happened and the order was never put in, or somesuch. Hardly any apology, just had me sign the bill with tip included. However, a manager then calls back and apologizes more appropriately and says he'll take the order off the bill.

But then come morning at the time of check out, the order is still on there. I asked the front desk person about it and she looked at me dubiously and asked the name of the manager who said this. Obviously I had no idea. She did take it off but it rubbed me the wrong way that 1) first they screw up a very simple order; and 2) they purport to rectify it but then don't, perhaps assuming they'll get over because I wouldn't scrutinize the bill carefully. Of course this incident doesn't exactly rate as the worst hotel experience ever, but these kinds of small things are what separate good hotels from the rest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent visit. We obviously failed to meet your expectations upon your check-in, as our room service hours expired prior to your arrival. We will be testing a late night menu of various cold sandwiches and salads to meet the need of our late arriving guests. I regret your experience and welcome the opportunity upon your return visit to exceed your expectations. Please feel free to contact the hotel and notify us of your anticipated arrival, should your travel be delayed and we will prepare a late night care packet for you. thank you again for taking the time to write us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This was my 4th visit to the Bethesda Doubletree. First, let me say they have a fantastic staff. That said, the hotel is clearly going for the large meeting market. This has its downside for those of us who are looking for a quiet place to stay. We were surrounded by loud guys, pounding on each others doors and the place was pervaded with cigar smoke. Even as we initially walked down the corridor the day before to our room, I picked up on unpleasant smoke smells. This is supposed to be a smoke free hotel. However, it is in danger of becoming "animal house", as those attending the meetings act out. I'm sad that we may not stay here again. There are also ongoing problems with their wifi. This visit I talked with a support guy in Poland. Last visit, it was a guy in Canada.

Such a great staff deserves a better environment. (And as someone else pointed out, the room carpets are sticky.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience this past weekend. Although we had various groups in the hotel celebrating and participating in several events, by no means should other patrons' behavior be obtrusive to our remaining guests. We have been and remain committed to guest comfort as our top priority and when certain guests violate the code of conduct, we immediately take action to address the matter. You are correct about our staff, as they are empowered and vigilant to address any guest need or concern brought to their attention. We hope this past experience will not deter from your return. I am requesting that you contact my office directly to make your next reservation for travel to this area, so I can guarantee your comfort and insure that we deliver in the manner to which you have been accustomed during your past visits. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.