We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott Suites

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Free WiFi
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked this hotel last minute on Priceline for a great price. Really enjoyed the stay. Fantastic lobby and pool. Parking fairly convenient for Bethesda and only $15 per night. Rooms are all king suites and quite large. Comfortable beds and pillows. Very clean with updated decor throughout the hotel. The staff were all super friendly and attentive. Will stay here again anytime I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello unccbm,

I am glad to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel. Please let me know if we can ever be of assistance and we hope to see you again in the future should your travels bring you back to the Bethesda area.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    95
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
60
33
13
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I left my Apple power cord and my iPhone charger at my last stay. At my stay this week, there it was waiting for me upon check in. The outstanding service at this property really sets it apart. Everyone from the front desk team to the breakfast servers are outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello Mark W. - Thank you so much for your comments regarding our staff service. I am very proud of the "extra mile" service our team provides each guest and really appreciate you making note of it on Trip Advisor. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at this location 9-14-2013 for one night, the only reason for staying at this hotel was for my two little kids to go swimming.

I called this property to make sure that their indoor swimming pool is open and they advised that their "Warm Water Pool" is open until 11 PM.

Upon our arrival, we HAD (No other Options) to park our car in their parking garage and the cost was $15.00. The room was clean and large, they had a small water bottle in the room with the Price tag of $5.00. Once we got to the swimming pool, the water was freezing to the point that you really couldn't use it.

The nest morning we tried it again, needless to say it was still cold. I brought the issue to the Operation manager and he wasn't interested. All he said was "Sorry we just changed the water yesterday." The operation manager offered to wave the $15.00 Parking fee and to honest with you, to me his action was insulting. As a customer, I expected more from the "Operation Manager" and my contact with him should have been the end it and he should have made it right.

The next day my wife spoke to the General Manager, and he went above and beyond and let me just put it to you this way, he corrected it and made us Happy. I think that is the reason that he is the General Manager of a MultiMillion Dollar property.

Room Tip: This place is about 15 Minuets away from Northern Virginia and Washington DC. This place is about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Amir D - Thank you for your candid feedback. When I spoke with your wife, I was very disappointed to learn about the extremely cold temperature of the pool water and how your family could not use and enjoy it. I want to personally apologize for the inconvenience it caused you and your family. In addition, I have met with the Operations Manager on his response and coached him on the way it should have been handled. Our goal is to deliver the highest quality customer service to every guest. I was glad to hear from your wife that you will be returning to the hotel in the very near future. Your family will enjoy the pool as the water temperature has been rectified. Again, please accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

At first, I chose this hotel because it's conveniently located in the center of NIH.
However, it's quiet far from the center of DC. The Westfield mall is located next to the hotel -- in a walkable range. The hotel offers a shuttle to the metro station every hour, and to the mall per requested.

At the price $139 per night (special rate), I got an incredibly huge room. The room is divided into 4 sections; living area, bathroom, bedroom and small minibar area. It would be perfect if they can also provide an in-room microwave. The washer and dryer are available on every floor and free-of-charge!!

Free wifi and business center are available in the lobby. No free in-room internet. However, the free lobby wifi can reach my room on the third floor. You may purchase the in-room wifi at $13 per day which can be used with up to 6 devices!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Pinyohiso,

Thank you for your posting and I was happy to see you found our hotel to be a great value. In response to your feedback about microwaves we do have them available upon request but your suggestion of having them in each room is great information. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time you find yourself visiting NIH.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, neat and clean, but there is not much to do in the proximity. Only a plaza/mall 0.9 miles away to which they offer free shuttle. It is walkable distance though.
They also offfer free shuttle to the closest metro station (Grosvenor-Stratham - Red Line) but it runs only every hour and up till 9pm. I think a more frequent shuttle service would be a very good addition. If there is a conference in nearby NIH, then this hotel is in ideal location.
They were polite enough to let me check out at 12.30pm (instead of 11am) without late check out fee. They do not offer free wi-fi which I think for an expesive hotel like this, it should be offered. Breakfast is not included in the price (again, I think it should, that is not a cheap hotel), but everything in breakfast was good and fresh,though choices were limited.
Pool workd only between 5-10pm, it should be open more hours.
generally a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Vasilis26,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found the property to be neat and clean and overall you had a good experience. The feedback concerning the shuttle service and pool hours is very helpful. We hope to host again in the future should your travels bring you back to the Bethesda area.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I used 2 cards when checking in. 1 to pay for the room and 1 to pay for incidentals. They decided to charge BOTH cards the full amount for my stay which was ~$620. It's been 8 days since I reported this error and and I being told it will take another 7 days to have this resolved. COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE! To further exacerbate my frustrations, I have yet to receive any form of an apology for THEIR ERROR and they have done nothing in terms of trying to appease my frustrations in order to keep my business. Couple this with the fact that they $15 a night to park in a garage surrounded by a sea of parking lots. There are plenty of Hotels in the area. Don't waste your time and $$ on an establishment that is prone to billing mistakes, cares so little about retaining their guests, and gouges you for amenities that are not in short supply.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Dave P,

Thank you for your e-mail and for bringing this matter to our attention. Having had a similar situation occur to me in the past I realize how frustrating this can be and truly apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. My understanding is that our Front Desk Supervisor has spoken with you and the incorrect charge has been removed. While we cannot undo the mistake I can assure you this is not typical of our team and we do not take situations of this nature lightly. I welcome an opportunity to speak with you further and can be reached at Marty.Roth@marriott.com or 301.571.2201.

Respectfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It is always nice to have a suite room when traveling. This hotel has an nice lobby appealing bar and great gym. The room furnishings are very dated looking in the living room area. The wall paper and furniture are old and out dated. The living room even has a TV with a big picture tube. Hadnt seen one of those in a hotel in 5 years. The bedroom and the bathroom are nice though. If you are a Marriott Elite member don't go looking for the concierge lounge. You would think next to the Marriott world Hdqtrs you would find a great concierge lounge but there is NONE. Instead they give you access to the continental breakfast in the restaurant. Not what I expect as an elite member. Not even a free bottle of water. Nothing for elite members at night. I would try another Marriott before staying here. I didn't feel welcomed as an elite member.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello FloridaTourist_12,

Thank you for staying at the Bethesda Suites Marriott and for providing your feedback. Your comments about the larger suite sizes and gym are appreciated as well as your input on our areas for improvement. This is very helpful and valuable information.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd., Bethesda, MD 20817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and inviting hospitality welcomes guests to the Bethesda Marriott Suites, a sophisticated hotel in North Bethesda, where travelers can enjoy some of the largest guestrooms in the county. Conveniently situated near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and three major airports, our hotel's North Bethesda location is just 30 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. Making it an ideal choice for family vacations, business travel or extended-stay needs. Large guest rooms feature warm tones, a separate living room and large bedroom, all designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Plush bedding ensembles, king-size beds and high-tech amenities combine to insure an outstanding hotel experience with convenient access to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. Our Bethesda hotel's free shuttle service to the Metro and other local points, makes it easy to enjoy area museums, monuments, restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.