We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED GETTING THAT WIFI FEE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bethesda Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Kindle Fire Tablet
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVED GETTING THAT WIFI FEE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stopped at this so-so hotel on way to Washington. Rate was pretty good and then they hit you with the $15 parking fee and the "hey lets give it to them good" $12.95 WIFI fee just to thank you for your loyalty. Entered our room and found 3 hair bands and some nice dental floss on the floor just inside the room and another piece of dental floss outside our bedroom. Anyway I not one of those people that are going to rip the hotel to shreds but I will say that I didnt mind paying the parking but the WIFI fee really annoyed me, considering that most hotels now make it free for loyal customers. What we decided to do though, instead of paying the WIFI fee, is we jumped into a cab with the money saved and went out to a wonderful restaurant instead of staying at the hotel that night for dinner like we had originally planned to do. We did this as a result of the insulting WIFI fee. I know it sounds petty, but I think more people need to do this, to hit the hotel where it hurts. The bar was dead, with no persons at all there, except one man using a lap to and not consuming anything at all. The restaurant was also dead, so maybe other people are doing the same thing we did. Anyway - I am not going to say the hotel is not worth visiting, but I do hope that management will read this and maybe change their WIFI policy. It doesnt cost the hotel a whole bunch of money to make it free, and your customers are less likely to leave and go other places, they will stay and eat and drink in your building while checking there emails from time to time.

Room Tip: Remember that there is parking and WIFI fee's at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello Hamiltonbhoyhoopsfan,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I appreciate you giving our hotel an opportunity to host you while away from home. I would also like to thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding the WIFI charges. In an effort to offer options for this we have created some room rate packages that include internet as part of the package. Additionally, we offer WIFI in our public space complimentary. Should your travels bring you back to this area in the future please let me know if I may be of assistance.

Safe Travels and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    85
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
34
7
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beloit, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed the evening here and were pleasantly surprised. The lobby is nicely laid out with a bar and overlooks the swimming pool and hot tub. The parking garage is behind the hotel but connected with a sky bridge on the 3rd floor.

The room itself is nice. The weird thing is the bathroom has no locks and can be entered from the bedroom or the living area (makes life difficult with kids). We had a suite with a king bed in a separate room and a family room area with sofa bed and TV. They actually have a console tv in living area and a separate LCD where in the king bed is. The service was very good and people were friendly. There is also a free washing machine and dryer on the 3rd floor in case you have to do laundry.

We also tried room service which was reasonably priced and taste good. Overall a nice hotel that just needs to be updated given the location and the price of an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Park on the 3rd floor of parking garage to get to the sky bridge that connects to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello Desi_Traveler_77,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found the staff service to be very good and that overall you had a very positive experience. We hope to have you back with us the next time your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a gala to attend on a Saturday night and decided to stay at this property for the evening. Over the several years attending this particular event (it's in the area, not at a hotel), we've always stayed at a local Marriott (Pooks Hill, Bethesda North and this one). Overall, we'd prefer the Bethesda North location.

The service at check-in at this property was perfect... Spot on! The rooms are nicely laid out and look like the "typical" Marriott Suites hotel room. It was clean, but not fully stocked, as there was only one bar of soap and none for the sink and tub. But we were able to quickly get more from the front desk. Bed was very comfy!

The bar was decent... we had a couple of drinks right after checking in. Something funny and odd that's written in bold across the bottom of the menu pages "Fresh from kitchen to table." ?!?!? As if there would be another stop for the food between the kitchen and table?!?!?
Seriously, this is tacky, almost as if they're trying to suggest farm-to-fork freshness. Not picking, just saying.

We also had breakfast the next morning, since it was included. The potatoes look really nicely prepared, but were beyond bland. The egg preparer was great! She did a perfect job making me an egg sandwich. The oatmeal (always have to get the Marriot oatmeal, it's usually GREAT!) was watery and not very enjoyable. Worst of all was the knife that was part of my set of utensils, as when using it, I was cut in the palm by a sharp spur of metal protruding from the rear of the knife. I didn't want to make a big deal of it, but did mention to the server that she should throw it out and when she saw the blood, she was very apologetic and offered a Band-Aid.

Once we were done with breakfast we asked for a couple of towels to take showers to get out ahead of an impending storm. After waiting about 20 mins in the room, we had to call the desk to ask where they were. They arrived a few minutes later.

Checkout was a breeze. The location of this property is great. parking garage is ample and easy to get in/out of.

Overall, not sure if I'd go back... Might. But the Bethesda North property was a bit better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello J E,

Thank you for the feedback concerning your recent stay. I hope you had a great time at the gala while here. I was glad to hear that your check-in went well. We appreciate your feedback about the quote at the bottom of the menu and have shared that with our culinary team. We hope that you will consider us again for a future stay along with our sister properties.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Suites Bethesda for last Sunday night on business. It was exactly what one would expect , from arrival to departure. No surprises, either pleasant or unpleasant. I suppose the bar closing before the Sunday Night football game ended was a drag, but the TV in the room was acceptable, if standard definition.

And the location could not have been more convenient for my meetings the next day.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and was given one, as far away from the elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hello Soxfannumberone,

Thank you for your post concerning your recent stay at our hotel. I was glad to hear that we were convenient for your meeting at the office nearby the next day. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Suites are clean and spacious, and breakfast is good. 2nd time we've stayed here. The garage is a ripoff, and so is the in-room wifi, as most hotels offer for free. Would rather be charged more than nickel and dimed. Lastly, we had to have our room cards swiped 4 times, which was not cool. Not sure I would come back a 3rd time.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello BCtravelpeeps,

Thank you for your recent posting about your experience at our hotel. I was glad to hear you found the suites to be clean and spacious. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room keys and appreciate you making us aware of it. Our Engineering team is looking into what may have caused this issue. We hope that you will keep us in mind for a 3rd stay and are offering packages that include wifi and parking that may be of interest to you as you look to return to the area in the future. Please let me know if I may be of any assistance as well.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel was quite good and I had stayed for a trip with my family on the way to Washington airport. The parking is charged at bit higher rate which was one disadvantage. The staff was friendly and the property is at a good location and with excellent rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello DuraimuruganTM,

Thank you for your recent posting about your experience at our hotel. I was glad to hear that our staff took great care of you and you enjoyed our suites. We hope to see you again in the near future should your travels bring you back to the Washington area.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I tagged along with my husband, who was traveling on business. We loved this hotel! Staff and management was very visible, professional and efficient. We expected to see Mr. Bill Marriott walk in the door at any moment! (Marriott International Headquarters is adjacent...) If he had, he would have been delighted. This hotel team treats the hotel as if it were their very own. Special thanks to Joey at the Democracy Grille, who remembered my name after meeting only once. He is the epitome of the Marriott family vision. We hope to return again. Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell Myers

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello Mr. And Mrs. Mitchell Myers,

I really enjoyed reading your post and look forward to sharing your feedback with Joey. He is a tremendous asset for our team and it is great to hear that he is perceived the same way by our guests. Please let me know if I may ever be of assistance in the future.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and inviting hospitality welcomes guests to the Bethesda Marriott Suites, a sophisticated hotel in North Bethesda, where travelers can enjoy some of the largest guestrooms in the county. Conveniently situated near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and three major airports, our hotel's North Bethesda location is just 30 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. Making it an ideal choice for family vacations, business travel or extended-stay needs. Large guest rooms feature warm tones, a separate living room and large bedroom, all designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Plush bedding ensembles, king-size beds and high-tech amenities combine to insure an outstanding hotel experience with convenient access to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. Our Bethesda hotel's free shuttle service to the Metro and other local points, makes it easy to enjoy area museums, monuments, restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.